We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world Hotel Carrington”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Carrington Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Old world Hotel Carrington”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

This hotel in the Blue Mountains of New South Wales of Australia was built in 1880. We enjoyed our stay in a hotel which is dubbed as second only to Raffles of Singapore. The Carrington is in the Classic Victorian style but has been modernised to a very high standard and yet maintains the Victorian ambiance with dark polished woods and high ceilings c/w full A/C. Our room was spacious and had a Victorian bath and separate shower all with modern plumbing. The effect was a very clever and effective mix which gave it a feel of being in 1880 in a hotel that had just been built. The staff were courteous and helpful. The breakfast was plentiful and tasty buffet style. Diners were seated around large tables in groups of 6 or 8. Two negatives: from our coach we had to carry our luggage up about20 steps into the hotel,then the tiny lift being heavily oversubscribed,I carried our cases up the staircase to the 1st floor. The hotel is central in Katoomba and we had an evening stroll through the town which had bars and restaurants aplenty. This hotel would be an ideal base to explore the Blue Mountains . A safari suit and pith helmet would not be out of place here.

Room Tip: Try and book a room at the front for a great view of the extensive entrance area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    339
    101
    44
    34
See reviews for
164
456
32
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Our company recently held a Corporate Function in the Grand Dining Room at The Carrington and it was simply amazing. The old world charm afforded by this venue makes for a truly unique experience.
From my initial contact with Maya and the team at The Carrington, right up to the actual event, I had the utmost professional and courteous service. All of our needs were met, all questions answered in a prompt manner and the event on the night ran smoothly without a hitch...no mean feat for an event of 75 people.
The room looked brilliant, the food was delicious, the wines on offer were lovely (the range suited all tastes) and the service was wonderful. The staff were friendly and very professional.
We had an awards presentation and The Carrington provided the data projector, screen and AV in our package, so that made organising the event that much simpler.
I highly recommend this venue for any event. I have been to and stayed at The Carrington in the past for a wedding and that was equally as superb. We had a number of staff stay for the evening in the Traditional Rooms and they were very happy with the room and the breakfast the next day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mishellbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We had a Colonial Room and stayed here for 1 night for wedding and were not super-impressed, it was nice but not altogether that special I thought. The rooms have no sound-proofing whatsoever so we were woken up and kept awake by the first guests up, so no sleep in. The hotel is very old and would need to spend a lot of money to maintain / renovate the rooms and furnishings to a modern standard which obviously they don't have (i.e. only 1 window would open, no view, no temperature control in room, bathroom old, sink not clean, furnishings very dated etc). I thought it was overpriced for what it was, although the room was very large with an extra single bed.

The food at the wedding was fantastic, unfortunately you couldn't say the same for the buffet breakfast-no hot food without paying extra, crap toast, croissants not cooked through, etc. I'd definitely breakfast elsewhere and would not stay here again-I think you can do better. Staff were generally very good though although they did not give us a wifi password nor mention our pre-agreed late checkout when we checked in, although it wasn't a problem to check out at 10:30am.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRSyd51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ft.lauderdale,florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

I REALLY loved staying here..the staff couldn't be any nicer..the rooms so lovely..the stained glass and furnishings fantastic..and the town so cute! A perfect place to stay..loved the history and elegance of this Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We loved the Carrington Hotel and stayed here for 2 nights during Feb 2014. Our room was good with a large shared balcony at the very front of the hotel. although the bathroom was rather tiny . I must admit that although I never visited other rooms I do suspect that some would not have been of the standard of the room we stayed in as judging from the outside much smaller windows they must have been rather dark often with views of the town and car park rather than the Blue Mountains themselves. I may be being unfair here as I never actually visited any other rooms and some of the photos posted make our room look rather small.

Our room although lovely would have benefited from a little extra TLC, bulb not working, flush temperamental and the like, however these were minor and we were very happy with our room.

Don’t expect a modern ‘state of the art’ room, this is a period hotel and for us that was its charm. At night when the mist came down it often reminded us of a scene from the film The Shining.

Breakfast was good but we were disappointed that the main restaurant was only open towards the end of each week, although there was a pub within the grounds which was a part of the hotel complex which offered good food in an upstairs restaurant.

Staff were very good here always helpful, providing local maps at reception when requested.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrconcerned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We indulged ourselves with a two night 'special' advertised on the Carrington's website.
We had a big bright and airy colonial room on the first floor. The bathroom was large and modern.
On delightful full bottle of bubbly was also a part of the deal as was a continental breakfast. The range of breads, fruits, yoghurts, nuts and cereal was impressive. Also loved the range of Twinning's tea. This old hotel is old world and has so much character. Just sitting in one of the many lounging areas and enjoying coffee and wine is very restful. There is lots to see and do for a few days. We will definitely return this winter to enjoy the open fires.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank downunder2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

The hotel and staff were great. The staff went beyond accomodating us. The breakfast was so yummy. The rooms were big and comfy. It was a shared bath but really not that bad. It was well worth the stay and so very, very clean. Katoomba is such a lovely little town and the Blue Mountains were spectacular. It's too bad it rained the second day we were there so we didn't get to see a lot.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.3 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
1.1 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
5.4 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
3.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
1.1 mi away
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carrington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carrington Hotel

Property: The Carrington Hotel
Address: 15 - 47 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Family Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Carrington Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Carrington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carrington Hotel Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing