We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely short getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely short getaway”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We thought we would take a break driving from Canberra to Newcastle and the Blue Mountains seemed to be a good stopping point. Lilienfel's is well situated about a block from the well known Three Sisters. Our room was a good size, clean and tastefully decorated. From the moment we arrived the staff were welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: All the rooms were well appointed and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Resort and Spa.

It’s a pleasure to read that you had a great experience, and enjoyed the Facilities and our team that looked after you, I hope to see you again soon at Lilianfels.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    781
    437
    237
    91
    40
See reviews for
260
980
41
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Lilianfels is a well-established and generally well operated up-market hotel that ticks most of the boxes. Decor is very fitting for this style of hotel with wood panels and toile fabrics co-ordinating with matching wall papers, Bathrooms are traditional with good quality soaps and gels provided which are available for purchase at check-out
The greeting was disappointing with the curt Asian male receptionist insisting he had returned my credit card and stood waiting whilst I spent 10 minutes going through every pocket before I elected to look at his desk where the card has been all along. No apology was offered and I spent the next 30 minutes fuming at his rudeness. The angst was overcome at the cocktail bar where an Australian chap with a french style beard served up fantastic cocktails with great diligence and professionalism unaware that his every move was being mentally recorded for my next domestic cocktail night.
Breakfast was slightly sub-par with no dedicated egg station which I think can legitimately be expected at a 5 star hotel. I have no problem with buffet style content for the rest of the options but these need to be continually restocked and there were too many empty plates on our Sunday morning. Anaemic mass produced pork sausages didnt really nail it for me either when I had expected good quality local produce.
Overall good and relaxing and most of the staff had good attitude with a few stars let down by the odd poor performer

Room Tip: Views over the Megalong valley are highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent experience at Lilianfels Resort and Spa.

We are sorry to hear about your less an than optimal check in experience and breakfast, we will investigate further with our staff and Front Office team and message you offline to obtain more details.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My husband and I just spent two nights at Lilianfel's for my 60th birthday. I must say that while it was good it wasn't necessarily great. Although my birthday was mentioned on booking in , Nothing was said - would have been nice. There is an extra charge for breakfast - about $28 each - which seems a bit miserly given how expensive the accommodation is. (Also on day one although breakfast had another 1 1/2 hours to go once they ran out of scrambled egg it wasn't replaced - so kind of dear for mushrooms and tomato.) Once in our room we had to rearrange the chairs so that we could enjoy the view, but unfortunately not much thought seems to have done into the window design because the window frame was right in line with the escarpment view - had to scrunch down or stretch up in order to see the splendid scenery. Would have loved an electric blanket on the bed. The grounds were not extensive, but beautiful and well maintained. Lovely, but I've enjoyed other accommodation in katoomba at a much more reasonable price (and with full breakfast included!)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Resort and Spa.

We hope you enjoyed your 60th birthday stay at the Resort. We are glad you enjoyed all the hotels facilities on your walk around our beautiful and well maintained gardens, only minutes walk to Echo point & The Three Sisters.

I will pass on your comments to our Kitchen regarding buffet replenishment for Breakfast. Our rooms are air conditioned with state of the art heating & cooling and our rooms furnished with lovely warm coverlets/duvets. Our staff are always happy to supply additional blankets for Guest rooms should you require it.

I hope to see you again soon at Lilianfels for your next Birthday celebration.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights as a 30th birthday treat to myself, and am so glad that I did. Everyone was so kind and attentive throughout my stay, and made me feel like royalty. The guest liaison manager, Monique, bought me some chocolates with a card when she found out it was my birthday - they make you feel very special. The spa was absolutely amazing and an experience that left me floating and so relaxed I have to come back and do it all again for my 40th! :-) Thank you to all the staff at Lilianfels for creating this beautifulplace of just sheer peace and joy in everything.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Josie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Resort and Spa.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your 30th Birthday at the Resort and that Monique our Guest Relations Manager took such good care of you. It’s a pleasure to read that you had such a great birthday experience, I hope to see you again soon at Lilianfels.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Enjoyed my time at Lilianfels,having stayed here a few times before it was just as good as the last.The rooms are very comfortable,the surrounds are spectacular and the air so fresh. this is the perfect getaway from the city,gives me time to relax and enjoy the walks ,reading in the very homely lounge.Also time to be pampered in the Day Spa.The only small problem is the parking area . Which I can see if was changed would spoil the effect of the grounds . I look forward to my return visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Resort and Spa.

It’s a pleasure to read that you had a great experience, and enjoyed the Facilities and our team that looked after you, I hope to see you again soon at Lilianfels.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
521 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We had a four day week end to explore the Blue Mountains and celebrate my wife's birthday. We stayed in the Mini Mini Saddle suite. From the moment we arrived we were pampered. The staff were tremendous. A special thanks to David at the front desk who could answer any question and gave us great advice. The room had spectacular views and was very spacious and well furnished. The main lookout for the three sisters is a five minute walk away. There were plenty of dining choices and a lovely lounge. This is a great base to explore the area and is highly recommended.

Room Tip: The mountain view rooms do have a beautiful view. If you have the extra money the level two suites a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zzrbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Resort and Spa.

It’s a pleasure to read that you had a great experience, and enjoyed one of our best suites Mini Mini, it certainly has a great view across the Valley.

Also happy to read that David our Front Desk staffer looked after you so well!

I hope to see you again soon at Lilianfels.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manly, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Lilianfels is one of the best hotels available around Sydney. Starting with the staff who were exceptional from the front door onwards. The rooms are big, and the beds are really comfortable and very tastefully decorated. If any short comings it would be the lack of a small table to use when dining in room. We had our grand children with us and it was difficult for them to dine in room having to balance their trays on their laps. The food and service was certainly up to the reputation Lilianfels has deservedly earned and justifies the very high charges. This hotel is not for those on a budget but if one can afford it the costs are an indication of the high standards this hotel has reached.
The only real down side experienced was the lack of parking.
We will certainly be coming back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WEDDINGTRIPSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Resort and Spa.

It’s a pleasure to read that you had a great experience, and enjoyed the Facilities and our team that looked after you, I hope to see you again soon at Lilianfels.

You will be please to note that we are starting work on extending the number of parking spaces for the property.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
1.1 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
0.0 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
4.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
0.8 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains

Property: Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Address: 5-19 Lilianfels Ave, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#2 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Family Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lilianfels Resort and Spa is a renowned haven for relaxation in one of Australia's most beautiful destinations. This multi-award winning hotel & resort is set amidst two acres of manicured gardens, overlooking the most spectacular scenery in the World Heritage Listed Blue Mountains National Park in NSW, Australia.Blue Mountains Accommodation | Blue Mountains HotelLilianfels Resort and Spa is a 5 Star resort with 85 Deluxe rooms and Suites. Onsite recreational facilities include heated indoor and outdoor pool, tennis court, billiard/games room, library and gym. Lilianfels is perfectly located within 5 minutes walk to the iconic 3 sisters rock formation at Echo Point and is close to all major attractions including Scenic World, Leura shopping village and award winning restaurants. Blue Mountains Dining | Blue Mountains RestaurantSituated within the grounds of the historic homestead of Sir Frederick Darley, Lilianfels is home to the multi-award winning Darleys Restaurant which features the best seasonal produce from the region, served in an elegant and romantic setting that is unmistakeably fine dining. Celebrate that special occasion in glamour and experience the revival of Lilianfels 'Old World Charm' as we invite you to peruse and tempt your palette with our new A La Carte Menu.Re-discover why our Multi-Award winning Restaurant excels again in style and service.Blue Mountains Conferences | Blue Mountains MeetingsWith meeting and events space for up to 100 guests complete with state-of-the-art equipment, 85 spacious accommodation rooms to house your delegates, and a fabulous array of fine dining options to choose from, it’s the ideal setting for meetings and conferences which will show your colleagues or clients how much you value them.Blue Mountains WeddingsThis European style country house hotel specialises in smaller weddings and events of up to 100 people. Personalised service, exceptional facilities and thoughtful attention to detail, accompanied by stunning views of the Jamison Valley make the hotel the ideal wedding venue.Blue Mountains Spa | Blue Mountains Beauty TreatmentsLilianfels is also renowned for its Spa. Guests can indulge in an array of soothing spa treatments individually tailored to refresh and rejuvenate. Enliven your senses with our soothing and restorative body and beauty treatments delivered by a team of caring and talented spa professionals.Dining with Spectacular Views at our sister property – Echoes RestaurantDiscover why Echoes Restaurant was awarded best regional restaurant in Australia by AHA in 2012. The combination of fine dining and spectacular views of the Jamison Valley have made Echoes a destination in the Blue Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Hotel Katoomba
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort And Spa
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Katoomba
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing