We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent way to get around the Blue Mountains” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Mountains Explorer Bus

Blue Mountains Explorer Bus
Book In Advance
More Info
US$34.14*
and up
Blue Mountains Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Scenic World Rides and Waradah...
Ranked #1 of 11 Tours in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Explore the Blue Mountains - Your Way! The Blue Mountains Explorer Bus is the ultimate hop-on hop-off bus tour of the Blue Mountains. With 29 brilliantly located stops across Katoomba and Leura, we give you the freedom to explore this spectacular World Heritage wilderness on Sydney's doorstep - all at your own pace. The Explorer Bus is more flexible than a day tour, cheaper and less stressful than renting a car, and much more fun than trying to cover all the sights on foot. Our great-value passes give you unlimited travel all day, making it easy to put together your own perfect day in the Blue Mountains. With buses running every half hour, you'll have plenty of time to hit all the highlights. We'll drop you at the door of star attractions like Scenic World and the famous Scenic Railway, and give you as long as you like to hang out with our beautiful Three Sisters. Want to stretch your legs on a bushwalk? Simply hop off the Explorer Bus and we'll meet you at the other end! If you're coming up by train, we pick you up right outside Katoomba Station - and we don't waste any time taking you straight to the big views. Instead of throwing away 45 minutes of your day walking through town to Echo Point or Scenic World, simply jump on the big red Double Decker bus and we'll get you to the cliff top quicker than you can drink a cup of coffee. While you relax and soak up the unbeatable views from the top deck, our friendly drivers will entertain you with a running commentary of fascinating local facts and stories. And at the end of the day, we'll get you back to the train or your hotel with time and energy to spare. Grab your slice of freedom. Start planning your perfect day in the Blue Mountains now.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent way to get around the Blue Mountains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We spent a day in the Blue Mountains and having looked on TripAdvisor, decided to go on the Explorer bus. Great value- takes you all around the mountains and we got the Scenic World rides aswell for a bit extra! Very friendly drivers and buses always on time. Only problem is that they only run til early evening, it'd be great if they ran a bit later! We had a lovely day in the mountains, fab weather, which really helped.

Highly recommended.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jennyonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, General Manager at Blue Mountains Explorer Bus, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Hi Jenny,

Thanks so much for your feedback glad you had a great day.

We have actually tried a few times to run the busses a little later and have found that we carry very few people, mainly on a count that most of the attractions close at five pm anyway, sure the bushwalks and views are still open but people are also wanting to get back to Sydney or back to Hotels for dinner, but thanks for the feedback and perhaps we should trial it again this coming Summer?

Regards,



Jason Cronshaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    75
    36
    15
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Not cheap, but worth every penny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

If you happen to be in Sydney (which everyone should see at least once before they die), you would be silly not to go to the Blue Mountains. And if you are in the Blue Mountains, there really is no better way to get around than by this Explorer Bus. It is a bit on the pricey side (about $32 for a day pass), but the sites of interest are really spread out and there isn't any other reasonable way of seeing them apart from renting your own transport. WIth the explorer bus, you can get around quite well without the hassle of driving yourself. The drivers are also extremely friendly, warm and knowledgeable. Recommended!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank RLO721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, General Manager at Blue Mountains Explorer Bus, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Thanks for your comments and glad that you enjoyed your day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casino
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012 via mobile

Drivers very friendly and helpful and greatly assisted making the most of a short visit. Thank you so much Jimmy.

Helpful?
Thank Casin0Village
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkes, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Blue Mountains Explorer Bus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

This bus service is excellent. We were in Katoomba for 7 days so our ticket lasted the whole time we were there and the cost was $30. We were offered a Lyrebird Pass which covered our bus ticket and tickets to Scenic World for the trips on the Skyway, Cableway and the Train.The drivers are very polite and they know all about the area as well as being able to communicate to overseas visitors in their own language.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, General Manager at Blue Mountains Explorer Bus, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Hi Janice,

Thanks for your feedback and I am so glad you had a good time - excellent to see you stayed and used the pass for 7 days as well - you must have seen a lot. We are very proud of our drivers so I will also pass on your comments to them. Thanks again,

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Blue mountains explorer bus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

A fun way to see the area. Our driver Jimmy was very informative and welcomed people in many different languages. I was on a tight time schedule and he explained how to get the best out of the tour in a short time scale. Clean and comfortable buses

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda120462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, General Manager at Blue Mountains Explorer Bus, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Hi Linda,

Thanks for your feedback and I am glad you enjoyed your day. Yes Jimmy is pretty amazing with his language skills I dont know how he does it.

Regards,


Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Mountains Explorer Bus also viewed

 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Blue Mountains Explorer Bus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing