We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View...shame about the hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
29
Reviewed 9 December 2004

We selected Echoes for a brief retreat from Sydney because the rooms offered a spectacular view and a balcony...features not available next door at the famous Lilianfels. We did get the view and balcony, but sadly it was all down hill from there. The first room was a very small and meanly designed arrangment which shared a communal balcony with every other room. For an extra $100 per night we upgraded to a larger corner room. It also had the communal balcony, but at least offered a little more privacy. Touches like the faux Victorian antiques mixed with cheap Ikea style modern furniture and plastic flowers give the game away. The bathrooms are cramped 80's motel design and the only coffee in the mini bar was instant! This hotel is either struggling or simply lacks any sense of taste and style.

We had hoped that the restaurant would make up for the poor standards in the room, but alas it was very evident why they have lost their "one hat" status rating in the all important "Sydney Morning Herald Good Food Guide". It appears that a team of French chefs were responsible for this brief rating in the 2003 guide, but they are now long gone and the standards and the "hat" have also gone with them.

After three attempts to order a bottle from the wine list and being informed each time that my choice was not in stock, I reverted to a basic wine by the glass option. The wines that were "out of stock" are all readily available elsewhere, so I can only assume they must be gone with the French...how difficult would it be to up-date a wine list? The meal was okay and I suspect that a chef who understudied the French couple may still be doing his best with formula dishes. At the end of the meal I attempted to order the only premium Australian port, only to be told that was also not available. We gave up and went to bed.

I could go on about the breakfast, but I think you get the message. This is not a hotel worthy of it's previous reputation or the high prices it continues to charge. If you are looking for an experience of style and quality, you will not find it at Echoes.

  • Stayed: November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
There are newer reviews for Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2004

The amazing views, from your bedroom, your terrace, & restaurant, the delicious food, the gorgeous location, & the 2 lovely young women, Ha & Mel, who know everything there is to know about the area & are happy to share it, are all supurb. The recently renovated rooms, with Bloomingdale furnishings, are lovely. (The website does NOT show the renovations yet.) This hotel is less stuffy than its neighbor, Lillianfels, has a more dramatic view, & is more intimate, with only 12 rooms. I highly recommend it. It is located in the town of Katoomba, in the heart of the Blue Mtns.

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2004

I really enjoyed my stay at Echoes Hotel even though it was only for one night. The location is great, a lovely view and it's a short walk to see the Three Sisters. The rooms was beautifully decorated, comfy beds with duvets and a nice modern bathroom. Breakfast was included with the room and it was better than any other I had on my trip. There are only 12 rooms so you almost feel like you're staying at a B & B but with more privacy. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Love2explore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank hornet68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: il y a 3 chambres donnant accès au petit jardin, je vous le recommande vivement, je crois que j'...
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evacoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: 1階の部屋からは庭に出れます。
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 7rainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pehmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
1.1 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
944 reviews
6.4 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
4.0 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
586 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
0.1 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 3 Lilianfels Ave | Echo Point, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range: £176 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant is perched at the very edge of the Jamison Valley at Echo Point in the Blue Mountains. Our unique location offers stunning and uninterrupted panoramas of the National Park from every room, providing all our guests with ever-changing but always dramatic and breathtaking views. All this and only 90 minutes from Sydney!Our unique location offers stunning panoramas from every room, providing our guests with the most breathtaking views of mountains, cliff edges and lush rainforest valleys. Blue Mountains' most stunning icon 'Echoes' unveils itself on the very edge of the Jamison Valley with views right through to Mittagong, 80 kilometres away.Relaxation and recreation takes on whole new meaning at Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant. Rejuvenate with a brisk hike through the Jamison Valley or find peace and serenity with a pampering spa treatment in our private sauna and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Echoes Boutique Hotel And Restaurant
Hotel Echoes Boutique
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing