We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back-to-the-Past”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Carrington Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Back-to-the-Past”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed in the Colonial room for two nights. Location is great, right beside the train station and a bus stop in front. Coles supermarket is next door at the Cultural Centre. The room is clean and the bed is comfortable. Breakfast was average without much variety. The Colonial room is located on the 1st floor and you'll need to take the stairs or lift. Even then it isn't a straight walk to the room. There will be 3-4 flight of stairs beside the lift and another 3-4 stairs down before we reach our room which is right at the end. However, there won't be any staff to help with your luggages. Imagine with two large luggages, two haversack and a pram. Overall, a good base to stay in Katoomba.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms near the lift if you are traveling with large luggages and with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhm82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    362
    111
    45
    37
See reviews for
183
487
35
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful old world hotel. Truly majestic and takes you back in time the moment you walk through its doors. Even comes with it's own amazing ghosts! Don't miss the chance to visit, stay or eat in this hotel. I held a company conference here with staff. Was a perfect setting.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank spot1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights, enjoyed the old style grandure and ambiance, our room had a king size bed, very comfortable. Room size acceptable but we were awfully disappointed with the bathroom facilities. Recently upgraded glass shower enclosure was poorly designed with hap hazard plumbing including a leaking shower fixture, the toilet cistern wrongly positioned with the seat unable to remain open, very annoying for the boys, at nearly $200 a night, it is not acceptable. We realize that a magnificent old style buildings need a surcharge for on going repairs /maintenance however bathrooms need to be functional and clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rover04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

There’s something about the Blue Mountains in the cooler months that always evokes a sense of nostalgia, relaxation and enjoyment for me.

Having spent countless weekends up there in a variety of guesthouses, cottages and hotels, I finally stayed in one of the oldest, grandest and most nostalgic establishments of them all – The Carrington Hotel.

The Carrington is perched on a hill at the top of Katoomba Street and is easily identified on approach by a tall (and rather industrial looking) brick stack. Such a construction might be incongruous with modern day hotel designs but you have to remember that The Carrington belongs to a different era - 1883 to be precise. Even a cursory review of the hotel’s history reveals an impressive resume including the claim that this hotel was second only to Raffles as the southern hemisphere’s premier tourist resort destination in the early 1900s.
Entering the reception via the main entrance stairway is an act akin to stepping back in time. The interior is heavily wood panelled, the carpets are rich and dark and the ambience is strikingly historic. From reception you either ascend a stairway to the guest rooms, or access a number of public areas including the lounge (with its sofas, leadlight windows and fireplace) the bar (with itsty lead-lighted sky dome), the ballroom (used for functions) or the main dining room.

The main dining room is impressive – dark wood, red velvet, side bureaus full of nostalgic artefacts and crystal. The meals are delightful and generous – the service is friendly and efficient. Studying the silverware, china and crystal makes me feel as though I’ve slipped through a worm hole and ended up back in time in a grand Victorian manor where ball gowns and tuxedos would have been “de rigueur”, pipe smoke mixing with the smell of wood burning in fireplaces to fend off the brisk winter cold. Its almost poetic.
There are many accommodation options but all offer a sense of history (ie. original “traditional”rooms with shared facilities) comfort (“Colonial” with bay windows and “Premier Spa” rooms with corner spas) and indulgence (the suites). We stayed in two suites (“The Carrington” and “The Joynton Smith” suite). Both were magnificent. The Joynton Smith contained a bedroom with four poster bed and antique wardrobes, a dining and lounge room with rolled arm sofas, occasional chairs and Tiffany lamps, as well as a fully tile bathroom with claw footed bath. Private access to a shared first floor balcony that ran the length of the entrance portico below on the ground floor. The experience was similar in the Lord Carrington, the premier suite, with two bedrooms, corner spa and wonderful views across Katoomba and the Jamison Valley.

The upper floors are purely accommodation. There were lots of hallways leading around corners, down different wings, every turn providing a vista with lead light windows, chaise lounges and wood balustrades. The Carrington is a beautiful hotel to just wander in. It houses a number of interesting curios and talking points. These include life size replicas of Laurel and Hardy in the main reception, lots of framed photos documenting the history of The Carrington and a quaint (and original) lift reminiscent of turn-of-the-century Europe.
Views from the upper floor rooms are commanding and take in both Katoomba and the Jamison Valley beyond. Watching the light and weather turn through these windows was a constant source of interest and delight. Later in the evening, as fog set in and the temperature plunged, the hotel, with its fireplaces, heavy drapes and plush carpets provided a warm, inviting, almost “cloistered” sense of comfort that was the perfect backdrop for a weekend getaway.
There’s lots to do in Katoomba, but staying at The Carrington is enough reason in itself to make the trip.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathurst, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have just returned home after spending a night in the Carrington, It is truly a
Magestic building with the most beautiful features that have been lovingly
restored.
The staff were very friendly and professional check in was fuss free. The room we
stayed in was a Balcony Suite with a huge comfy bed and breathtaking views. Every thing
was spotless and the heating was so comfortable (it was a little chilly outside). I look forward
to my next visit and recommend this Hotel to all who want a relaxing break.
Easy walking to shops and restaurants. One little negative the hot water in the bathroom
takes a long time to arrive at the taps.

Room Tip: The balcony suite offers space comfort and such amazing views, and no outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingscliff, New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Carrington is a piece of old world charm lovingly restored. Whether you want to stay, as we did for 2 nights, or just have tea on the veranda it is worth the visit.
We had an amazingly huge and comfortable bed plus great service.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Three Sisters
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We only stayed a night at the Carrington and booked a suite with great views over the valley.
Everything was fine and we enjoyed the old charm.
A continental breakfast was included, there was enough choices but no service.
We as with other guests had to set our own table and saw no restaurant staff.
It was a little sad the charm did not extend to the service

Room Tip: Request a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.3 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
577 reviews
5.4 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
0.4 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
1.1 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
5.3 mi away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Blackheath
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carrington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carrington Hotel

Property: The Carrington Hotel
Address: 15 - 47 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Family Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Carrington Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your The Carrington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carrington Hotel Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing