We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good guides but pricey”

Blue Mountains Explorer Bus
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
US$33.89*
and up
Blue Mountains Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Scenic World Rides and Waradah...
Ranked #2 of 12 Tours in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Explore the Blue Mountains - Your Way! The Blue Mountains Explorer Bus is the ultimate hop-on hop-off bus tour of the Blue Mountains. With 29 brilliantly located stops across Katoomba and Leura, we give you the freedom to explore this spectacular World Heritage wilderness on Sydney's doorstep - all at your own pace. The Explorer Bus is more flexible than a day tour, cheaper and less stressful than renting a car, and much more fun than trying to cover all the sights on foot. Our great-value passes give you unlimited travel all day, making it easy to put together your own perfect day in the Blue Mountains. With buses running every half hour, you'll have plenty of time to hit all the highlights. We'll drop you at the door of star attractions like Scenic World and the famous Scenic Railway, and give you as long as you like to hang out with our beautiful Three Sisters. Want to stretch your legs on a bushwalk? Simply hop off the Explorer Bus and we'll meet you at the other end! If you're coming up by train, we pick you up right outside Katoomba Station - and we don't waste any time taking you straight to the big views. Instead of throwing away 45 minutes of your day walking through town to Echo Point or Scenic World, simply jump on the big red Double Decker bus and we'll get you to the cliff top quicker than you can drink a cup of coffee. While you relax and soak up the unbeatable views from the top deck, our friendly drivers will entertain you with a running commentary of fascinating local facts and stories. And at the end of the day, we'll get you back to the train or your hotel with time and energy to spare. Grab your slice of freedom. Start planning your perfect day in the Blue Mountains now.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very good guides but pricey”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We got the train from Central and the hop on hop off bus. The drivers are lovely and give you loads of info plus the map. We thought it was a pricey option for us however as we only went to the Scenic rides area and spent quite a long time there so only quickly rushed 2 more stops. Echo point and Scenic area most interest for our family - not sure it was worth the money as must have been a bus/cab or walk to cover the short distance. Research before you go and decide if worth the money. My kids enjoyed the rides and main lookouts / canopy walk.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Familyhols66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, General Manager at Blue Mountains Explorer Bus, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hi Familyhols66,

Thanks for your feedback, I am sorry that you feel it was a little pricey and especially that you did not get the make the most of your pass by hopping on and off at more of the stops. Sounds like you enjoyed Scenic World however, thanks again for your feedback and enjoy the rest of your family holidays.

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    77
    40
    15
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wit and wisdom dispensed liberally”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

As well as being such a convenient way of seeing and reaching the main attractions of the Blue Mountains, a trip in this bus comes with delightful homespun wit from all of the drivers, accompanied by enough information to satisfy anyone. The bus stops at nearly 30 points, and the free booklet outlines what each provides in terms of views, attractions and activities. The stops are well-signposted and buses keep to the timetable. It is possible and even desirable to walk between stops on the many footpaths in the area.
You may stay on the bus as long as you wish, making 1 or 2 complete circuits if desired. A 3-day pass is excellent value.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, General Manager at Blue Mountains Explorer Bus, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hi Bob W,

Thanks so much for your feedback and I am so glad that you enjoyed your day, enjoy the rest of your travels.

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woonona, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bus was excellent, shop experience could have been better”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

While looking through the brochure to see if this was the tourist bus we were after, we (my wife and myself, with our young children) observed a customer service attendant behind the counter smoking in the store. It took a few good looks, while the gentleman smirked at us, to realise it was an electronic device. Feeling that this was unacceptable customer service to begin with, we chose to look at the competition across the road. However, we chose to purchase our tickets at stop 1 with a fantastic driver and bypassed the shop. Might not be the look this company wants for reputation?

About the bus. It was great, from the moment we stepped on board, the drivers greeted us with a happy welcome and gave us tips and advice for our younger children. The bus was a great novelty with our children, warm and toasty on a fresh day. The drivers are a credit to the company, friendly, honest, gently spoken. Couldn't fault a thing. We had a great time and our children are asking when we can do it again! Thank you

Helpful?
1 Thank Max810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, General Manager at Blue Mountains Explorer Bus, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hi Max10,

Thanks for your honest feedback. I am so glad that you did enjoy your day even though it did not start out the way you hoped. It is feedback however like this that we can ensure we improve and discuss better customer service techniques with some of our team - believe me there will be no more activities like this in our shop again.

Next time you come make sure you call into the shop as your kids will be able to drive a real bus that is now parked in our shop all the time.

Regards,



Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCal
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pricey but worth it”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

For 38 aud dollars you get to ride around a 10 mile loop on a double decker bus. Yet still the information provided, the driver commentary, and the fact that the buses were always on time seems to me to make this a fair deal. Self caterers, hard-core hikers, and those on a tight budget might disagree and certainly the attractions in/around Katoomba could be found without taking the bus.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gamecock95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, General Manager at Blue Mountains Explorer Bus, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Hi Gamecock95

Thanks so much for your feedback - glad you enjoyed the day in the Blue Mountains

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“It kinda OK. A bit folksy.”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The trouble with a trip to the Blue Mountain is that unless you are staying for a few days and have a car you really have no choice but to either get on this "explorer" or the other "trolley" bus. Thus, being there only for the day with all the other travelers from Sydney there we are on the Explorer. The drivers really are friendly and try to make the experience as best as possible but trying to please all perhaps makes the experience somewhat lame. Once you have heard the driver say that his name is "jimmy" in about six different languages over and again throughout the day you get pretty tired of it. He must be sick to death of it as well. You really need to pick your day to go here. If its raining or has been raining much before the walks are virtually undo-able because the paths turn into mud. So you need some decent boots and not be afraid to get dirty. The area really is beautiful and the Explorer will take you to the main sights but if you miss the bus its a long wait for the next one and they basically stop in the middle of the day for lunch so where ever you are then that where you stay for the next hour and a half. I couldn't say that I really recommend it but the fact is you don't have much choice.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank smartywishbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, General Manager at Blue Mountains Explorer Bus, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Hi Smartywishbone,

Thanks for your feedback and comments, sorry that you felt this way about our service and the Blue Mountains in general. Jimmy is not asked by our company to greet customers in different languages and has taught himself these languages so I guess if he was sick of doing it he would stop, in fact the opposite he loves it.

Your comment about being stuck for 1.5 hours is not quite right, our service is generally each half hour but for the lunch run it is a one hour break, so sorry if you stopped for 1.5 hours but this means you did miss one bus.

Anyway,. thanks for your feedback and enjoy the rest of your travels.

Regards,



Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Mountains Explorer Bus also viewed

 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Blue Mountains Explorer Bus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing