We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“IT'S ALL ABOUT THE VIEW”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
109 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“IT'S ALL ABOUT THE VIEW”
Reviewed 12 July 2010

This could be a spectacular experience, but for a high price tag and a high star rating it doesn't deliver everything it should. Generally, it's a great spot, a nice building, excellent staff (not all great with 5 star service, but all friendly) and a pleasant ambience. Keep in mind of course that anything about the room is specific to the one I stayed in - others may not be the same. Some general things certainly do apply, however. The room: smallish, but pleasant enough. The furniture probably in need of some updating (especially the couch in which one sinks into in quite the wrong way - ie. no support). I also think that given the amazing view of this property, that all the furniture in every room should be oriented to the view. The desk faces the wall and the couch faces the other wall! Ditto with the view from the bed - when lying in bed looking out - all you see is a rather tacky outdoor table/chair setting with a pot plant on the table which - of course - obscures the amazing view. Get rid of the plant and move the furniture. On this note, the balconies lack any privacy at all. It does mean that people can easily look in to one's room. When you're paying this much for a room, you want privacy. When you're actually ON the balcony, forget it - you'll see everyone right along the balcony on either side. Pretty noisy generally - unavoidable probably, given the proximity of the rooms and the entrance doors to each other. In the bathroom, rather small, with an impossible tap situation - you can't actually turn on the shower and mix the water without stepping into the shower and some people like to sort that out before they step in - too large a shower screen that doesn't move. Only one cake of soap. And no convenient towel rail (behind the door is fine if it's closed - but nowhere otherwise). The room service only operates when the restaurant is working, which is also annoying when one is staying at a hotel that is one of the Small Luxury Hotel chain. This really could be so great but it needs some real thought to all the smaller issues rather than its biggest selling point which is basically the view. As always, it's the attention to detail that distinguishes one high end establishment from another. An overall rating has to be Very Good, because it's not average. However, if there was a good - (why isn't there by the way??) that's what it would be.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zaubie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    129
    45
    36
    23
See reviews for
60
302
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2010

We chose to stay at Echoes after our last visit to the Mountains 12 months ago and really happy we made the choice. The hotel was charming and welcoming and the staff quietly attentive. What we were really impressed with was the setting of this hotel..you couldnt ask for better spot in the Mountains for views!! The hotel has only 3 floors and all the rooms backout to the Jamison Valley and each having its own aspect of the valley below. We had a lower garden terrace room which walks out to the pretty landscaped garden and the views are really breathtaking. As for the room size, its standard but we liked the large glass door and windows which brings the outside in. The decor was elegant and not fussy and the heated floors are great when the average temperature was 2-3 degrees.

The restaurant was very busy for the long weekend but still manages to have decent level of service without pushing its guests out the door, something that would happen in a fine dining restaurant in Sydney. The food was fabulous, regional in flavour and indulgent in calories.. served in perfect proportions. We didnt expect much from a restaurant in the Mountains but were really surprised with the overall service and food quality of Echoes.

Other than having to find our car park being taken by a restaurant diner when we returned from our afternoon expeditions we had no complaints. Staff did try their best to move cars for us and were very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 255060Happytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

My partner and I recently stayed at Echoes for a long weekend. The view from our room was fantastic and without doubt probably one of the best views you are going to find in the Blue Mountains. We had dinner in the restaraunt on the Saturday night and the food was lovely however that's unfortunately where the compliments for Echoes end.
I have stayed in a number of 5 star hotels/resorts all over the world and Echoes doesn't come close to comparing to any of them and is ridicuoously overpriced for what it is. The rooms are very small and our shower/bath leaked so there was a constant puddle of water on the bathroom floor. The beds were very hard and there was an obvious lump in the middle of the bed where it was clear that two single beds and been pushed together. The service, whilst polite was not what I would expect from a 5 star hotel and we came away completely underwhelmed.
We walked through Lillianfels one afternoon and I wish we had of chosen to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happy0277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2010

The rooms are cosy and spacious, the service is friendly, the views spectacular! We had a very good 2 night stay here and will be back!

Additionally we dined in the restaurant on our first night stay, and we have to recommend the duck as it was delicious!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bronkaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2010

This hotel has the most astounding view and is located right on the national park, the park starts at the end of the lovely garden. Our room was not massive but beautifully decorated and for one night it was all we wanted. It also had a massive bath and great shower. To watch the sun set and wake up with the sun rising over the valley was spectacular. We stayed here on a walk in basis and was offered a standby rate for the room. At that rate we were very pleased and the breakfast was great. The room service menu was exactly as for the restaurant which was a bit disappointing as we just wanted a light meal. Otherwise no complaints at all, with the view and the quiet I would not stay anywhere else in Katoomba, that said, it is a quiet location and I would not take the kids as no pool/other common areas etc.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZaraOtter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Here's the thing about this property: if it weren't exactly next door to Lilianfels, it would be just fine. It has the exact same views & location. It common area has a charming decor & our room was spacious enough. However, the bathroom was tiny (except for the huge jacuzzi tub/shower that looked both old & dirty). The restaurant food was nothing special w very slow & impersonal service. The hotel doesn't really have any "grounds" to enjoy either. We went over to Lilianfels for lunch & were kicking ourselves the rest of the trip for not staying there. So, if Lilianfels is booked or out of your budget, Echoes is fine enough but do not expect a luxury stay. You've been warned!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AirMilesLuvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

This hotel was exactly as I'd hoped. Comfortable yet classic style bedroom, with a terrace opening up to a beautifully planted garden over looking the entire vista of the Blue Mountains. The weather was not good, but still it was peaceful and serene. The views melted the heart. The hotel as small but cosy. The staff were gracious and friendly. The food was superb. All terribly expensive but well worth a night of indulgence. Would definitely go again. My teenage children also thought it was awe-inspiring.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Noels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
1.2 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
6.4 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
0.7 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
6.3 mi away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Blackheath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 3 Lilianfels Ave | Echo Point, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant is perched at the very edge of the Jamison Valley at Echo Point in the Blue Mountains. Our unique location offers stunning and uninterrupted panoramas of the National Park from every room, providing all our guests with ever-changing but always dramatic and breathtaking views. All this and only 90 minutes from Sydney!Our unique location offers stunning panoramas from every room, providing our guests with the most breathtaking views of mountains, cliff edges and lush rainforest valleys. Blue Mountains' most stunning icon 'Echoes' unveils itself on the very edge of the Jamison Valley with views right through to Mittagong, 80 kilometres away.Relaxation and recreation takes on whole new meaning at Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant. Rejuvenate with a brisk hike through the Jamison Valley or find peace and serenity with a pampering spa treatment in our private sauna and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Echoes Boutique Hotel And Restaurant
Hotel Echoes Boutique
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing