We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Echo Point Village
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Katoomba Town Centre(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$74
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Carrington Hotel(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
US$171
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
US$129
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
3 Explorers Motel(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$92
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sky Rider Motor Inn(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Motor Inn(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
US$103
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$246
US$228
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$277
US$264
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Mountains Heritage Motel(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$74
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
177
51
10
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
51
10
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentral heatingthree sistersecho pointgreat locationbedroom villablue viewwashing machine and dryerfull kitchensisters lookoutself containedshort drivescenic worlda great place to stayviews of the mountainsgreat facilitiestown centrestayed for nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 238 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2013

It is perfectly located, just one block away from Echo Point with its iconic views of the Three Sisters and cliff walks. The cottage is spacious and fun and very clean. We stayed for 5 nights. There are three bedrooms, two bathrooms, a sun-room, dining room and a very comfy lounge room in addition to the well appointed kitchen. There are some nice touches - a super-sized Flat screen TV in the lounge room and a 2nd TV with DVD player in the sunroom They have also supplied some DVDs with a good range of choice. Even some interesting books to read and board games!


The owners, Ross & Kerry were very helpful. They provided us with brochures of the local area and tips on what to visit and where to eat. Ross even gave us a discount coupon for one restaurant!


You're 3 minutes walk from the Three Sisters, 5 minutes drive from Scenic World and around an hour from Jenolan Caves. 

You're only a short drive from supermarkets and the kitchen easily holds your shopping for a few days' stay, but there are also plenty of good places to eat.


We would book this accommodation again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lawrence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We had a few days to spend as a family when I was between jobs, so we decided to head up to the Blue Mountains, Luckily, even though it was in the school holidays, we snaffled a few days in the Forster Cottage.

It is perfectly located, just one block away from Echo Point. The cottage is spacious and was just right for our family of 5. As we stayed for 3 nights, we were able to let the kids rotate through the beds - it's always cool to be in the double bed! There are two bathrooms, a sun-room, dining room and a very comfy lounge room in addition to the well appointed kitchen and bedrooms. There are some nice touches - a small TV with DVD player in the sunroom which meant the kids could watch something while we were in the lounge room. It was on wheels too so it could be moved into the kids bedroom. They have also supplied some DVDs with a good range of choice for kids and adults alike.

Most people know that Katoomba is pretty cold at night even in spring, and the whole cottage has ducted air conditioning on a thermostat so you are protected from the cold. The cottage has off-street parking which is important as the streets are all metered pay parking.

You're 5 minutes walk from the Three Sisters, 5 minutes drive from Scenic World (get there early to beat the tourist buses and to get an earlybird rate, on weekdays at least), and around an hour from Jenolan Caves (again, get there early and book online in busy periods).

Everything went very efficiently, Ross even took the bins out (but knocked on the door to let us know so we would not freak out at a stranger in the back yard).

You're only a short drive from supermarkets and the kitchen easily holds your shopping for three days' stay, but there are also plenty of good places to eat. Just make sure you check early in the week as some places do close for a night or two. We suggest you look at Leura as it has a great range of food.

My only minor feedback in what was a very good stay is that the signs saying what you can not do in the unit are incongruous with the otherwise relaxed atmosphere of the place. I understand that it must be frustrating for owners when people don't respect the place, but when people are disrespectful of the owners they probably won't pay heed to signs anyway, and for people like us who believe you leave it how you found it, we don't need signs.

This is a very good place to stay, the owners are discreet but make sure the place is lickety split, and as I noted you have comfy warm accommodation in a perfect location.

One last suggestion - even if you are sometimes slugs at home (maybe I am sometimes), get out and try at least one walk. The tracks in the Mountains are excellent and they are generally graded so you understand the time and difficulty. We did the Wentworth Falls walk with kids 8-12, and although it was challenging we all loved it. The kids want to do more walking in the future, which can't be a bad thing.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

As other reviews and the promotion material suggest, this accommodation is very, very close to the iconic and spectacularThree sisters and all the walks nearby.
The accommodation is not sleek and modern but is, nevertheless, spotlessly clean and comfortable with everything necessary to self cater. It is near enough to Katoomba for shopping or eating out.
We had been concerned about the fires and saw plenty of evidence of their results on our journey, but the area around Katoomba and Leura was unaffected at the time of our visit in early November and we were very glad that we had not cancelled our visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Visitor73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This was our first time staying at Echo Point Holiday Villas for a week's escape to the Blue Mountains as a family. The Villas allowed us to quickly head out each day for a walk, often leaving the car in the under cover park and enjoying the many walking trails that start at the 3 Sisters. We could come back to take a shower and relax before deciding what we would do for the afternoon/evening.

One of the great advantages of booking a Villas is the choices available on your holiday. You have the ability to save $ by cooking and eating in the Villa or deciding to try one of the many choices to eat in or have take-away at Katoomba or nearby Leura. We took advantage of the washing machine and outdoor washing line (there is also an inside dryer) and we could have also used their BBQ area outside if you prefer to cook outside. Having 2 separate bedrooms and a lounge gave us the ability to spread out when some alone time is needed (much appreciated when you have two teenagers). They also loved the free Wifi and TV with DVD player - we loved using the tourist materials left in the Villa to help plan our next walk or area to explore in the Blue Mountains.

Ross & Kerry are offering accommodation that suits the requirements and budgets of many travellers - it is clean and offers many features you expect of a Villa. They have made the process of booking, arranging payment and access to the key very easy. The mobile phone reception for my provider (Optus) was not great inside the Villa but there is a pay phone (remember those) on the street outside the Villa and this allowed me to ring anyone I needed without the hassle of having the phone drop out.

The Blue Mountains are such a vast and wonderful place to explore, you come away feeling re-energised. We were fortunate to visit before the fires broke out. Whilst it is important to stay at this terrible time of fire danger this will eventually pass (hopefully very soon). Once it is safe to return please support the local tourist industry so the communities in the Blue Mountains can recover as quickly as possible.

Room Tip: Whilst the Villas at the front may have a partial view of the mountains we stayed at the back and I think this may be quieter during tourist hours. We did not hear them once inside but it is so close to the 3 sisters that the road outside is full of buses during business hours - felt great to be able to head inside the Villa and not back on a bus.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MargaretFNov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSSKatommbaNSW, Owner at Echo Point Village, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Hello Margaret
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the villas.
We have been unaffected by the bush fires they were 24 Km to the west of us 25 Km to the east of us both fires were to the north The Jamison valley is untouched were the Three Sisters are and all of the surrounding areas.
The only smoke we had was on Tuesday night 22/10/13 we have been open for business all week.
Regards
Ross Smith (owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed in one of the villas for a week. I was just the right distance for a walk into town for eating at night. As a matter of fact we didn't need to use the car at all during our stay. The villas are very comfortable and when the weather turned cold and windy the central heating kept the place very cosy. It was wonderful to be able to view the three sisters at night after all of the buses had left. The king size bed was also a nice bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nestlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews