We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great elegant, colonial hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Carrington Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2011

Stylish and historic hotel, I stayed in a colonial room which was large and comfortable. My only complaint would be that the bar closed quite early and there was no room service but next time I'll be more organised and take a bottle of wine with me!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Razor_ray26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,010)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

928 - 934 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2011

Summary:
I love old world as much as the next person but the Carrington just doesn't have it. I tried really hard to like it but I can't. It's old and crappy and somewhat overpriced.

Location: The Carrington has a great location, close toball the good restaurants of Katoomba

Staff: The staff showed a polite interest, but nothin' spesh here

Food: The tariff included a cont breakfast which was very well done, it included all the regulars and a superb Bircher Muesli

Room: I had an ensuite room which was ok, the bathroom was a shocker though, not good enough given the tariff.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Groeneveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We stayed in a Premier non view spa room for one night. The room was small but clean and comfortable with a large bathroom. The furnitures were lovely but there was a cheap standing fan in the room which was a bit out of place (it was a pretty cold day). A few signs of lack of loving care around the hotel, including the poorly organised guest compendium, metal wires on top of the grand hotel building and the rows of function chairs laying around not being stored away.
The Dinning Room was delightful - beautiful room, good services and excellent food.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wmrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

I recently visited the Carrington for a family celebration and experienced their high tea, which they serve on Sunday afternoons in their grand old dining room (I did not stay there). The meal was lovely and the experience something which I really enjoyed - they served 3 tiers of food, one tier including homemade scones and savoury pastries, the second some rolls with cold meats and salad, and the top tier some mini desserts. There is a large range of teas to pick from, or coffee (which was also lovely, and certainly not the experience the reviewer below has mentioned). The staff were more than helpful and went out of their way to serve you and make the experience very enjoyable. The high tea is served in their dining room which has been restored and has the "old world' charm of an early 1900s hotel, and is an experience in itself. I would definitely visit here again for a special occasion and would recommend the Sunday afternoon high tea to others.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

We only visited for coffee this morning but based on that I would not be handing over any more money to this dinosaur. The "lounge" was a nice enough room however every one of of the sofas was threadbare, the room smelt like a hospital with the overriding smell of dettol wafting throughout the place. Then four coffees arrived. Imagine baby vomit with some coffee flavor drops in it? Well that would be better than the foul flavored stuff we were given. If a hotel can't even serve basic decent coffee what hope does it have. Who ever owns / runs this place should be ashamed of letting the building and it contents get into such a state of disarray.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Willjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Wonderfully central position a short walk from the station, right in the middle of the main street of Katoomba. Lots of public areas with open fireplaces including a lounge, a billiard room (with a full-size table), a library, a comfortable bar and a grand old restaurant.

It wasn't that many years ago that this beautiful old hotel fell into total disrepair and closed. New owners have returned it to a beautiful hotel. They've kept many of the original features (lights, gorgeous stained glass, amazing ceilings and detailed painting, even some original bathroom sinks!) and have kept its character. I stayed in the 'traditional' rooms that have share bathrooms but there are plenty of suites, as well as regular rooms with ensuites.

Food was better than average and the cost of food and drinks was about average. The staff were lovely - very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

Don't expect modern, 5 star accommodation - after all, it is an historic hotel with a 'guesthouse' flavour. Everything where I stayed was spotless and all the modern conveniences were in every room. I'll stay there again, just for the atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy12343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Friends persuaded us to book a Traditional Room without bathroom (several down the hall) as they had done so recently and were pleased with it. Despite thinking we had rocks in our heads for doing so, we went ahead with it - it was only $99 a night including breakfast (which was good). However, on arrival we were immediately upgraded to a Colonial Room and I must say I could have kissed the man at Reception. The room and and our own bathroom were both very comfortable. The whole stay was delightful and relaxing - just what we were looking for. One evening the Manager opened up the Grand Ballroom and Main Dining Room (which were closed on that night - early week) so we could have a look. Much appreciated. We also had an excellent meal in their Brasserie.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sidneyxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.3 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
605 reviews
1.1 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palais Royale Boutique Hotel
5.4 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
1.1 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carrington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carrington Hotel

Address: 15 - 47 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range: £72 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Carrington Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Carrington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carrington Hotel Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing