We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food served at the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Carrington Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Very laid back weekend, even though the hotel was quite busy.. Everyone friendly and enjoying themselves. The Carrington is centrally located with lots of cafes and restaurants nearby. A wonderful escape from the city and the salmon served is delish.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank KindCompassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (944)
There are newer reviews for The Carrington Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

593 - 599 of 944 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Visited for the weekend,apprehensive about shared bathroom but wanting to experience tradition stay. Room was large and tastefully decorated,the shared bathroom not the problems I envisaged but they were a little dated and in need of repair. I hope they keep the concept & renovate. The bar, restaurant wall all and more than expected. Visit marred by some rowdy patrons which staff did best to manage, all in all a great stay and will return.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

My daughter (9) and I stayed the night and had high tea.
The ladies at front desk were very nice on check in and check out. The room was pleasant, extremely warm (we opened the window - though the view was just over the roof). We stayed in traditional room with shared bathroom which was fine. I am sure other rooms are nicer. Beautiful hotel in great location. Common areas of hotel are very nice.
We were very disappointed with the high tea - I would definitely say don't bother and would not recommend it to anyone. The staff all appear to be churned out of some hospitality school and while they go through all the correct motions it is totally without any warmth or practicality. They do not connect with customers at all and we felt very uncomfortable and unwelcome. The food was definitely nothing special - I could make much better at home! Also we were the only table not presented with the three- tiered rack. Our food was just served on a plate. I am not sure if this was because we had one adult and one child but it was very disappointing as we were looking for the proper high tea experience. This was a mother daughter outing for her birthday and we were expecting much better from 'the grand old lady'. Please tell your staff that connecting with your customer is more important that which wide you pour the tea from!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Liz2773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Very laid back weekend, even though the hotel was quite busy.. Everyone friendly and enjoying themselves.
The Carrington is a grand old lady and is full of little nooks and crannies to explore. Stayed here before and will do so again... Very centrally located with lots of cafes and restaurants nearby. A wonderful escape from the city, with helpful and pleasant staff and the gorgeous 'Cameron' in the bar!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We previously stayed at The Carrington in 2013 then again last week - this time in a Balcony Room.
The room was as per the hotel spec and we were satisfied with the room and the arrangements.
The real attraction to staying at The Carrington is the location and the facilities.
Genuine old world charm much appreciated by most guests. The creaky floor boards add to the atmosphere of an old loved hotel.
We didn't try the main dining room as we were staying Monday and Tuesday.
The restaurants away from the hotel were good.
The only negative is the car park which is outside and unsecured.
Put on your to do list - even in the Summer

Room Tip: See the hotels web site as some rooms don't have en-suite
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phantomhq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here overnight last week. The hotel is magnificent - it is really like stepping back in time! Full of character and charm. We had the shared bathroom option which I was worried about but it was really fine. Everything was clean and well presented although cold (not the Carringtons fault - it was the middle of winter). Nice buffet breakfast in the morning with a hot option if you wanted. Would like to stay for longer next time in this lovely place.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank rez16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Recently stayed at The Carrington Hotel. Just wonderful. Like stepping back in time but will all modern amenities. Stayed in a Premier Spa Room - the biggest, most comfortable bed I have ever seen, nice big spa. Great breakfast in the Grand Dining Room. Wonderful, attentive and friendly staff. The old bar and lounge areas are great - roaring log fires in winter. Walking up the steps to this grand 19th century hotel, especially when all lit up at night is a great experience.

Room Tip: Recommend the Premier Spa Rooms, especially one with a view
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank LesleyKerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.3 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
586 reviews
5.4 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
0.4 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
1.1 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carrington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carrington Hotel

Address: 15 - 47 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Family Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range: £75 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Carrington Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Carrington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carrington Hotel Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing