We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Carrington Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
3 Sisters Motel(Katoomba)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,041)
Filter reviews
1,041 results
Traveller rating
438
391
125
47
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
438
391
125
47
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe grand dining roomold world charmgrand old hotelblue mountainscocktail barbalcony roomstained glassstep back in timeshared bathroomold damebygone eracontinental breakfastart decothe main streetfirst floorbeautiful hoteldevonshire tea
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
908 - 913 of 1,041 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We have known the Carrinrton for some time and seen its transformation from wreck to icon. So, this time we visited Katoomba we decided to take a chance on a 'heritage' room, one with shared bathroom.

It turned out well. We had the advantage of the splendid public rooms and excellent breakfast in the 'Gran Dining Room' at a reasonable price. The room was pleasantly furnished in keeping with the period, of adequate size with a comfortable bed and enough storage.The draw back, well the bathrooms were a bit too authentic, but they had some charming period details. However the showers were excellent and there was no queuing as there are five toilets, two baths and three showers on the ladies' side between ten rooms.

I would recommend this as a way of enjoying some Victorian splendour at a reasonable cost as long as you don't expect 21st century plumbing.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fenflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We'd had the pleasure of dining at the Carrington Main house dining room for High Tea about 6 years ago - it was our first High Tea experience so we didn't quite know what to expect. What we got was an elegant dining experience, complete with crisp linen, delicious sparkling wine and beautiful food. A bit pricey and I wasn't exactly full when we left but a lovely treat and definitely not something you would do regularly. 

Fast forward six years and we ended up there for dinner on Friday night, along with 8 other friends. 

The food was very good and beautifully presented, front-of-house service exceptional and atmosphere lovely, complete with a piano player. The waiter was knowledgable about the menu, the water glasses always topped up promptly and he happily brought more bread to the table when we asked. 

The Prawn block was my choice for entree and while the name of the dish leaves something to be desired, the dish itself was fantastic. Perfectly cooked, the very fresh prawns were plump and juicy and  well matched by the accompanying items. 

The eye fillet beef was tender and a perfectly cooked Medium, as requested. When you can cut the beef with a butter knife, you know you're in for a treat. The potato croquettes were perfectly crunchy and fluffy at the same time and the whole, roasted cloves of garlic were as sweet and delicious as you'd expect and a beautiful flavor explosion to accompany the tender meat. 

Because we were in a group of ten, there was a limited choice menu, which is absolutely understandable, but I'd question the choices that were offered as dessert. Trio of Sorbet, Cheese Platter and a fancy chocolate cake just didn't cut if for me, especially since the other dessert options that were on the regular menu were much more appealing, as evidenced by the fact that only 3 of the 10 in our group had dessert - we all dine out regularly together and are prolific consumers of dessert.  

The only issues I had with the service was that the kitchen was slow to get the meals out - we counted a total of 20 people in the restaurant, including our table of ten and we still waited a dis-proportionate amount of time for the mains to come out, so much so that I was getting hungry again after the entrees. The other disappointment was that even though salad and vegetable sides were mentioned on the menu as side dishes, none appeared on the table. 

At $42 for two courses, including bread and sides (apparently) I thought it was good value, especially when you factor in the quality of the food and the excellent service and atmosphere. 

We'll be back for sure. 

Happy dining! 

PS - We didn't stay in the hotel, only dined in the dining room

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lincavitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Many many years ago I stayed at the Carrington. At the time the poor old girl had had her day. Crumbling and neglected but what a joy to see the attention to detail in the restoration. We were also lucky enough to get an upgraded room and had a lovely room. The hotel has a warm ambience and the staff were friendly and really helpful , except for the night man who was obviously peed off he had to come and open the door for us (it was before midnight and the front door locked), No friendly welcome from him....The breakfast was good and we were lucky enough to be there the weekend of the Wines of the West festival - much fun to be had and many delicious wines to sample. Will definitely do it again next year.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hell-lish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We were excited about staying in a hertiage listed property and the website led us to belive it would be an exicting experince. We had paid for a delux room - we were placed in the furthest corner of the hotel with a wonderful view of a vacant block. We found the room very well restored and wondefully hertiage, however the bathroom had an unrestored 1930s feel to it right down to the rust stains in the bath - we decined to try and shower or bath during our stay... luckily the weather wasnt too hot! The staff were semi enthuiastic, but when repair works shut the televison down when the aerial was damaged they became frustrated when we simply enquired about the timeframe to have some entertainment back on. We had one drink at the hertiage bar, however one was the limit due to the cost. Unfortunately as it was Melbourne Cup eve the main dining room (one reason for visiting) was closed and we missed out... perhaps the Carrington Hotel missed out too as we arent really inclined to return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jandk_95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

People say that in bygone years the racy set of Sydney would come here for an illicit tryst. It still has a sense of decadence about it, prominent in the Norman Lindsay prints but alas the elegance is rather faded. The grand old hotel seems a little out of place in somewhat down at heel Katoomba now, and the locals who frequent it look like extras from a scene from Dr Zhivago after the revolution. Still its worth a visit if you want to experience some old world charm in the mountains. Be prepared to experience the old world charm of communal bathrooms if you stay in a traditional room. These rooms are at the back of the hotel and have the advantage of being set well back from the downstairs common areas which can get a bit noisy.

Room Tip: If you plan to do some walking in the mountains ask the staff to prepare you a packed lunch. It saves time and the lunches are tasty and well packed.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank driverrolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews