We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning view but food and service are quite poor” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning view but food and service are quite poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

A great view from our balcony.very expensive dinner with poor service.We are not happy with the service as we have asked for bread again and the waitress serve as bread with no butter and we request again and did not come and saw her standing near the cashier ,she forgot completely what we are asking.the entree foi gras are bad combination and the main fowl bird taste bad .anyway we came back in the morning for breakfast .racist staff as the waitress greet my partner and I follow without saying hello or Goodmorning.I have waited for this review and felt that I was dicriminated.

Room Tip: Expensive dinner and poor service with racist staff.Menu are not good ,not met the standard .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Echoes Hotel and Restaurant..

I am disappointed to read that on this occasion we did not deliver what we are known for. We are proud to provide great customer service, and rest assured I will look into the service issues you experienced.

I am even more surprised about the comment of discrimination, as we are a company that employ and equal amount of foreigners as locals. We employ people from around the globe, and all our staff deals with different cultures every day. I would like to talk to you in person and gather more details as this is sounds very disturbing to me.

Please contact me directly at gm@lilianfels.com.au

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    126
    45
    36
    22
See reviews for
58
295
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

My sisters and I came for a getaway weekend and loved it. The hotel and the room was stunning and the location was perfect. Breakfast in the Echoes restaurant was exceptional - best hotel breakfast I have had in ages! Only one small criticism was that the receptionist had a very thick accent and was difficult to understand. Other than that, perfect!

Room Tip: We had the Corner View room and it was spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angeline_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Echoes Boutique Hotel and Restaurant.

That’s great to hear that you enjoyed the experience, and I hope we can see you staying with us again soon.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
gm@lilianfels.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We were very happy with our stay at Echoes. A great view over the valley from our balcony. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We would definitely return and would look to stay in the Young room which has the fire place and spa bath, even though the view isn't as good as it was from our room. The on site restaurant is handy, but restrictive if you don't want a 2 course or 3 course meal as the food was generous in its servings for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raorsri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Echoes Boutique Hotel and Restaurant.

It’s fantastic to read that you had a great stay, and loved the view, room, and food. Even Young is on the side you still get the full view from the balcony.

I hope we can welcome you back shortly.



With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We are a couple with a 22 month old daughter, and we stayed for a long weekend in August 2013.

Beautiful location with stunning views, absolutely divine food in the restaurant (not cheap to eat there but well worth it).

Shortly after arriving in our room we discovered that our air con wasn't working, and the staff tried everything they could to repair it but were unsuccessful. Staff were very apologetic and we were given two heaters to use instead, which was more than adequate to make the room temperature comfortable again for us.

This is a perfect hotel for couples wanting a romantic break, but our one constructive criticism is that they seem to be less experienced at dealing with families with young children. While the standard of food was excellent, we did have to wait a long time for our food to arrive and our daughter grew quite impatient and "vocal" during this time! We partially resolved this on the second day by pre-ordering our food and arranging to have this ready at a set time, which the staff were happy to do for us. Unfortunately there was a 45 minute wait between our daughter's meal being served and our main course arriving, by which time our daughter had enough of sitting still at the table, but again the staff were happy to help us by allowing us to return to our room and serving the remaining courses there.

There was also some confusion over whether our daughter's meal was included within the price because when booking a room online, adults and children over 4yrs old are chargeable but infants are included, however when booking dinner you only have the option to specify the number of adults or children (not infants), and we therefore assumed our daughter's meal would be included. On pointing this out to staff they were happy to waive the cost of our daughter's meal, but this is something that should be addressed on the website to avoid confusion.

We would suggest to anyone with a young family thinking of staying here that they also pre-order food if your little one is likely to get restless while waiting for their meal. Another suggestion we would have for the hotel is they might consider adopting a buffet-style breakfast which would be more family friendly and eliminate the waiting time between ordering breakfast and the food arriving.

One other slight issue was on the Saturday night there was a pianist playing in the restaurant, which was lovely to listen to, but the playing continued until 10pm and was quite loud as our room was directly underneath, and our daughter struggled to get off to sleep as a result. Whilst the playing was lovely, it would have been appreciated more if they had finished earlier in the evening or lowered the volume, in consideration of younger guests who needed to sleep.

As mentioned, despite the slight hiccups the staff were eager to help us to resolve problems. In particular we would commend Bryant to the hotel, he seemed to make it his personal mission to help us as much as he could and was an absolute star to us all weekend! The hotel is extremely lucky to have such a caring and professional employee as him.

Overall it is a very good hotel in a wonderful setting, and we will definitely consider visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Echoes Boutique Hotel and Restaurant.

It’s a pleasure to read that you in general had a great stay, and enjoyed the Facilities and our team that looked after you.

I will defiantly look in the minor issue you mentioned to ensure we can improve our services, and to be clearer on our website.

Bryant, will be delighted about his mention, and I hope we can welcome you back to Echoes shortly.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

A short break before returning to work after 7 weeks leave was in order. The venue was to be close to Sydney and something 'special'. We chose Echoes as it had always interested us and indeed it didn't disappoint.
We checked in on Friday afternoon, after being a tourist with early lunch at Wentworth Falls followed by the attractions at the Scenic Railway. Check in was easy and welcoming. The room was spacious and the view magnificent. We sat a while on our verandah and appreciated how lucky we are to live so close to such a beautiful place. We then ventured upstairs at 4.30pm to have a drink on the verandah outside the bar. Sadly though the bar didn't open until 5.30pm so we ventured back down to our room to wait until then. On our return we realised we could no longer enjoy the seating outside as the weather was not warm enough so we had our drinks in the bar room (without a fire!).
Later we walked to Darley's restaurant for a meal that was truly fantastic. The venue was superb and the service was attentive without being pompous. Unfortunately my partner became ill (nothing to do with the food) and we had to depart before dessert was eaten. However the staff could see that all was not well and offered assistance if required. They were genuinely concerned and we thank them for this.
Would we go back to Echoes? Yes certainly! Would we go back to Darley's? Yes, in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms good for those with mobility problems. Chose ones with sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaydreamer_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Echoes Boutique Hotel and Restaurant.

It’s a pleasure to read that you had a great stay, and enjoyed the Facilities and our team that looked after you.

Both Echoes and Darleys are fantastic places, and I think we have a look at the opening time for drinks in the afternoon.

I hope I will be able to welcome you back shortly.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We were checking out places to stay in Katoomba and this one popped up in our Internet search. The view from our room is out of this world! Surprisingly the prices on week nights are significantly lower than on weekends, and we jumped at the opportunity to spend a night there. The room was clean and classy, the dinner sublime and distance to Echo Point was just 15 minutes walk away. We are so glad to have picked Echoes and given another chance, we'd come back again. This is a great choice for a romantic getaway as a couple.

Room Tip: Go for the specials (not weekends) where the prices are great value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SYKN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Echoes Boutique Hotel and Restaurant.

It’s a pleasure to read that you had a great stay, and enjoyed the Facilities and our team that looked after you.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed in a cliff view room, which was spacious, elegantly and comfortably furnished and had a gas fireplace, spa bath and small balcony with views. It's a lovely location and a very comfortable stay, smaller and less floral and chintzy than the adjacent sister hotel Lillianfels, where we have also stayed. We ate at the hotel restaurant, liking convenience, but it is very overpriced (min 2 courses for $85pp) and not great quality. I'd stay here again, but eat elsewhere.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank h0lidaymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Echoes Boutique Hotel and Restaurant.

It’s fantastic to read that you liked the Hotel facilities. I am disappointed about your dining experience, and will definitely look into this, as we are known for great food and service.


With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
1.2 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
6.4 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
0.8 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
6.3 mi away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Blackheath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 3 Lilianfels Ave | Echo Point, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant is perched at the very edge of the Jamison Valley at Echo Point in the Blue Mountains. Our unique location offers stunning and uninterrupted panoramas of the National Park from every room, providing all our guests with ever-changing but always dramatic and breathtaking views. All this and only 90 minutes from Sydney!Our unique location offers stunning panoramas from every room, providing our guests with the most breathtaking views of mountains, cliff edges and lush rainforest valleys. Blue Mountains' most stunning icon 'Echoes' unveils itself on the very edge of the Jamison Valley with views right through to Mittagong, 80 kilometres away.Relaxation and recreation takes on whole new meaning at Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant. Rejuvenate with a brisk hike through the Jamison Valley or find peace and serenity with a pampering spa treatment in our private sauna and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Echoes Boutique Hotel And Restaurant
Hotel Echoes Boutique
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing