We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still Just Perfect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carrington Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Carrington Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Still Just Perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We previously stayed at The Carrington in 2013 then again last week - this time in a Balcony Room.
The room was as per the hotel spec and we were satisfied with the room and the arrangements.
The real attraction to staying at The Carrington is the location and the facilities.
Genuine old world charm much appreciated by most guests. The creaky floor boards add to the atmosphere of an old loved hotel.
We didn't try the main dining room as we were staying Monday and Tuesday.
The restaurants away from the hotel were good.
The only negative is the car park which is outside and unsecured.
Put on your to do list - even in the Summer

Room Tip: See the hotels web site as some rooms don't have en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phantomhq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    334
    100
    43
    33
See reviews for
161
448
32
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here overnight last week. The hotel is magnificent - it is really like stepping back in time! Full of character and charm. We had the shared bathroom option which I was worried about but it was really fine. Everything was clean and well presented although cold (not the Carringtons fault - it was the middle of winter). Nice buffet breakfast in the morning with a hot option if you wanted. Would like to stay for longer next time in this lovely place.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rez16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Recently stayed at The Carrington Hotel. Just wonderful. Like stepping back in time but will all modern amenities. Stayed in a Premier Spa Room - the biggest, most comfortable bed I have ever seen, nice big spa. Great breakfast in the Grand Dining Room. Wonderful, attentive and friendly staff. The old bar and lounge areas are great - roaring log fires in winter. Walking up the steps to this grand 19th century hotel, especially when all lit up at night is a great experience.

Room Tip: Recommend the Premier Spa Rooms, especially one with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LesleyKerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Peoples....this hotel is incredible, truly a piece of history. You can read other reviews on this hotel and yes sure it's a little bit shabby, it is showing it's age. It is 130years old. Tell me where you can go and stay in a Grand old Dame with history dripping from every corner at such great value. Admire the most extraordinary leadlight glass work.
Sure if you're into sanitised, cookie cutter style "modern hotels" this is probably not your style. If you want to have an experience and a huge gulp of living history get in the queue behind me. Delightful.

Room Tip: Be mindful if you are a bit unsteady on your feet the room had a shower over a large spa which would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theburnsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

An absolutely lovely hotel full of character, history and charm set in the heart of Katoomba. It is close to all attractions and the train station. Oh, and a buffet breakfast is provided on your stay too!

Just a heads up, if you're staying in a Traditional Room, there is no Ensuite/bathroom in your room. You have got use the shared bathrooms at the end of the the corridor, which are nice and clean. So make sure to bring shampoo(soap is provided) depending on the length of your stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simcoe, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

I took my husband away for his birthday and it fell on their Christmas in July. We had a wonderful time there. The place is very majestic and regal. The staff are all friendly and very traditional to the time period that I think this place all about. They walked with heads held high and very proud of their position with this hotel. The food was delicious and abundant. The room had a wonderful view of the gorge and our bed was extremely comfortable. Even though we only live half hour away, we will definitely go again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first floor, then you have the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We called in here after walking to Echo Point and back. We have been trying to call in old traditional bars on our rounds of Sydney.

We didn't enjoy it here. The bar was dark and the tables unclean.

The beer was cloudy and didn't taste nice, and after our one drink we left.

Wont be going back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JeannieCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.3 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
1.1 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
5.3 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
3.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
1.1 mi away
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carrington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carrington Hotel

Property: The Carrington Hotel
Address: 15 - 47 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#2 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Family Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Carrington Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Carrington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carrington Hotel Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing