We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude and unprofessional ” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lounge at Lilianfels

The Lounge at Lilianfels
Ranked #25 of 89 Restaurants in Katoomba
Cuisines: Australian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Lounge invites guests to relax in plush Victorian armchairs, curl up by the fireplace with a book, or simply gaze out over the spectacular views of the Jamison Valley. Afternoon tea is served in grand tradition daily and a stylish mahogany bar is the perfect setting for pre-dinner drinks.The Lounge offers all day dining from 11am to Late Monday to Sunday, sumptuous afternoon teas and refreshments served both inside and outside in the adjoining garden.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Rude and unprofessional ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Very disappointed in the service here at the lounge. We had a large group for afternoon tea and it was one issue after another.

The wrong order was put through (despite us having preordered). It took 45 minutes to be served champagne (well sparkling wine as they didn't serve the champagne they were supposed to). To be fair the food was ok (but not amazing) but issues over the bill left a very sour taste in our mouth.

If you don't want people to pay via card then please advise in advance. Also do not say that you can't process cards - you chose not to. When spending well over a thousands dollars on arvo tea we expect better. This place has a lot to learn.

Helpful?
Thank Jayroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at The Lounge at Lilianfels, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa.

We are disappointed to read that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. We are known to provide great customer service, and failed on this occasion. I hope you will accept my apologies and rest assured I will together with my Food and Beverage Manager review your experience.

If you would like to discuss this matter further, please feel free to contact me on gm@escarpmentgroup.com.au


With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    61
    31
    22
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I really enjoyed the food here and getting to eat while sitting in a huge lounge chair was just the best. Atmosphere was great and the place is decorated really well. I would definitely recommend eating here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank islandpalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at The Lounge at Lilianfels, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to respond with your positive feedback about our hotel.

We agree that our food is delicious and our Lounge chairs are the most comfortable in the mountains, especially siiting by the open fires.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon,

Kind Regards

Mr Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“After dinner night caps”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

stopped in after we had been out for dinner, We ordered a couple of irish coffee's and sat in the lounge area to listen to the piano player and enjoy the bar, The atmosphere was very warm and welcoming, beautiful fireplace and just a really nice environment to wind down. Will go back again at some stage for dinner.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at The Lounge at Lilianfels, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa

It’s a pleasure to read that you enjoyed drinks and irsih coffees in the lobby lounge, we look forward to welcoming you back again.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C,owra
Level Contributor
86 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Left wondering!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at lillanfels this weekend, used the lounge late Sunday night for after dinner drink,as we were unaware you could also eat there,we sat and enjoyed our drink and the ambience,and then before ordering another drink,decided to go outside up the drive for a smoke,to our surprise we were suddenly being chased along the driveway by a drink waiter,saying we hadn't signed for our drinks,for goodness sake they had our room number,our credit card details,and also the keys of our new car as we had valet parking,we weren't going anywhere just abiding by their non smoking policy,needless to say we signed and never bought another drink,think you need to worry about the visitors,not the guests staying overnight,

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at The Lounge at Lilianfels, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa

We are sorry to hear about your recent experience whilst enjoying our bar facilities in the looby lounge. We take onboard however your comments regarding the service issues you exeprienced and will pass on to the Food & Beverage supervisor who is always looking at ways to make improvements in our service and staff training levels to ensure we surprise & delight our customers.

We look forward to welcoming you back again,

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“beautiful places”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is a beautiful place but no views and service was slow and food expensive. We stayed for a coffee but have had better in my local coffee shop.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at The Lounge at Lilianfels, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa

It’s a pleasure to read that you thought the property was beautiful but we are dismayed to hear that you did not get to enjoy the views from one of our many Valley View suites or public areas.

Our coffee supplier supplies only the best Vittoria coffee and agin we are sorry that you did not get to enjoy your experience at the hotel.

We hope to look forward to welcoming you back again,

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lounge at Lilianfels also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to The Lounge at Lilianfels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing