We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice spicy seafood with rice”
Review of Sanwiye

Sanwiye
Ranked #18 of 91 Restaurants in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
132 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice spicy seafood with rice”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

We had lunch here. The portions are huge and nice, especially the spicy seafood with rice. There were lots of big prawns and scallops.

As for the spicy seafood noodles, there were lots and lots of vege in it with some shrimps and lots of seafood fish cake.

Price is decent as compared to what we had been eating in Sydney centre. Worth eating here if u are in katoomba!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beargoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    62
    7
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
403 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Excellence 2013? Well deserved!!”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

A local who worked in the veggie business advised us to go there because of the fresh food. Small restaurant, good atmosphere, kind staff. If you want you can share a table. If not you can wait a very long time for a seat. We ordered 2 different dishes and some side dishes, all to share. Never had Korean food before, but it is great! Can recommend this restaurant of all of you, and I would go there again if I had the chance.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“authentic and tasty”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Really great little find. We got take-away, it was quick and fresh and so yummy. Didn't love the sushi though. Best to leave the Japanese food to the Japanese and just eat the real Korean dishes here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carolynBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quality food that is affordable.”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This is a cozy little restaurant offering good quality food at a good price. The plate sized vegetable pancakes are very tasty as are the Buglogi stir fries. The side dishes of seaweed salad, and kimchi go well with any of the meals we have tried so far. And the ginger tea is a great drink to go with your meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SydneyRandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“delicious and affordable”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Yum yum! The service is quality, the food affordable and very delicious. Wonderful atmosphere. We dine in and get take out all the time!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elisa7890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sanwiye also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Sanwiye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing