We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect way to see everything!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Mountains Explorer Bus

Blue Mountains Explorer Bus
Book In Advance
More Info
US$34.34*
and up
Blue Mountains Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Scenic World Rides and Waradah...
Ranked #1 of 11 Tours in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Explore the Blue Mountains - Your Way! The Blue Mountains Explorer Bus is the ultimate hop-on hop-off bus tour of the Blue Mountains. With 29 brilliantly located stops across Katoomba and Leura, we give you the freedom to explore this spectacular World Heritage wilderness on Sydney's doorstep - all at your own pace. The Explorer Bus is more flexible than a day tour, cheaper and less stressful than renting a car, and much more fun than trying to cover all the sights on foot. Our great-value passes give you unlimited travel all day, making it easy to put together your own perfect day in the Blue Mountains. With buses running every half hour, you'll have plenty of time to hit all the highlights. We'll drop you at the door of star attractions like Scenic World and the famous Scenic Railway, and give you as long as you like to hang out with our beautiful Three Sisters. Want to stretch your legs on a bushwalk? Simply hop off the Explorer Bus and we'll meet you at the other end! If you're coming up by train, we pick you up right outside Katoomba Station - and we don't waste any time taking you straight to the big views. Instead of throwing away 45 minutes of your day walking through town to Echo Point or Scenic World, simply jump on the big red Double Decker bus and we'll get you to the cliff top quicker than you can drink a cup of coffee. While you relax and soak up the unbeatable views from the top deck, our friendly drivers will entertain you with a running commentary of fascinating local facts and stories. And at the end of the day, we'll get you back to the train or your hotel with time and energy to spare. Grab your slice of freedom. Start planning your perfect day in the Blue Mountains now.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect way to see everything!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Highly recommend this service. Buses were clean and safe. Drivers were friendly and very informative and they ran on schedule. You make your own schedule; see and do what you want. I prefer this over a tour bus. Enjoy the Blueys!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CalifAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, General Manager at Blue Mountains Explorer Bus, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hi Caliadveenturer,

Thanks so much for your review and comments and so glad you enjoyed and are encouraging others to enjoy the Blueys!

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    74
    36
    15
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Explorer bus driver sets new heights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We recently took the Explorer bus around the scenic and unique Blue Mountains.For those who have limited time this can be special or a frustrated wait between buses.Especially if you get the wrong advice.Fortunately our driver was "Jimmy".He speaks a little of every language,instantly putting a smile on everyones face.After a quick chat he ascertains the needs of each passenger and they go on their merry way, seeking out a short walk or the hike they had in mind.He is there to greet them, using all of his expertease to drop them near a departing train to the city, or other.We had a great time and saw lots of what has to be one of the most beautiful places in the world.You have to spend time just standing in one spot to feel the tranquillity.There are more than one Explorer bus, so there is no wasted time between buses.Just loved it,Thankyou "Jimmy",you are a credit to both Explorer buses and the community in general.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, General Manager at Blue Mountains Explorer Bus, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hi Brenda D,

Thanks so much for your detailed review and comments, I will ensure Jimmy sees them. So glad you enjoyed your day and enjoy the rest of your travels.

Regards,



Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very good guides but pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We got the train from Central and the hop on hop off bus. The drivers are lovely and give you loads of info plus the map. We thought it was a pricey option for us however as we only went to the Scenic rides area and spent quite a long time there so only quickly rushed 2 more stops. Echo point and Scenic area most interest for our family - not sure it was worth the money as must have been a bus/cab or walk to cover the short distance. Research before you go and decide if worth the money. My kids enjoyed the rides and main lookouts / canopy walk.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Familyhols66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, General Manager at Blue Mountains Explorer Bus, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hi Familyhols66,

Thanks for your feedback, I am sorry that you feel it was a little pricey and especially that you did not get the make the most of your pass by hopping on and off at more of the stops. Sounds like you enjoyed Scenic World however, thanks again for your feedback and enjoy the rest of your family holidays.

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wit and wisdom dispensed liberally”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

As well as being such a convenient way of seeing and reaching the main attractions of the Blue Mountains, a trip in this bus comes with delightful homespun wit from all of the drivers, accompanied by enough information to satisfy anyone. The bus stops at nearly 30 points, and the free booklet outlines what each provides in terms of views, attractions and activities. The stops are well-signposted and buses keep to the timetable. It is possible and even desirable to walk between stops on the many footpaths in the area.
You may stay on the bus as long as you wish, making 1 or 2 complete circuits if desired. A 3-day pass is excellent value.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, General Manager at Blue Mountains Explorer Bus, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hi Bob W,

Thanks so much for your feedback and I am so glad that you enjoyed your day, enjoy the rest of your travels.

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woonona, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bus was excellent, shop experience could have been better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

While looking through the brochure to see if this was the tourist bus we were after, we (my wife and myself, with our young children) observed a customer service attendant behind the counter smoking in the store. It took a few good looks, while the gentleman smirked at us, to realise it was an electronic device. Feeling that this was unacceptable customer service to begin with, we chose to look at the competition across the road. However, we chose to purchase our tickets at stop 1 with a fantastic driver and bypassed the shop. Might not be the look this company wants for reputation?

About the bus. It was great, from the moment we stepped on board, the drivers greeted us with a happy welcome and gave us tips and advice for our younger children. The bus was a great novelty with our children, warm and toasty on a fresh day. The drivers are a credit to the company, friendly, honest, gently spoken. Couldn't fault a thing. We had a great time and our children are asking when we can do it again! Thank you

Helpful?
1 Thank Max810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, General Manager at Blue Mountains Explorer Bus, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hi Max10,

Thanks for your honest feedback. I am so glad that you did enjoy your day even though it did not start out the way you hoped. It is feedback however like this that we can ensure we improve and discuss better customer service techniques with some of our team - believe me there will be no more activities like this in our shop again.

Next time you come make sure you call into the shop as your kids will be able to drive a real bus that is now parked in our shop all the time.

Regards,



Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Mountains Explorer Bus also viewed

 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Blue Mountains Explorer Bus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing