We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”

Blue Mountains Gday Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Mountains Gday Motel
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

It's located right next to the high way! Extremely noisy! Window left open in the toilet by the staff, all the bugs fly in once you turn on the light at night and they are huge! There is no one on site!! It's very insecure at night on the weekday when you can tell you are the only one staying there! I found much better motel with a lower price during my road trip!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nana9527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P P, Manager at Blue Mountains Gday Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Thankyou for your feedback. We are located on a highway as are a lot of motels in Australia for convenience and ease of access for motorists. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Staff do leave bathroom windows open an inch to allow fresh air into rooms. Guests are welcome to close windows as desired.

Although staff are not onsite overnight we are oncall 24 hrs/7 days and are happy to attend to guests if required. The motel is equipped with cctv cameras, excellent outdoor lighting and rooms are secure.

The Blue Mountains G'Day Motel offers budget accommodation, clean rooms and competitive rates with a range of specials on offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Blue Mountains Gday Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

I stayed at this motel and the accommodation was extremely clean and the staff were very helpful. Although its along the Highway, it is a convenient location. I visited numerous areas surrounding Katoomba and the motel was easily accessed. I slept ok with the train noise, but I'm a good sleeper. I had a digital television in my room which was a good size. The room was self catering which suited my budget. Overall I had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P P, Manager at Blue Mountains Gday Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Thankyou Warren for your positive feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Blue Mountains G'Day Motel. We endeavour to offer all our guests a pleasant experience. We hope to see you visit again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I booked through Wotif.com and needed to cancel the day before as I had a change to work arrangements. They would not allow me to cancel the day before. Not even a partial refund?
I was most disappointed as I will be working in the area in coming months but now I will definitely find an alternative accommodation.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Mathew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P P, Manager at Blue Mountains Gday Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

It is standard industry practice for motels in Australia to have a cancellation policy. Our cancellation policy is clearly stated when booking through an online agency such as Wotif.com. We require minimum 24 hours cancellation notice which we consider reasonable as other motels require 48 hrs to a weeks notice for cancellations or changes to bookings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Decided to stay overnight at the Blue Mountains and booked the night before we were going. The location is okay if you have a car, as it is around the corner from the main attractions. However, being on the freeway has its disadvantages. Sandwiched between the railway track and the highway is not great, as the traffic was loud.

On a brighter note, the lady on reception was lovely and the room accommodated a family of 5. The rooms were bright and clean, but the tv reception was not great. Disappointed there was no breakfast options too.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, this is not the place for you.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulaMarieBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

as the other reviewer said, i should have checked the reviews on trip advisor to avoid having unpleasant experience with them.

the worst part was that during our 2 night stay the false fire alarm went off every night at 10pm. an extreme loud alarm noise in each room made all the guess waken up and got out from the room. as there was no staff staying overnight on site, we needed to call the lady & wait for her to disable the alarm. it took approx. 15min for her to come & disable the alarm.

after experienced it, you would expect they would at least apologize for those unneccesary inconvenience. eventhough she did knock & check us in our room & saw her when we were checking out there was no apology whatsoever had been made. it was like there was no inconvenience cause by false alarm at all.

number of facts & pros that some of them have been outlined: poorly located between highway & railway making it easy to access from outside katoomba, but a bit complicated if you are actually exploring katoomba itself as you will need to go back outbound from katoomba & turn around to inbound direction to reach the motel. the location also makes it terribly noisy from the railway & truck putting their compression brake to stop at the traffic lights in front of the motel.

the only pros are cleanliness of the room & the room is equipped with basic needs, including electric blankets. they keep you survive comfortably, but do not expect flashy features & noiseless night.

overall, despite it might be the best price around the area, if i knew all of those facts above, i would have been easily spend few bucks more to get much better value than this one.

will not be back & do not recommend it for others.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dontg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank Henry Q
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Firstly, I should say that the room was clean and the facilities good for the price. However, the motel is in between the railway line and the main highway - there is double glazing and they have made an effort with a draught stopper thingy for the door to reduce road noise. BUT, it just should not be there. Yuk!

Room Tip: Don't.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YK P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.6 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
944 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Maison Boutique Hotel
La Maison Boutique Hotel
#13 of 15 in Katoomba
167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
412 reviews
1.6 mi away
Echo Point Discovery Motel
Echo Point Discovery Motel
#10 of 15 in Katoomba
291 reviews
1.5 mi away
3 Sisters Motel
3 Sisters Motel
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mountains Gday Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mountains Gday Motel

Address: Blue Mountains Hospital 181 Great Western Hwy, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Price Range: £60 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Mountains Gday Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blue Mountains Gday Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Mountains Gday Motel Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing