We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grand experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Carrington Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Carrington for four nights in March to attend a wedding. The hotel couldn’t be in a better position for access to shops, bars and restaurants.

Walking up to the hotel and then entering the building was like taking a step back in time. The grand old building was very welcoming and so were the staff. There are lots of passages to explore and lounge areas to have a drink and relax in.

Our Colonial room was on the first floor and required a bit of a walk to get to but that added to the experience. It provided an opportunity to look at the art work and features of the old building. Although our room was at the front of the building there was no view over the hotel gardens and beyond because of the beautiful stained glass windows in the room which could not be opened. The stained glass window in the bathroom could be opened so this was the place for the view.

The room was clean, a good size and contained a comfortable king bed. There was also a single bed. The bathroom fixtures and fittings reflected the ‘feel’ of the hotel.

The food and table service was of a high standard, particularly at the wedding reception we attended in the main dining room. Sitting and having a drink and a chat on the balcony at the front of the hotel was a relaxing experience, particularly in the evening when the lights add another dimension to the stained glass windows and highlight the architectural features of the building.

We had a great stay and recommend that you experience the Carrington at some time soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

646 - 652 of 968 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed in the Colonial room for two nights. Location is great, right beside the train station and a bus stop in front. Coles supermarket is next door at the Cultural Centre. The room is clean and the bed is comfortable. Breakfast was average without much variety. The Colonial room is located on the 1st floor and you'll need to take the stairs or lift. Even then it isn't a straight walk to the room. There will be 3-4 flight of stairs beside the lift and another 3-4 stairs down before we reach our room which is right at the end. However, there won't be any staff to help with your luggages. Imagine with two large luggages, two haversack and a pram. Overall, a good base to stay in Katoomba.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms near the lift if you are traveling with large luggages and with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhm82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful old world hotel. Truly majestic and takes you back in time the moment you walk through its doors. Even comes with it's own amazing ghosts! Don't miss the chance to visit, stay or eat in this hotel. I held a company conference here with staff. Was a perfect setting.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank spot1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights, enjoyed the old style grandure and ambiance, our room had a king size bed, very comfortable. Room size acceptable but we were awfully disappointed with the bathroom facilities. Recently upgraded glass shower enclosure was poorly designed with hap hazard plumbing including a leaking shower fixture, the toilet cistern wrongly positioned with the seat unable to remain open, very annoying for the boys, at nearly $200 a night, it is not acceptable. We realize that a magnificent old style buildings need a surcharge for on going repairs /maintenance however bathrooms need to be functional and clean.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rover04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

There’s something about the Blue Mountains in the cooler months that always evokes a sense of nostalgia, relaxation and enjoyment for me.

Having spent countless weekends up there in a variety of guesthouses, cottages and hotels, I finally stayed in one of the oldest, grandest and most nostalgic establishments of them all – The Carrington Hotel.

The Carrington is perched on a hill at the top of Katoomba Street and is easily identified on approach by a tall (and rather industrial looking) brick stack. Such a construction might be incongruous with modern day hotel designs but you have to remember that The Carrington belongs to a different era - 1883 to be precise. Even a cursory review of the hotel’s history reveals an impressive resume including the claim that this hotel was second only to Raffles as the southern hemisphere’s premier tourist resort destination in the early 1900s.
Entering the reception via the main entrance stairway is an act akin to stepping back in time. The interior is heavily wood panelled, the carpets are rich and dark and the ambience is strikingly historic. From reception you either ascend a stairway to the guest rooms, or access a number of public areas including the lounge (with its sofas, leadlight windows and fireplace) the bar (with itsty lead-lighted sky dome), the ballroom (used for functions) or the main dining room.

The main dining room is impressive – dark wood, red velvet, side bureaus full of nostalgic artefacts and crystal. The meals are delightful and generous – the service is friendly and efficient. Studying the silverware, china and crystal makes me feel as though I’ve slipped through a worm hole and ended up back in time in a grand Victorian manor where ball gowns and tuxedos would have been “de rigueur”, pipe smoke mixing with the smell of wood burning in fireplaces to fend off the brisk winter cold. Its almost poetic.
There are many accommodation options but all offer a sense of history (ie. original “traditional”rooms with shared facilities) comfort (“Colonial” with bay windows and “Premier Spa” rooms with corner spas) and indulgence (the suites). We stayed in two suites (“The Carrington” and “The Joynton Smith” suite). Both were magnificent. The Joynton Smith contained a bedroom with four poster bed and antique wardrobes, a dining and lounge room with rolled arm sofas, occasional chairs and Tiffany lamps, as well as a fully tile bathroom with claw footed bath. Private access to a shared first floor balcony that ran the length of the entrance portico below on the ground floor. The experience was similar in the Lord Carrington, the premier suite, with two bedrooms, corner spa and wonderful views across Katoomba and the Jamison Valley.

The upper floors are purely accommodation. There were lots of hallways leading around corners, down different wings, every turn providing a vista with lead light windows, chaise lounges and wood balustrades. The Carrington is a beautiful hotel to just wander in. It houses a number of interesting curios and talking points. These include life size replicas of Laurel and Hardy in the main reception, lots of framed photos documenting the history of The Carrington and a quaint (and original) lift reminiscent of turn-of-the-century Europe.
Views from the upper floor rooms are commanding and take in both Katoomba and the Jamison Valley beyond. Watching the light and weather turn through these windows was a constant source of interest and delight. Later in the evening, as fog set in and the temperature plunged, the hotel, with its fireplaces, heavy drapes and plush carpets provided a warm, inviting, almost “cloistered” sense of comfort that was the perfect backdrop for a weekend getaway.
There’s lots to do in Katoomba, but staying at The Carrington is enough reason in itself to make the trip.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have just returned home after spending a night in the Carrington, It is truly a
Magestic building with the most beautiful features that have been lovingly
restored.
The staff were very friendly and professional check in was fuss free. The room we
stayed in was a Balcony Suite with a huge comfy bed and breathtaking views. Every thing
was spotless and the heating was so comfortable (it was a little chilly outside). I look forward
to my next visit and recommend this Hotel to all who want a relaxing break.
Easy walking to shops and restaurants. One little negative the hot water in the bathroom
takes a long time to arrive at the taps.

Room Tip: The balcony suite offers space comfort and such amazing views, and no outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Carrington is a piece of old world charm lovingly restored. Whether you want to stay, as we did for 2 nights, or just have tea on the veranda it is worth the visit.
We had an amazingly huge and comfortable bed plus great service.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Three Sisters
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.3 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
592 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palais Royale Boutique Hotel
5.4 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
1.1 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carrington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carrington Hotel

Address: 15 - 47 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Family Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range: £74 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Carrington Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Carrington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carrington Hotel Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing