We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good.... but could be so much better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Carrington Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good.... but could be so much better”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We visited the Carrington with extended family for a one night treat. The public areas and areas reserved for guest are very nice and look the part. The lounge, dining room, library, games room and bar area are all impressive and in the period. The billiards and pool table are good fun. The service is quick and friendly and the breakfast was nice.

But once you look past these impressive large rooms and scratch beneath the surface then things start to go wrong. We were in the colonial rooms and were expecting big things but unfortunately areas of our rooms were covered in thick dust. The joining door with the other room was filthy on the ledges and next to the fridge was thick with dust. The bathroom had mold in the majority of the grout and someone seems to have forgotten to give the final coat of paint to the inside of the bathroom door, a pretty shabby looking bathroom. The window sills seemed to be a bit rotten also.

The cleanliness / standard of the rooms was a let down but didn't spoil our stay, just a bit disappointed as for the money you expect a bit better. Makes you wonder if house keeping / hotel management check the standard of room cleaning here. It is attention to detail you expect in a hotel such as this and this is not being met judging by the room we stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seayork2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    362
    111
    45
    37
See reviews for
183
487
35
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Katoomba is a wonderful spot, and the Hotel Carrington is a fantastic place to stay. The Queen stayed here in the 1950s, and the languid opulence of an older hotel is all over this place. High ceilings, beautiful woodwork, stained glass windows, and rambling hallways all make for a grand experience. The food was excellent and the location can't be beat - right in the heart of Katoomba and not far from the Three Sisters. This is an excellent getaway spot or base for a Blue Mountain adventure.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Stayed at the Carrington with my young family. The Carrington is located in the middle of Katoomba and within walking distance from the three sisters.

The stuff is nice and professional but overall experience does not lived up to our expectations after visiting the hotel's website.

The bathroom of our hotel room was really, really old. The plastic mat in the bath had black marks from humidity, etc.

We arranged some treatments in the Spa and the prices were at five star level but the treatment fell short from a technical point of view (the pedicure did not even include cutting the foot nails).

There was a mismatch between what we paid and what we got bot in terms of accommodation and spa services. Not sure what better is around tough in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoachimZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Loved it..lovely ambience.Would recommend staying here..the hotel has been refurbished beautifully..you felt like you were stepping back in time..high tea was fabulous..only negative was the bed was really hard...it was a huge bed.the biggest king size i have ever see but was like sleeping on concrete....would definitely stay again..

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012 via mobile

Checked into a suite for a weekend stay with my husband. Was blown away when we walked into the room to find it really hot and no air conditioning switch in sight. I went down to reception to say that there must be something wrong for me to be told the whole hotel is not air conditioned. For the price we were paying it seemed bizzare that this grand hotel hadn't come completely into the 21st century. We checked straight out and went to Lillianfels which was amazing.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Tomson88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We stayed at the Carrington for one night as our friends were married in the hotel's gardens. The hotel is stunning and the rooms are charming, clean and functional. The meals served at the venue were delicious and all of the staff were friendly and helpful. I would recommend staying at this hotel if you are planning a trip to Katoomba and The Blue Mountains.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mishellbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

A beautiful old hotel which must have been wonderful in its hey day. The rooms were not all standard but all had their own charm. The old charactaristics had been kept but with modern comforts. Situated in the centre of the town it was very well placed for both restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.3 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
579 reviews
5.4 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
0.4 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
1.1 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carrington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carrington Hotel

Property: The Carrington Hotel
Address: 15 - 47 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Family Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Carrington Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your The Carrington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carrington Hotel Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing