We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish to god I had read the reviews first, terrible!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2011

We had the misfortune of staying at this so called "Small luxury hotel of the World" last week. How in god's name they got into the guide I cannot imagine........can you simply pay your way in? The website photos are very misleading. Our poky room had very little to endear it save the view. The bathroom was dirty, there was hair in the bath and broken tiles beneath the cabinet. The bath itself was obviously old as were the tiles which had simply been painted over rather than replaced (they were peeling!) Mercifully I had not booked the dinner package and we were able to escape to Lillianfels for dinner...if only I had booked a room there too.
Under no circumstances could this be considered a 5 star hotel and neither can it warrant the $400 per night price tag, it is simply rubbish.....be warned!

Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
9  Thank jbazs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2011

I brought my girlfriend to show off the Blue Mountains and decided to stay at Echoes Boutique Hotel. It was just what we both needed. A lovely spot, friendly service, wonderful regional food and fantastic views from our bedside.

The overnight stay was far too short as we really wanted to stay indoors most of the time to soak in the views. Echoes is cute and cosy with all the trimmings of a boutique property. Did not have time to explore all the attractions of the mountains but got a good idea from our balcony overlooking the valley. The breakfast service was simple yet lovely and the dinner was outstanding. Overall a very relaxing and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary542010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

Boutique, yes, with 14 rooms, all with beautiful views across the valley. Very friendly and helpful staff but ***** and value for money, sadly no. Echoes misses out on the small aspects that turn an OK experience into a great one; no bath robes, instant coffee packets in the room rather than a plunger, packets of jam at breakfast rather than locally sourced produce. And surprised to be charged $25 for the Continental Breakfast - plentiful though it was but not worth the price - as nowhere on the website could I find any mention of a charge. The restaurant has an interesting, but limited, fixed price menu, but as with the hotel it just didn't meet expectations.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vunapau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

No matter how you look at it. It is not a $400-$600 per night hotel. Not $350, not $300 maybe $280 but you have to be lucky enough and hope the weather is nice and sky is clear, because all you paying for is the view. If not, go to next door, not Lilianfels but 3 sisters motel.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bomberseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2010

Echoes was always going to have a lot to live up to. My husband and I first experienced a "Small Luxury Hotel of the World" on our honeymoon when we stayed at the Racha in Thailand. The Racha had all the extra little touches you expect of a five star, "luxury" hotel - chocolates on your pillow, infinity pool, plush bathrobes......Echoes, though perfectly lovely in every way, just misses on that luxury experience that you expect from a SLH hotel.

Our room, "Patterson" was lovely with stunning views over the valley. The bathroom was a bit tired and would have been more in line with expectations with a spa bath rather than a regular bath/shower in one. Some of the reviews suggested the rooms were a bit small, but we found our room to be adequate. The room missed some of those "extras" which make you feel like you are in a $500 per night (we got the 2 night dinner package) hotel - there were no robes, the mini bar was not stocked and we couldnt get the air-temp right. Breakfast (included in the package) was a simple continental buffet with no hot food included (bacon & eggs were charged at an extra $25pp).

The service was friendly enough, but lacked detail and staff did not volunteer information about the resort- initially dissapointed by our host's advice that there was no pool or spa, it took us some time and a bit of prodding to establish that the facilities at Lillianfels (just across the road) were available for our use.

The restraunt was a dissapointment. While the food was "good", it was not what you would expect from a hotel that prides itself on its restraunt. That said, the views were stunning and a sense of relaxation really does outway the poor service and "good" food.

All in all, Echoes is a lovely hotel and we had a lovely relaxing time - however it does fall short of expectations for what is billed as a "luxury" resort. Next time, we will just stay at Lillienfells!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D0TI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2010

We recently had the displeasure of staying at this hotel. As is often the case, the front foyer and reception area is all very well presented with quaint landscaped front gardens. This is not a boutique hotel, certainly not in comparison to the many boutique hotels that we have stayed at in Australia, New Zealand, USA, South Africa, France and UK. The only good experience about this 3 star hotel is the spectacular views from the room and balcony. The rooms are small with dated soft furnishings, furniture and linen. Pillows were literally as flat as pancakes - I suppose you can always use the scatter cushions. Our room had 3 mature spiders and a mass of cobwebs on the cornices, ceiling and curtains directly above the door leading to the balcony and to the left of the bed. When I contacted Reception, the only staff at hand to assist guests, she was very apologetic and then appeared with the chef who ludicrously attempted to remove the spiders with a pair of stainless steel tongs - of course it failed and the chef later returned with a can of surface spray. The housekeeping is definately shoddy. If you are looking for a night's sleep, let alone a good night's sleep, you can forget it. The exterior balcony lights are left on ALL NIGHT until 4.15am - so we had very little if no sleep at all. The room was lit like broad daylight with some shades down - the lights glared through the entire top section of the glass windows of the room as there were no curtains to block out this section of the glass windows. When I contacted Reception at around midnight, there was no answer or recorded message for After Hours emergency contact. What a nightmare. When my partner spoke to Reception regarding the matter, she said that it was not possible to separately switch off the exterior balcony lighting of the hotel's rooms. This also meant that if you would like to sit outside in the evening and enjoy the views, well you can forget that too, because the amount of flying insects that swarm the place prevents you from doing so. Reception claimed that the hotel would provide us with some sort compensation for no night's sleep, but of course, that did not eventuate. The hotel did transfer us to the other boutique hotel owned by the same company, Lilianfels, but that's another story.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelBug007A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

I have recently stayed at Echoes for a corporate function there. What a delightful little venue that is as much attentive as it is beautiful. Small, personal and the perfect getaway from the humdrum of the city venues...The food, service and accommodation was of high standard – staff were well trained and welcoming.

Could not fault the location either – it’s located at the end of a Katoomba road (very ordinary town) but once inside, its another world out there. Mist filled valleys, dramatic cliff drops and sounds of wildlife can be enjoyed from the restaurant terrace. The rooms were elegant, tastefully decorated and not too small -everything functions except my TV remote which I was promptly advised that the original has gone missing ..this was the only inconvenience found at the end of a long day.

Echoes really has a fabulous setting and a warm welcoming ambience. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will definitely return with my partner.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPhe35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
1.1 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
991 reviews
4 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
6.4 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
600 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palais Royale Boutique Hotel
6.3 mi away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Blackheath
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 3 Lilianfels Ave | Echo Point, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range: £176 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant is perched at the very edge of the Jamison Valley at Echo Point in the Blue Mountains. Our unique location offers stunning and uninterrupted panoramas of the National Park from every room, providing all our guests with ever-changing but always dramatic and breathtaking views. All this and only 90 minutes from Sydney!Our unique location offers stunning panoramas from every room, providing our guests with the most breathtaking views of mountains, cliff edges and lush rainforest valleys. Blue Mountains' most stunning icon 'Echoes' unveils itself on the very edge of the Jamison Valley with views right through to Mittagong, 80 kilometres away.Relaxation and recreation takes on whole new meaning at Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant. Rejuvenate with a brisk hike through the Jamison Valley or find peace and serenity with a pampering spa treatment in our private sauna and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Echoes Boutique Hotel And Restaurant
Hotel Echoes Boutique
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing