We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Katoomba
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Katoomba Falls Tourist Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Great location for access to the tracks and lookouts around Katoomba. A quiet leafy location within 5 minutes drive of the town. We camped in the unpowered section and the site was a little small but manageable. The ameneties were clean and fully functional and so was the laundry. The camp kitchen was great and was also very clean and usable. Staff were very accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2013

Had no idea when we arrived how superb the location was. Most of the main attractions such as the Three Sisters were just over the road. On arrival, Margaret in reception, was better than any of the tourist information places we had visited,gave us maps, insight and suggested walks.
Our power site was good. Kitchens great, had hoped for an oven but as none had to BBQ with a brilliant group of people from all countries. Very quiet at night so a good sleep. Amenity block clean. Would recommend to anyone, it has been one of the best so far. Saved us miles of driving.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gandam55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMTP, Manager at Katoomba Falls Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our Park. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay, and were pleased to hear your feedback regarding our customer service and the standard of cleanliness for the facilities we provide.

We have been committed to improving all aspects of the Park, and appreciate the positive comments you have made. It certainly makes all of the hard work that goes into lifting standards worthwhile! Thank you again, and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

I recently stayed here for 2 nights, could not stay longer as cabins were all booked out. I found the staff very friendly. The cabin I stayed in was spacious, room to move. Good parking. Access into and out of the park was good. Best of all a 20-30 minute walk over the road to the cable car/sky rail. I would have stayed longer had the place not have been booked out.

Room Tip: Economical and spacious cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helclem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Please read my other reviews, because I really don't have much positive to say about Katoomba caravan park.

We stayed for 4 days late september/early october. The boss was attending a meditation thing. The was the most expensive powered site we stayed at through our whole holiday and the least satisfying park we stayed at. Where do I start ?

Everyting at Katoomba made our lives harder. Travelling is a bit stressful even when things are going well, your don't need extra agravation.

I believe this is council owned. The staff did what they needed to but were "disinterested". The staff at other parks really tried to make our stays as pleasant as possible.

This was the only place that required our credit card when we booked. They had some nasty cancellation clauses.

We checked in and for a start we had the nuiscance codes system. Why can't they ahve the same code for the boom gates and teh amenities ?? Why do we have to remember 2 (or more) ? I saw several blokes at the mens frustrated trying to get in with forgotten codes.

The speed humps are severe. Ok you need speed humps (maybe) but does it ever occur to you that really steep ones shake our caravans and motorhomes about ?

Then the site. Sloped steeply front to back, steepest site we had anywhere. Many of the others were steep aswell. People had all sorts of blocks and things to stabilise their vans.

The amenities were hopelessly inadequate. 3 cubicals 5 showers in the mens, 5 cubicals in the womens according to the boss. Clean enough and functional but average overall, at a premium tarriff. Loud horrible radio station playing.

Camp kitchen opens at 8 ?? As one bloke put it at 7 am "I've got a tribe of hungry kids what am I supposed to do?". BBQ's outside are accessable but all the indoor stuff locked up. BBQ not hot enough.

Positives ? Well it was quiet enough at night. That's about it. Pretty awful really and I won't stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank guzzis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMTP, Manager at Katoomba Falls Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to express your feelings regarding your recent stay at the Katoomba Falls Tourist Park. We were extremely concerned to read your comments and hope to alleviate some of your concerns with our response.

The weekend of your stay was the NSW Labour Day weekend (October long weekend). On that particular weekend we were away attending my fathers’ wedding in the Northern Tablelands of NSW. We agree that being away for an extremely busy period is by no means ideal, and only travelled up and back for the actual event.

During our absence we rostered staff to work in the Park and were contactable by telephone the entire time. The gentleman conducting grounds work was brought in to assist for the weekend and usually works in another Park in the region. Our cleaning and reception staff are on our regular rosters and we usually hear nothing but wonderful feedback regarding their service. All staff have been questioned about your concerns and advised that had they been made aware of many of these items during your stay they would have made every effort to assist. We will make a concerted effort to ensure that all staff, even those helping for short durations are aware of the importance of providing excellent customer service at all times.

As with the majority of Tourist Parks, we require a deposit/credit card details to confirm a reservation. This is of particular importance during peak periods. Our cancellation policy is in line with the majority of Parks in the state and the enforcement of the policy is determined upon an individual basis. We understand that there are certain circumstances that require cancellation, and feel that we have been extremely accommodating to guests who have contacted us regarding this.

The codes for the amenities block and boom gate are a security measure to assist our guests rather than be of nuisance. In the past we have experienced a large number of people who will enter the Tourist Park, use our facilities, park on another guests’ site and then leave without paying. They also use the shower and toilet facilities, thereby placing pressure on our facilities and being extremely inconvenient to our guests if they are waiting to use showers or toilets when people who are not registered guests stay for lengthy periods. We have trialled keys; however have found the codes to be most effective in this area. We agree that two codes can be frustrating, however feel that the inconvenience of unregistered people using the facilities is more of an inconvenience to our guests.

The speed humps are standard regulation and are located at the entrance and exit areas of the Park. They too are designed for the safety of our guests, to try to slow down people who drive too quickly through the area causing danger for children and adults in the Park. The particular style of speed hump used in the Park is common in many public traffic areas.

The slope of the site is designed to allow for water to run off. Some sites are almost entirely level, whilst others slope slightly.

The amenities facilities are designed to cater for the number of sites in the Park. The Park is only small (25 powered sites). We do have lovely new ensuite sites which provide an alternative for guests wishing to have private facilities rather than share the general amenities.

The camp kitchen times have been set to provide minimal disruption for our guests. The camp kitchen is located quite close to several sites, and we have had several experiences whereby guests start using the kitchen early in the morning waking the remainder of guests who are trying to have an enjoyable, relaxing holiday. We are certainly open to suggestions for improvements that will assist the majority of our guests.

We would like to encourage you to speak to the staff at any Park you are in, if ever you have concerns about your stay. Had you expressed your dissatisfaction during your time with us, rather than on departure we would have ensured that everything that could be done was put in place to assist you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We picked this park only for it's location, explorerbus right in front of the park, scenic world, three sisters, Katoomba waterfall etc..
We, family with 2kids ( 6yo and 16yo) stayed in the Lawson cabin for a long weekend. We did not expected much since the cabin looked really small on the pictures but once inside it was bigger than expected, clean and practical. Nice hot shower and okay beds.The kitchen stove was old, the fridge was small and the glasses and plates were all different but who cares if you can walk to the lookout enjoy the view of the three sisters and Katoomba falls while zipping your wine during sunset.
One tip ; when you choose BYO linnen make sure you bring pillows and blankets cause these are not provided. We picked that options for the kids but did not thought of pillows. Luckily the Coles is a 5 min drive and opened everyday till 0.00.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lieumoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Such a pity as its a truly amazing area and there is so much to see and do! We recently stayed for 2 nights on a powered caravan site, had originally planned to stay longer but glad we didn't! The caravan park does not cater for kids, we have a 4yo, 2yo and infant. When I asked about a family room, I was told "you could try the laundry", hardly suitable! The amenities are old and when more than 2-3 people shower the bathroom floor turns into ice, there is a permanent caution sign up. It seems the amenities aren't cleaned in the weekends, we stayed a fri and sat night, my girls refused to use the men's bathroom due to it's smell, sometimes I am unable to take them to the ladies due to nursing or such. There is toilet paper through the bathroom, it's that really fine paper that just rips when you try get any!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mazz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMTP, Manager at Katoomba Falls Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at our Tourist Park. We were sorry to hear that your experience was not a positive one.

We apologise for the response provided when you requested information about a family or babies bathroom. Unfortunately our amenities block does not have a designated families bathroom, however does have a separate accessible bathroom. Although the accessible bathroom does not have a bath tub, it does have smaller toilets and a larger area which is more suited to families wishing to use the facilities together. In the future we will ensure that all staff provide appropriate responses.

The amenities block facilities are dated, however are closed for cleaning each day. The cleaning of the facilities usually takes place in the middle of the day after guests have checked out and prior to new guests arriving. In addition, the facilities are checked in the morning and evening to ensure that they are tidy. At the time of your stay, the Park was extremely busy and as such requires more frequent checking. We will ensure that in future, the facilities are checked and spot cleaned several times per day in addition to the thorough cleaning that takes place in the middle of the day.

You may be pleased to know that the amenities block is scheduled for refurbishment, as you may have noticed that many other areas of the Park have been recently upgraded. We have been undertaking significant improvements to the Park and its facilities however require careful planning and timing to be able to completely close our amenities building down. In September, we had also begun the transition from single ply toilet paper to two ply toilet paper and you will be pleased to know that we only have two ply toilet paper available in the Park now.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Had 2 nights here. It is in a good position, close to the 3 sisters, scenic railway etc. The park itself was disappointing and we thought rather overpriced. There are improvements underway but the main emphasis seems to be putting more cabins on site. There is only 1 amenities block which was rather faded although clean. Wouldn't be my choice to stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank telmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMTP, Manager at Katoomba Falls Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and comments on your stay at the Katoomba Falls Tourist Park.

We would like to add some additional information to your comments regarding the works that we have undertaken. Since February 2012 the following improvements to the Park have been made;

- Building a comfortable and spacious new reception area to ensure that guests are not queuing outside waiting to check in

- Completely gutting and refurbishing our camp kitchen area and installing a new large TV (this was not in operation at the time of your visit but is now fully functional)

- Building a new communal BBQ area and installing four new BBQ’s

- Building a new security fence around the permitter of the Park for the safety and security of all guests.

In addition, we have removed three older cabins and replaced them with new ones. We have added a fourth cabin which is an accessible cabin and four ensuite sites for guests wishing to have access to a private bathroom when they are travelling with their caravan or Motorhome.

We are planning to continue on with the upgrading of our facilities by focussing on our amenities block in the next stage of works. This requires careful planning and timing as closing our only amenities facility will be quite disruptive for our guests. In the meantime, we will continue to keep cleaning them to high standards.

Thank you again for providing feedback about your stay. We would like to assure you that we are working tirelessly on all facets of the Park and will continue to improve on an ongoing basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.8 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
968 reviews
0.5 mi away
Katoomba Town Centre
Katoomba Town Centre
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Echo Point Discovery Motel
Echo Point Discovery Motel
#10 of 15 in Katoomba
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
431 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Mountains YHA
Blue Mountains YHA
#3 of 13 in Katoomba
277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katoomba Falls Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katoomba Falls Tourist Park

Address: 101 Katoomba Falls Rd, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Katoomba
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Katoomba Falls Tourist Park Blue Mountains, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing