We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“End to a very good trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“End to a very good trip”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We stayed here on the last night of a 3 week trip. The garden room was delightful, really beautiful and to be able to walk out into the garden and take in the marvellous view and have tea in the tranquil garden was wonderful. Dinner in the evening was very good although the main course if I am being picky was rather average, where the starters and desserts were excellent. Ambience was good and our child's meal, if probably the most expensive meal he will ever have, he thoroughly enjoyed! Service for dinner was impeccable, the waiter was over and above a real bonus to the restaurant. Overall lovely place to stay would love to come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelanieOV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your experience at Echoes Boutique Hotel and Restaurant.

We pride ourselves with fantastic food, great service and beautiful views her at Echoes.

I hope I am able to welcome you back in the near future.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    129
    45
    36
    23
See reviews for
60
302
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

Astonishing views, service, rooms, restaurant. All brilliant! Great place for couples or singles to enjoy ZEN.
A bit far from town centre but close to three sisters viewing place and city seing buss stop.
A bit pricey though.
SPA - nothing special but massageur was great.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveleressa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your experience at Echoes Boutique Hotel and Restaurant.
It’s with pleasure to read your comments, and All Brilliant makes our day. These are the comments our team drives on.

We pride ourselves with fantastic food, great service and beautiful views her at Echoes.

I hope I am able to welcome you back in the near future.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
82 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed at Echoes for 2 nights in March as part of a longer holiday. We knew that prices were high here and had booked expecting luxury in a stunning location .... well the location was stunning and our room (called Govett) was of a good size and we thought in the best position but luxury was not a term I would use for the hotel itself.

Admittedly on first appearance everything did look luxurious the room had a big bed, attractive furnishings, a good shower room, a large balcony and stunning views. The public areas were also most attractive and the bar in particular is full of character with dramatic black themed decor and seating and a most unusual, glass screened, central fireplace.

However, on beginning to unpack we discovered that the room was far from clean, there were food crumbs on the bedside table, dust (that you could write your name in) inside a cupboard, loose bits of sawdust inside drawers and on many flat surfaces and carpet corners there was more dust. In addition the armchairs chairs were faded and coming apart at the seams, the curtains were mouldy and not clean and the brass door handles hadn’t seen polish in many years! Outside the balcony was un-swept with dead insects and cobwebs around the doorway to the room.

We only ate at Echoes because we are lazy and couldn’t be bothered to go out in the evenings, but the prices were extremely expensive at $85 for 2 courses or $115 for 3 courses (£60 & £80). There was no option to have just a main course, which is what we wanted, and when we chose simple ice-cream as a dessert this pricing must have made it the most expensive ice-cream ever! Bar drinks and wine were also very expensive for instance I had a Campari and soda costing $12 (nearly £8.50) this arrived with the soda already poured in, no doubt to disguise the fact that there was hardly any Campari!! Two glasses at this price and the bottle must have been paid for, making for enormous profit per bottle! We know dining in Australia is more expensive than here in the UK but really at Echoe’s prices I would expect the food to be exquisite .... it wasn’t! It was OK and we couldn’t have complained about the quality but really, for what was described as ‘fine dining’, it was just ordinary.

In contrast to our evening dining experience we enjoyed breakfast at Echoes; it was a varied and interesting buffet and for just a few dollars extra we could have chosen to have various cooked items. We did feel that the cooked items could have been included but were satisfied with the buffet options.

One other gripe was the extortionate cost of using WiFi; our stay at Echoes was just a small part of a long holiday staying in 6 different places Echoes was the only one that did not provide free WiFi!

However, now you probably think this is ridiculous, but if we were to return to this area again we would probably choose to stay at Echoes providing we could have the same (or very similar) room. I can’t think there can be a better location within the Blue Mountains; the views were spectacular and our room seemed to overhang the valley and forest below us and we spent a lot of time on our balcony just appreciating the scenery and bird song. The balcony/deck area had a small table and two chairs; these were of very cheap quality and were uncomfortable, what a shame, when the view is the best thing about Echoes!

Overall this is a beautiful hotel with pretentions to luxury. It is rescued, but only just, by its gorgeous location. When we mentioned all our concerns on leaving we were told ‘but we are full at the weekends’ so perhaps they get by on their high weekend prices but what a what a short sighted

Room Tip: corner suites have fabulous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your experience at Echoes, Blue Mountains Restaurant and Bar.
I am disappointed to read about you experience and that on this occasion we did not meet your expectation.

Rest assured we are looking into the concern, and I will follow up with our Housekeeping team to ensure the cleanliness is in line with our high standards.

I hope I am able to welcome you back in the near future, as the above is not a normal standard of Echoes.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downderry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Sadly one of the poorer places we stayed in Australia, primarily because of the lack of customer service. They really, really need to understand that a boutique hotel doesn't just mean small, it means customer focussed. We stayed three nights and received exactly the same offhand, poor and careless attitude the entire time that we stayed, staff showed no interest in us, who we where, what we wanted. By contrast the staff at the sister hotel next door (lillianfels) greeted us by name every time we went in with smiles of welcome (particularly the excellent Anthony). It's such a shame as the location is excellent (though the rooms are small, poorly soundproofed and very stuffy) but unless the staff CARE about you you may as well stay somewhere else.
Three specifics:-
1-A buffet breakfast in a hotel with 14 rooms, only 2 occupied? Why? Just ask people what they want and cook it to order!
2-We like leaf tea in the morning so we take our own but needed a teapot, it was taken away every day and we had to ask for it to be returned each evening.
3-Very hard pillows, we asked for softer, told they didn't have any, asked at the sister hotel, 'no problem'.
Sadly we will stay somewhere else next time and wouldn't recommend Echoes to others.

Room Tip: Stay next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moonhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your experience at Echoes Boutique Hotel and Restaurant

I am disappointed to read about your experience with our team, and the lack of customer service provided.

We pride ourselves with fantastic service, and I would like to investigate your concerns further.
Could you please email me on gm@lilianfels.com.au .

I regards to some of your points raised, we are currently reviewing our breakfast offerings, and have just purchased new European pillows for all Guest rooms.

with thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We were greeted on entry with a pleasant smile & a basic introduction that was warm & friendly. The room was clean, tidy & modern. The fridge was rather small but big enough for us. Spectacular view of the blue mountains from our balcony. A little more balcony privacy could have been nice, they have dividers & a pot plant separating each balcony so u can c ur neighbours which can b awkward & uncomfortable. After reviewing the menu we chose not to dine there, dinner 2 courses $85, main meal $60; we could not justify spending so much on a meal! We ordered dominos pizza, they delivered to our room :) overall it was a very enjoyable stay, a one off, not sure we would spend the money again?

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jl_skp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your experience at Echoes Boutique Hotel and Restaurant on Tripadvisor.com

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your room and the views over the valley. In my eyes it’s the best views in the mountains.

I will be reviewing your concerns re the privacy, and we currently looking at some dividers that will not box in the balcony too much.

I am sorry to read that you did not dine with us, as our Chef produces fantastic food.

I hope we will see you again soon, to experience autumn in the m mountains

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis Center, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We chose this hotel for the corner suite and valley view. Except for the constant fog and cool temperatures, it would have worked out fine. We ate at the in-house restaurant the first evening and found it to be aloof and way over-priced. There was lots to do in the area and plenty of good restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MC2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your experience at Echoes Boutique Hotel and Restaurant on Tripadvisor.com

Your room choice was defiantly a great one, and the fog normally clears by lunchtime. I am disappointed to read that you found our restaurant overpriced, and I hope you still enjoyed the atmosphere.

We pride ourselves with great service in a pictures mountain setting, and hope to welcome you back to Echoes in the near future.

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Nice hotel, a bit pricy but I suppose you pay for the view. Great view from our room! The room was big and nice, clean and fresh bathroom. Nice staff also. The only thing was that the breakfast was very simple and not so great. A bit surprising since they have a nice restaurant (didn't try it).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ABWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your experience at Echoes Boutique Hotel and Restaurant on Tripadvisor.com

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your room and the views over the valley. It surprises me that your breakfast experience was simple, as we offer the buffet plus any dishes you like from the Kitchen.

I hope we will see you again soon, to experience autumn in the m mountains

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
1.2 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
6.4 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
0.7 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
6.3 mi away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Blackheath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 3 Lilianfels Ave | Echo Point, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant is perched at the very edge of the Jamison Valley at Echo Point in the Blue Mountains. Our unique location offers stunning and uninterrupted panoramas of the National Park from every room, providing all our guests with ever-changing but always dramatic and breathtaking views. All this and only 90 minutes from Sydney!Our unique location offers stunning panoramas from every room, providing our guests with the most breathtaking views of mountains, cliff edges and lush rainforest valleys. Blue Mountains' most stunning icon 'Echoes' unveils itself on the very edge of the Jamison Valley with views right through to Mittagong, 80 kilometres away.Relaxation and recreation takes on whole new meaning at Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant. Rejuvenate with a brisk hike through the Jamison Valley or find peace and serenity with a pampering spa treatment in our private sauna and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Echoes Boutique Hotel And Restaurant
Hotel Echoes Boutique
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing