We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A world away with wonderful service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Kurri Kurri, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A world away with wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is an outstanding hotel, with old world charm, that goes out of their way to provide a level of service and ambiance of a lost past. Everyone should experience this hotel at least once in their lifetime. Everything about it is what you would expect in a world class hotel.
The grounds are wonderful and you are right in the middle of the Blue mountains.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Resort and Spa.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and received excellent service from our staff who were very helpful and efficient.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family again at Lilianfels.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    775
    432
    236
    89
    40
See reviews for
256
972
41
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights last week for a mid week escape. The disappointment started when we arrived with their terrible parking, continued into our room where it hadn't been vacuumed or mopped in a while (wore my shoes in the room). This continued with a wait for breakfast the next morning. We only waited 15 minutes but others waited longer. They were so understaffed and underprepared. So many school holiday families which was to be expected but caused the chaos. Sitting down to breakfast it took 20 minutes to be offered any tea and coffee by which point we were finished our breakfast. Everything needed refilling and they weren't on top of it. Hate paying so much for breakfast (prepaid) and having to eat elsewhere after. Read the reviews on here of being offered special order eggs and porridge yet was never asked.
Poor parking, poor breakfast, uncomfortable and dirty room. Fortunately many things were rectified day 2 or we would not have stayed another night. Tip: take your own pillow or buy one at target up the road. A very disappointing stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Resort and Spa.

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some elements of your stay.

We are in the process of doing a review post our school holidays & will investigate some of the points you mentioned about breakfast service - rest assured our peak times can mean extra Guests in these high traffic areas at certain times.

We will investigate with our team and housekeeping staff and would like to inbox you to obtain further details.

We look forward to resolving some of these issues on your behalf and welcoming you and your family once again at Lilianfels.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband and I just returned to Sydney after spending two relaxing nights at Lilianfels. The hotel itself is very pretty and graceful, it exudes charm from another era whilst having all the modern facilities you would expect at an establishment of this calibre.
We got our room on a Winter escape package and thought it to be good value, with a nice view over the gardens on the echo point side of the hotel. One point which is worth mentioning is that we couldn't get mobile phone reception in our room, however this small complaint was somewhat countered by the Free wifi provided by the hotel.
If you stay at Lilianfels be sure to visit the spa, both my husband and I splashed out and got a 2 hour package each (Baby moon / Gentlemen's Oasis) and both agreed that it was an amazing and totally worthwhile indulgence - Mouna and Alicia provided excellent and professional service, especially in light of me being 6+ months pregnant at the time.
Dinner at Darley's on the second night was also very good, staff were very friendly/professional and the food was excellent.
We appreciated the quiet/ relaxed atmosphere (despite being school holidays), access to facilities such as the spa and games room and the pleasant little touches i.e. that the common areas in the main hotel are lightly perfumed, adding to the ambience.
Overall a very nice place to visit in the Blue Mountains for a special treat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna_Azzo_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Resort and Spa.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, making the most of the winter mid week package.

It was also great to hear that you enjoyed your Day Spa treatments and your dining experience at Darley's, to make your stay extra special.

We look forward to welcoming both you and your family back again at Lilianfels soon.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Arrived all good
Seated all good
Given water
Had onion rings yummy but only about 8 of them, and chick pea dip this had no flavour and the bread was soft and doughy!
Had to get our own water
Had scones burnt :( needed more jam and cream
Had to get our own water
Had tea milk went everywhere useless jug!
Had to get our own water
That was it. Expensive and had to get our own water

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Gaille S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Resort and Spa.

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your Devonshire Tea.

After much feedback from Guests we decided to make water available in our lounge area but our staff are more than happy to serve water to Guests tables.

Our Chefs strive to produce the best food on a daily basis and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your Onion rings, but disappointed to hear that the scones were on the overcooked side. All our scones are baked fresh on the premises daily.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Lilianfels.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverstone NSW
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

On our third visit for high tea, I was very disappointed. We went for the mid week special but 2 half glasses of Oz champagne added $32. The food was OK- very TAFE-but the service was poor. Then tried to charge for French champagne - oh dear.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris29Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Resort and Spa.

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some elements of your High Tea experience & service.

We will investigate this with our team to obtain further details to address some of the issues.

We look forward to welcoming you once again at Lilianfels.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

1. We arrived at 6pm on a cold winters evening. No one to help get the bags out of the car, hold the front door open etc. . . (ditto when leaving on Sunday morning)
2. Wi Fi doesn’t work in the room,
3. Your mobile phone wont work in the room either, so forget about internet on 3G as well,
4. Went down to the bar for an ice bucket , waiting , waiting, waiting, the bar appeared to be unattended . . .
5. Went for a pre dinner drink in the lounge at 8pm, Sign says ‘wait to be seated’. After the attendant ignored us ‘waiting’ twice I eventually asked if we could sit anywhere . . .
6. Once seated waited 19 minutes (yep I timed it !) to be asked if I’d like a drink (there were 6 other people in the lounge (yep, I counted ‘em as well) Gulped down my $12 G&T so I wouldn’t be late for 8.30 dinner next door . . .
7. Saturday morning ½ the newspaper arrived at the room door . . . those of you familiar with the Sydney Herald would probably expect Good Weekend, Spectrum etc etc, but you wont get it . . .
8. Breakfast in the dining room was included in the room rate, but sorry, if you want a cuppucino pay extra . . .
9. Went into town Saturday night (another cold winter night). Got back at 10pm, no parking, had to go and park in the street. Offered free valet when I mentioned this after getting back in (usually $15) but whats the point ! Walk back to the car in the drizzle . . . ! ?
10. In room breakfast . . . costs $28 for continental . . no prob. But add $10 for having it brought up. Just tell me it costs $38 in the first place for goodness sake . . .

Now, I can hear you saying “what a whinger “, but here’s the point . . . to enjoy all of the above irritation I paid $600 per night, that’s right $1200 for 2 nights. And something else I’ll never understand in a supposedly 5 star hotel, the 1 ½ % surcharge for paying with a credit card. Are you telling me you can’t absorb the $9 a night cost of the surcharge when I’ve just coughed up $1200 !!!! ?? No wonder I only got ½ the newspaper . . . .
Oh . . and did I mention, most (not all) of the staff have that “I wish I wasn’t here” attitude about them.
Bottom line . . . 2 ½ star service in a 5 star building with a 5 star location. Totally wasted on the current management who don’t seem to appreciate the potential gem they have in their hands . . . .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank rharoldr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Resort and Spa.

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some elements of your stay.

We are in the process of doing a review & will investigate some of the points you raised.
about our Guest services, staff, parking and complimentary Wi Fi.

We will investigate this with our team and would like to inbox you to obtain further details.

We look forward to resolving some of these issues and welcoming you once again at Lilianfels.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

After visiting the mountains via the Blue ribbon tours company we wanted more so we returned to stay for 2 nights. The tour company very nicely dropped us off and picked us up at this lovely hotel set on the cliff top in Katoomba. They have an excellent restaurant and are centred right where you want to be to take the many forest walks. First class service and quality rooms made our stay here perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fisherpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Resort and Spa.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, making the most of the walking tracks and dining experiences on offer at Lilianfels.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Lilianfels soon.

With thanks,


Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
1.1 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
0.0 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
4.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
0.8 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains

Property: Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Address: 5-19 Lilianfels Ave, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#2 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Family Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lilianfels Resort and Spa is a renowned haven for relaxation in one of Australia's most beautiful destinations. This multi-award winning hotel & resort is set amidst two acres of manicured gardens, overlooking the most spectacular scenery in the World Heritage Listed Blue Mountains National Park in NSW, Australia.Blue Mountains Accommodation | Blue Mountains HotelLilianfels Resort and Spa is a 5 Star resort with 85 Deluxe rooms and Suites. Onsite recreational facilities include heated indoor and outdoor pool, tennis court, billiard/games room, library and gym. Lilianfels is perfectly located within 5 minutes walk to the iconic 3 sisters rock formation at Echo Point and is close to all major attractions including Scenic World, Leura shopping village and award winning restaurants. Blue Mountains Dining | Blue Mountains RestaurantSituated within the grounds of the historic homestead of Sir Frederick Darley, Lilianfels is home to the multi-award winning Darleys Restaurant which features the best seasonal produce from the region, served in an elegant and romantic setting that is unmistakeably fine dining. Celebrate that special occasion in glamour and experience the revival of Lilianfels 'Old World Charm' as we invite you to peruse and tempt your palette with our new A La Carte Menu.Re-discover why our Multi-Award winning Restaurant excels again in style and service.Blue Mountains Conferences | Blue Mountains MeetingsWith meeting and events space for up to 100 guests complete with state-of-the-art equipment, 85 spacious accommodation rooms to house your delegates, and a fabulous array of fine dining options to choose from, it’s the ideal setting for meetings and conferences which will show your colleagues or clients how much you value them.Blue Mountains WeddingsThis European style country house hotel specialises in smaller weddings and events of up to 100 people. Personalised service, exceptional facilities and thoughtful attention to detail, accompanied by stunning views of the Jamison Valley make the hotel the ideal wedding venue.Blue Mountains Spa | Blue Mountains Beauty TreatmentsLilianfels is also renowned for its Spa. Guests can indulge in an array of soothing spa treatments individually tailored to refresh and rejuvenate. Enliven your senses with our soothing and restorative body and beauty treatments delivered by a team of caring and talented spa professionals.Dining with Spectacular Views at our sister property – Echoes RestaurantDiscover why Echoes Restaurant was awarded best regional restaurant in Australia by AHA in 2012. The combination of fine dining and spectacular views of the Jamison Valley have made Echoes a destination in the Blue Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Hotel Katoomba
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort And Spa
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Katoomba
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing