We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

What you get at this hotel for the money a stay costs is poor to say the least. The description says free self parking, I found out what that means on a weekend is that you can park on a street 500m away if you don't wish to pay for valet. When they say free wifi you better hope the hotel is empty so you don't time out. I came here for a romantic weekend and discovered the spa and steam rooms are seperate for male and female. Not what I expected when I booked, probably better alternatives in the area, especially given the price.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
13  Thank Simon_Jasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Resort and Spa

I am disappointed to read that on this occasion we did not meet your expectation. We are known to provide great customer service, but did not deliver on this occasion. I hope you accept my apologies and we will get another chance to prove our great service to you.


With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

864 - 870 of 1,672 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed for one night to experience the blue mountains. The hotel is in a great location and you can walk to scenic world!
It is very old fashioned and a bit dated. The rooms are spacious but not our style. The extra beds we ordered were dirty. We requested interconnecting rooms but none were available. It said room with a view but there was now view. All you could see were the trees right in front of our window.
The breakfast is average, not too many choices, the service was slow but you have to pay extra for coffee and hot chocolate! Ridiculous!
The food in the restaurant is average and overpriced.
All in all the hotel feels a bit impersonal and the interior design was just not our style. It is way too expensive for what you get so we will not recommend it.

Room Tip: It is not worth to pay extra for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonSabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa

I am disappointed to read that on this occasion we failed in some areas to provide you with the service, and attention we are known for.

I hope you accept my apologies, and rest assured all issues raised will be addressed with the relevant departments.

I hope I will see you again soon at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa.


With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Expectations high, experience underwhelming. Hotel rooms are adequate without exceeding basic requirements for this class of hotel, that said the bathroom was great. Facilities like the indoor pool are wonderful and clean while the lounge area was huge and somewhat impersonal with what appeared non guests making use of the he facility. Somehow the hotel and staff just did not get us feeling like welcome guests. Wifi and parking required payment of $20 & $15 respectively, at that room rate these should be included.
The Echo' s a sister properties restaurant was in my opinion totally unacceptable, food was very average if not below par, priced ridiculously and clearly the chef must have been off duty ( Easter Sunday Dinner Service). Last night in comparison had a dinner in The Ivy at half the price that was truly exceptional. Liliansfel, a sad experience not to be repeated, even with a great location.

Room Tip: 2nd floor better for a possible view, but ask for canyon facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marchant K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa

I am disappointed to read that on this occasion we failed in some areas to provide you with the service, and attention we are known for.

I hope you accept my apologies, and rest assured all issues raised will be addressed with the relevant departments along with the Head Chef at our sister property, Echoes.

I hope I will see you again soon at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa.


With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Lilianfels Resort has Always been my families' first choice for hotel stay.
The service is excellent with ALL amenities & services close at hand.
To say the least, Darleys Restaurant, on the premises is my most favourite restaurant, in
my opinion, it deserves more chef hats awards, for quality, presentation and flavour!
Keep up the fantastic work!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monty72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Resort and Spa.

It’s a pleasure to read that you had a great experience, and enjoyed the Facilities and our team that looked after you, I hope to see you again soon at Lilianfels.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This was my third visit and I left with very mixed emotions. The rooms and lounge areas are lovely, old style and makes you feel at home right away. The location couldn't be better, with just a short stroll to the Three Sisters and Echo Point.
A number of small things though, makes the overall rating drop.
Wifi is advertised as free, but only for 24 hours AND at a very low speed. After the 24 hours or if you want higher speed you have to pay more, which I did. During our two days stay I ran a number of speed tests and NOT ONCE was it even close to what I was paying for. Extremely irritating.
Breakfast service was not up to standard. Way too many empty plates on the buffé and very slow service. On top of that any speciality coffee is charged extra for.
We stayed with our two teenage daughters and paid full price for them as two adults in a separate room and they were charged for having hot chocolate instead of coffee or tea with their breakfast which is ridiculous.
We had opted for a package which included a three course dinner. The three course dinner menu costed $ 125 per person. However, only $ 110 was deducted when we checked out. I still find the "package deal" very misleading.
I'm sorry to say that I will probably not come back again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaffaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa

I am disappointed to read that on this occasion we failed in some areas to provide you with the service, and attention we are known for.

I hope you accept my apologies, and rest assured all issues raised will be addressed with the relevant departments. On a side note we have since upgraded our entire WiFi network with a fibre connection to increase the speed across the hotel.

I hope I will see you again soon at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa.


With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Our stay was for 2 nights, and I have to say that this hotel is lovely. From the moment you walk in, you feel welcome. Room was beautiful. Old world ambience and very clean. The lounge area and fireplaces were very welcome after enjoying the nearby walking tracks.
Just 2 gripes: Wifi is advertised as free BUT only for 24hrs, then you pay. Speciality coffee at breakfast is extra. Come on, after paying quite a bit for the hotel,
this is just petty! Would I recommend this hotel- totally!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Dianna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa

It’s a pleasure to read that you had a great stay, and enjoyed the facilities and our team that looked after you. Thank you for your feedback regarding our WiFi and coffee which we are reviewing.

I hope we can welcome you back to Lilianfels in the near future.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This was my 2nd visit having first stayed here in 2000 as a respite from backpacking. This time I needed a break over the weekend of a 2 week business trip to Australia. It is every bit is gorgeous as I remembered.

Lovely room, stunning views, fabulous food and really relaxed and helpful customer service. Just what I wanted. They looked after me very well indeed and I went back to Sydney and work feeling refreshed and revived.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Resort and Spa.

We are pleased to hear that our staff were both welcoming and helpful and it’s a pleasure to read that you had a great experience, and enjoyed the Facilities, I hope to see you again soon at Lilianfels.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
1.1 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
968 reviews
0.1 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
6.5 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
1.2 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
592 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palais Royale Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains

Address: 5-19 Lilianfels Ave, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#2 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Family Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range: £156 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lilianfels Resort and Spa is a renowned haven for relaxation in one of Australia's most beautiful destinations. This multi-award winning hotel & resort is set amidst two acres of manicured gardens, overlooking the most spectacular scenery in the World Heritage Listed Blue Mountains National Park in NSW, Australia.Blue Mountains Accommodation | Blue Mountains HotelLilianfels Resort and Spa is a 5 Star resort with 85 Deluxe rooms and Suites. Onsite recreational facilities include heated indoor and outdoor pool, tennis court, billiard/games room, library and gym. Lilianfels is perfectly located within 5 minutes walk to the iconic 3 sisters rock formation at Echo Point and is close to all major attractions including Scenic World, Leura shopping village and award winning restaurants. Blue Mountains Dining | Blue Mountains RestaurantSituated within the grounds of the historic homestead of Sir Frederick Darley, Lilianfels is home to the multi-award winning Darleys Restaurant which features the best seasonal produce from the region, served in an elegant and romantic setting that is unmistakeably fine dining. Celebrate that special occasion in glamour and experience the revival of Lilianfels 'Old World Charm' as we invite you to peruse and tempt your palette with our new A La Carte Menu.Re-discover why our Multi-Award winning Restaurant excels again in style and service.Blue Mountains Conferences | Blue Mountains MeetingsWith meeting and events space for up to 100 guests complete with state-of-the-art equipment, 85 spacious accommodation rooms to house your delegates, and a fabulous array of fine dining options to choose from, it’s the ideal setting for meetings and conferences which will show your colleagues or clients how much you value them.Blue Mountains WeddingsThis European style country house hotel specialises in smaller weddings and events of up to 100 people. Personalised service, exceptional facilities and thoughtful attention to detail, accompanied by stunning views of the Jamison Valley make the hotel the ideal wedding venue.Blue Mountains Spa | Blue Mountains Beauty TreatmentsLilianfels is also renowned for its Spa. Guests can indulge in an array of soothing spa treatments individually tailored to refresh and rejuvenate. Enliven your senses with our soothing and restorative body and beauty treatments delivered by a team of caring and talented spa professionals.Dining with Spectacular Views at our sister property – Echoes RestaurantDiscover why Echoes Restaurant was awarded best regional restaurant in Australia by AHA in 2012. The combination of fine dining and spectacular views of the Jamison Valley have made Echoes a destination in the Blue Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Hotel Katoomba
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort And Spa
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Katoomba
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing