We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old worldly charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Carrington Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Old worldly charm”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

It is like stepping back 100 years in time coming to this old hotel - and loving it! You can feel the history as you walk in. Just coming to Katoomba feels like you are stepping back 20 years. We opted for one of the suites, which consisted of a main bedroom with 4 poster bed, which was double, but could have been a queen or king, given the size of the room. A large lounge area and a bathroom with the bath tub that was apparenetly used by the queen mother on her visit in 1927. The suite was very spacious and had that elegant old charm to it, with good access to the front veranda. The restaurant also offers that old worldly charm, but lacks a little in creative dishes and variaty for all tastes. Well worthwhile though.

Overall a great relaxing weekend destination to unwind.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueferrari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    362
    111
    45
    37
See reviews for
183
487
35
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Central Coast
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend away with the kids, as a thankyou present from a colleague I had helped out of a jam. We were lucky enough that it was snowing when we arrived which was rather out of character for October!

The snow meant that the room we were booked into had its own inside waterfall, so we ended up in a nice king room! The rooms were HUGE! - king bed, single bed, and more than enough room to put up bub's P&T camping cot and still have lots of room for Miss 3 to run around! The only issue we had with the room was that there was no view out the window. Honestly I couldn't care less if I was looking out the window into a concrete nightmare, so long as I have that long-view sightline to relax my eyes every now and then!

The staff were mega helpful, despite being crazily busy with all the late checkins on the Friday afternoon after the highway was re-opened after the snow! There were thee problems which would be nice if they could address at some stage:

1) The lift is stupendously old. I know that's part of the 'charm' of the place, and they've retrofitted it with an automatic mechanism, but the manually-opening door is quite hard to open and an epic pain in the patootie while trying to make five trips up and down to carry bags to our room. Which leads into

2) There are two ways into the Carrington - one from the undercover carpark at the right of the main entrance (which is not signed, so you don't know about it unless someone tells you) which takes you through a very narrow maze of a path - and one from the front which takes you up two flights of stairs, and through two rather hard to open doors. Both of those mean that you can't simply borrow a luggage trolley, and cart all your belongings up to your room in one go - it took us five trips to lug all our bags in (isn't travelling with kids fun? :-p ).

3) Parking was quite a problem! Part of the carpark was fenced off for building works (hopefully a bigger carpark?), but I ended up double-parked twice that weekend!

But don't let that put you off! The hotel is BEAUTIFUL! Very old-world, so everything is large and spacious, you could drive a car down any corridor (It was a pretty long walk to our room - golf carts would be a welcome addition, lol!), and ceilings were up in the 12 feet range!

The buffet breakfast was really nice, and being able to alternatively order something special (I'm rather partial to eggs benedict done with smoked salmon!) was a pleasant surprise! Although I'm not sure that the older folks having breakfast were overly thrilled with Miss 3's running commentary of Mr 7-month's eating habits. I noticed we were the only family having breakfast!

I think we'll definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRealRendrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

If you want to step back in time and relax then this is the place. It is like entering a by gone era. It is centrally located in Katoomba. Breakfast is first rate. It is hotel style with no microwave or cooking facilities if that is what you are after. However the living areas available are wonderful. The hotel is not designed for one to stay in the hotel room and why would you want to when you stay here. A couple of drawbacks- like wifi is not free. It is worth it particularly if you get a cheap rate through wotif or an intenet site. I would not recommend it at full rate howeve unless you specifically want to enjoy its old world charm. Great and cheap restaurants across the road.

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

The website photos looked just great it was a pity that the reality is not the same as the website The place defenitley need upgrade and the rate are too high for that quality of accommodation not recommended

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gerrysroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Let me start by saying, there was nothing "Wrong" with this hotel. It has a lot of character and charm and is very unique compared to many of the big chains and generic hotels that you get in large cities. Katoomba overall is very "old world" and this hotel fits the bill. Everything was nice, but we went over the October Long Weekend and paid $250 per night-- about $100 more than what I would say it was worth. Again, there's nothing bad about the hotel or wrong with it, it just wasn't worth what we paid!

Room Tip: The room we were in (17), is one of the Colonial rooms- it has no view and doesn't even have win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephzuniga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed in the Lord Carrington Suite for our anniversary. It is almost as large as an apartment. There is a nice balcony shared with all the other rooms in the front of the hotel. Although the hotel is old, it is well kept and very elegant.

Room Tip: Get a room in front, overlooking the Blue Mountains, the town, and in the very far distance, Sydney.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTheRoadTucsonAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a 3-day "baby moon" at the Carrington. We enjoyed an indulgence package that included sparkling wine on arrival, a couples massage (which was wonderful - a HUGE thank you to Roz the massuer!) and a spa room. The hotel is in wonderful condition - it is like stepping back in time! We loved sitting around reading (incl complimentary newspapers) in the lounge areas and really liked the complimentary breakfast (continental only - you can pay $12 extra for a cooked breakfast though - not that you need it as the spread has everything you could want).

We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JempolSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.3 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
579 reviews
5.4 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
0.4 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
1.1 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carrington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carrington Hotel

Property: The Carrington Hotel
Address: 15 - 47 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Family Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Carrington Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Carrington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carrington Hotel Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing