We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the basics”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Katoomba
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Katoomba Falls Tourist Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Such a pity as its a truly amazing area and there is so much to see and do! We recently stayed for 2 nights on a powered caravan site, had originally planned to stay longer but glad we didn't! The caravan park does not cater for kids, we have a 4yo, 2yo and infant. When I asked about a family room, I was told "you could try the laundry", hardly suitable! The amenities are old and when more than 2-3 people shower the bathroom floor turns into ice, there is a permanent caution sign up. It seems the amenities aren't cleaned in the weekends, we stayed a fri and sat night, my girls refused to use the men's bathroom due to it's smell, sometimes I am unable to take them to the ladies due to nursing or such. There is toilet paper through the bathroom, it's that really fine paper that just rips when you try get any!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mazz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMTP, Manager at Katoomba Falls Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at our Tourist Park. We were sorry to hear that your experience was not a positive one.

We apologise for the response provided when you requested information about a family or babies bathroom. Unfortunately our amenities block does not have a designated families bathroom, however does have a separate accessible bathroom. Although the accessible bathroom does not have a bath tub, it does have smaller toilets and a larger area which is more suited to families wishing to use the facilities together. In the future we will ensure that all staff provide appropriate responses.

The amenities block facilities are dated, however are closed for cleaning each day. The cleaning of the facilities usually takes place in the middle of the day after guests have checked out and prior to new guests arriving. In addition, the facilities are checked in the morning and evening to ensure that they are tidy. At the time of your stay, the Park was extremely busy and as such requires more frequent checking. We will ensure that in future, the facilities are checked and spot cleaned several times per day in addition to the thorough cleaning that takes place in the middle of the day.

You may be pleased to know that the amenities block is scheduled for refurbishment, as you may have noticed that many other areas of the Park have been recently upgraded. We have been undertaking significant improvements to the Park and its facilities however require careful planning and timing to be able to completely close our amenities building down. In September, we had also begun the transition from single ply toilet paper to two ply toilet paper and you will be pleased to know that we only have two ply toilet paper available in the Park now.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

Had 2 nights here. It is in a good position, close to the 3 sisters, scenic railway etc. The park itself was disappointing and we thought rather overpriced. There are improvements underway but the main emphasis seems to be putting more cabins on site. There is only 1 amenities block which was rather faded although clean. Wouldn't be my choice to stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank telmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMTP, Manager at Katoomba Falls Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and comments on your stay at the Katoomba Falls Tourist Park.

We would like to add some additional information to your comments regarding the works that we have undertaken. Since February 2012 the following improvements to the Park have been made;

- Building a comfortable and spacious new reception area to ensure that guests are not queuing outside waiting to check in

- Completely gutting and refurbishing our camp kitchen area and installing a new large TV (this was not in operation at the time of your visit but is now fully functional)

- Building a new communal BBQ area and installing four new BBQ’s

- Building a new security fence around the permitter of the Park for the safety and security of all guests.

In addition, we have removed three older cabins and replaced them with new ones. We have added a fourth cabin which is an accessible cabin and four ensuite sites for guests wishing to have access to a private bathroom when they are travelling with their caravan or Motorhome.

We are planning to continue on with the upgrading of our facilities by focussing on our amenities block in the next stage of works. This requires careful planning and timing as closing our only amenities facility will be quite disruptive for our guests. In the meantime, we will continue to keep cleaning them to high standards.

Thank you again for providing feedback about your stay. We would like to assure you that we are working tirelessly on all facets of the Park and will continue to improve on an ongoing basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This was our third stay at Katoomba Falls. The new management are really shaking things up now, the kitchen hut is being renovated with several outdoor BBQs and a new set of camping huts are being built. Unfortunately the new kitchen isn't quite done yet, so we could only use the outdoor facilities (BBQ, microwave, fridge-freezer, hot/cold water) but it looks really promising.
As before we stayed at an unpowered site with our tent and enjoyed the great location just minutes away from the awesome views of the Blue Mountains.
The amenities are always nice and clean and the staff friendly

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin_Lentz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

this was the first camp site we stopped at on our trip round australia , we had booked a powered site before we left the united kingdom as this site is the only camp site at kotoomba and im glad we did as it gets very busy.the site is smack bang in the middle of everything you walk out the gate and across the round and your in the blue mountains, scenic world is a 3 min drive away and kotoomba about a 4 min drive .you could walk to kotoomba in about 15 min once you get to the top of the big hill. kotoomba has everything you need i.e shops for food and bars and places to eat. now to the camp site , the guy on the front desk was very helpful and told us the site had just been taken over and was going to be done up. the powered site was clean and just a 30 second walk to the wash room.the wash room was clean but a little dated with 6 showers all working and clean, the washing machines all worked which are at the end of the shower block. when we were there no shop was on site so buy stuff before you arrive.make sure you take warm clothes if you go in april as the nights get very cold even tho the days were either warm or hot also take some wet gear as one moment sunny the next it rains .the camp site is in a great location and would we stop here again yes we would.we stop here for 6 nights .we were only going to stop 2 nights and stay the rest at lithgow tourist park, we weighed up the fuel and travel and stayed here the 6 nights, we did stay 2 nights at lithgow tourist park and wished we had booked those extra 2 nights at katoomba.one thing i will say is DO NOT STAY STAY AT LITHGOW STAY AT KATOOMBA !

Room Tip: if your going to visit the blue mountains do not stay at lithgow tourist park lithgow stay here. lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

My Partner and I stayed on an unpowered site here for $25 a night and found it really good. Its central to everything and opposite the main attraction, the shower facilities are good as is the kitchen, and ther is a communal area. We originally went for 2 nights and stayed for 4 as we really enjoyed it. The only negative was the weather, if you are staying on an unpowered site you definatly need a hot water bottle! but I would reccomend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DMA_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Stayed in a powered site, was over 40 dollar a night for very basic campsite. Good location and toilets and showers clean, but much too expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank unknownis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

This a great location right oposite the 3 Sisters and the cable car. Park was clean and sites were good, facilities are a bit old and need of replacing even though they worked they were just a little tired, the way they often are in Council owned parks. The guy managing it was really nice and helpful, but the woman, we asked for something to be fixed that was causing us a drama she was totally rude and basically told us tough luck. Thankfully she must have mentioned it to her husband and he came up and rectified the problem easily for us. We all have bad days but when you are in the service industry you need to put on a happy face.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mercuryprinciple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.8 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
968 reviews
0.5 mi away
Katoomba Town Centre
Katoomba Town Centre
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Echo Point Discovery Motel
Echo Point Discovery Motel
#10 of 15 in Katoomba
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
431 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Mountains YHA
Blue Mountains YHA
#3 of 13 in Katoomba
277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katoomba Falls Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katoomba Falls Tourist Park

Address: 101 Katoomba Falls Rd, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Katoomba
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Katoomba Falls Tourist Park Blue Mountains, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing