We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Cosy”
Review of Shelton-Lea B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shelton-Lea B&B
Ranked #7 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Queensland Australia
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Cosy”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at this delightful B&B in July. Our bungalow style ensuite bedroom, bathroom, kitchenette and TV room was very warm and comfortable. Our hosts were kind and provided chocolates and hot drinks in the evening and a delicious breakfast in the morning.
The only small " minus" was that the walls were very thin and the guests in the room next door quite noisy late at night. Perhaps just a gentle reminder to all guests to be mindful of others trying to sleep later at night would be helpful. Despite that we both had enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this B&B to friends and family :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AinslieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer M, Owner at Shelton-Lea B&B, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We at Shelton-Lea always encourage and support reviews from guests so that we can improve our B&B with recommendations as outlined in your review. As part of our introduction to all guests when they check in we do remind guests that there are adjoining suites and to please ensure that (especialy at night time) guests be considerate and enjoy their stay. 99% of guest are alway very well behaved and do think of other guests while staying here. Unforturnately (like all accommodation places) you can get a loud and rowdy guest. The walls that you describe as thin are actually quite thick as opposed to modern day motel walls. Again thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing your again at Shelton-Lea B&B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    21
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
100
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My partner and I stayed for 3 nights in the Amaroo suite and thoroughly enjoyed our time at Shelton Lea. Jenny is a considerate and expert host. You're provided with a warm, comfortable and attractively furnished suite ideal for couples whom desire a private, cosy escape. You're treated to a delicious well-sized cooked breakfast on a rotating menu with preferences, as well as the prospect of added extras such as baked treats and port. Shelton Lea is in a quite street in walking distance from Katoomba's scenic attractions and township. We look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otherplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Fantastic! I chose to stay here after reading the reviews on trip advisor and wasn't disappointed. I booked the amaroo suite for a one night mini break with my partner. The room is comfy, well heated with a great little fireplace, and comes complete with a kitchenette and spa bath. The little extras are such a nice touch - port, chocolates, cookies.. Jenny and Paul are incredibly friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend a stay here!! Enjoy :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark W.A.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My husband & I spent 2 nights at this delightful B & B, while the weather was cold and windy we were lovely and snug inside.
Private self contained unit with the decor of yesteryear, charm abounds and the cooked breakfast was delicious and kept us going till evening, Jenny makes the most wonderful cakes of which we were lucky enough to sample and the port and chocolates were a bonus. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwjaycee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer M, Owner at Shelton-Lea B&B, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, we appreciate your support and hope to have you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a mini-break at Shelton-Lea. This was a return trip, as we had stayed there last year. Jenny and Paul are wonderful hosts: privacy, comfort and lots of 'little extras' didn't disappoint! After a long trek in the mountains, it was a lovely surprise to return to our suite and find some lovely raspberry flan (home-backed by Jenny) for afternoon tea! Jenny also provided us with valuable local information, including tips for restaurants, cafes and other hamlets in the Blue Mountains to visit. I would definitely recommend Shelton-Lea to others looking for an excellent base to explore this wonderful part of the world!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Amaroo suite which has a spa and gas open fireplace, as well as central heating. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer M, Owner at Shelton-Lea B&B, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
We are very lucky to have such great return guests, and hope that you come and enjoy our hospitality again soon. Thank you for your lovely review, it makes our day and gives us the pleasure of knowing that we are striving to make your stay memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Shelton-Lea came highly recommended to us by a friend and after our weekend getaway we can see why! We stayed in the Amaroo suite, which was lovely and cosy with a fantastic 2-person spa bath and a fireplace.
Upon arrival, Jenny greeted us warmly and showed us our room (complete with complimentary port and chocolate, yum!) and was very kind in immediately booking us dinner for the following night when we mentioned we were planning a night out.
A little slip of paper is left for you on the table where you choose your breakfast option and the time you would like it delivered - and then Jenny and Paul bring it in for you the next morning for you to enjoy in your room! Options include bacon and eggs, bubble and squeak, pancakes.... It was home-made, simple but delicious, with fresh fruit and chilled orange juice and a variety of cereals in your kitchenette to compliment your hot meal.
On the Saturday, my boyfriend and I got back to our room around 4pm after sight-seeing and there was a knock on our door - it was Jenny with (a totally unexpected but delicious) cake for afternoon tea!
Location-wise, the B&B is walking distance to the 3 sisters and Scenic World, as well as being a 5-min drive or 20-min walk to town.
I would definitely recommend this as a lovely couple's retreat - it's not ultra-fancy five star but it's quaint and lovely and has all the elements for a beautiful winter escape... fire, spa, port, chocolates... need I say more!?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eblatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer M, Owner at Shelton-Lea B&B, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments, we hope you will come back and stay with us again and please pass onto your friends your experience. We are very glad you appreciated all the little things, we strive to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I am so glad that I found this B&B through Trip Advisor. I booked Shelton-Lea for a weekend trip for my extended family (4 couples and 2 kids) and we were not disappointed! Jenny and Paul were wonderful hosts, right from the time of my initial enquiries over the phone to our departure. Jenny made arrangements to have an extra bed in two of the suites, on for each of the kids, and helped us with any enquiries we had during our stay, suggested good local restaurants and let the kids play with their gorgeous dog! The accommodation itself was perfect for our needs. The suites were clean and cozy, with huge comfortable beds and beautiful gas fireplaces. Everything we needed and more was there in the rooms, absolutely nothing had been overlooked. Lots of extra little touches, like port and chocolates on arrival, and the most amazing home made cakes left in our room for afternoon tea, made the stay even more enjoyable. Overall, we had a wonderful stay and we will most certainly be staying here on our next visit to the Blue Mountains.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrc2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer M, Owner at Shelton-Lea B&B, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thank you for your gracious review, we both appreciate your support and would welcome you and your family to come and stay again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.8 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
933 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
578 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
0.3 mi away
Kurrara Historic Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelton-Lea B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelton-Lea B&B

Property: Shelton-Lea B&B
Address: 159 Lurline St, Katoomba, New South Wales, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelton-Lea B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shelton-Lea B&B is in the heart of Katoomba in the Beautiful World Heritage Listed Blue Mountains National Park. Shelton-Lea is central to all attractions, lookouts, cafes, restaurants, galleries, bush walks, and much more. Within close walking distance to the Rail Station, and we pick up and drop off. Relaxation, rejuvenation and romantic suites are on offer when you stay at Shelton-Lea B&B, cosy and warm in autumn and winter and sunny and cheerful in spring and summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Shelton-Lea B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelton-Lea B&B Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing