We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of Australia's history”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Carrington Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
240
Reviewed 6 January 2006

When you stay in a colonial hotel built in 1880, you should not expect the type of features and amenities you find in faceless corporate hotel chains. The Carrington ooozes charm and character. There are areas of the hotel that can be improved, but the owner is working steadily through an ongoing renovation program that has already seen much of the hotel restored to its former glory.
Once you have inspected the spectacular veranda (and had a drink), you can then move inside and check out the cocktail bar (champagne charlies), the ballroom, the amazing dining room and the billiard room amongst others.
At the time of writing all rooms deluxe and above have been restored and are more than adequate, although there is no air-conditioning (fans only), so try and avoid heat waves. The location of the hotel is ideal - right in the heart of Katoomba (a nice town full of art deco cafes and restaurants - check out the Avalon), with good off road parking. Ideal for trips to the mountains or the Jenolan Caves (a must see).
We spent two nights here in Jan 2006 and i couldn't fault the place or the service. We ate in the hotel on the second night and all 6 meals were absolutely glorious (especially the veal and the lamb).
The upshot of this hotel is that if airconditioning and satellite TV is more important to you than history and character, then avoid this hotel. If not, then book a room and enjoy a stay in Australia's history.

Stayed: January 2006
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (955)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

925 - 931 of 955 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2005

We stayed at the Carrington for 1 night as we travelled around Australia in September. We arrived with high expectations, as the other places we had stayed (Shangri-La Sydney, a place in Hunter Valley and Sydney Harbour B&B) had all been excellent. Not the Carrington though. The original room they gave us was at the end of a maze of passageways. The mould bubbling up outside the room door was the first sign of trouble! Inside, the room was quite large, but rather dark, a little damp and terribly drafty. The 'view' was of some rusting sheds and bins - nice! The bathroom reminded me of school. Anyhow, we didn't want to cause trouble, so decided to upgrade to a 'Premium' room. We did explain that the original room was cold and drafty, but they didn't seem to care. I'm sure that room will be offered to others which is a disgrace for the money. The Premium room was much nicer, although ridiculously hot and still rather shabby. Believe me, we like our 'old and charming' hotels, but that's not the same as dilapidated, cold and faded - with indifferent staff. In the evening we had a nice meal in the restaurant, but breakfast the next day was, like the rest of the hotel, cold, shabby and below standard. Bearing in mind that it is reasonably expensive, I would not recommend staying here - there must be better places that cost less. Don't be fooled by its 4-star rating, its nearer 2*. Blue Mountains are quite spectacular and there's great walks nearby, but I'd recommend other places above this area (Hunter Valley for example)

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Davidq100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Perth
14
Reviewed 11 September 2005

I recently stayed at this wonderful old hotel with my wife and a few friends for my birthday. We had a marvelous time. The food was amazing. The wait staff in the dinning room were ver professional...very attentive but not in your face.

We had a wonderful room looking over the balcony out to Sydney. Very good value for a 3.5 star hotel. We meet the owner who also runs the hotel. He took time out to talk to us and even gave us a personal tour. We were very impressed with the work they have done recently. The only negative was they don't have room service.

I would recomend this place to anyone. You won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2005

I am only upset I did not read these reviews before our recent visit to the Carrington. It would appear that it has not improved since the reviews in 2003!

The back bedrooms still look on to an area which is a dumping ground for all the old bricks and mortar from the reburbishment and is a bomb site!

The hot breakfast is still cold and of very poor quality!

We did have dinner (al a carte) at the hotel and I have to say that was enjoyable, although I should add, dont go expecting to have the well advertised "Friday night seafood/carvery buffet" as it was cancelled, late notice due to low hotel occupancy.

Generally, overall, its a very tired looking hotel, that is trading on its former glory days but is in need of some new life, a major cleanup and plenty of TLC!

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank squalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
335
Reviewed 31 October 2004

Ah yes ... Katoomba in the winter. A large rowdy crowd of us inhabited a first floor wing of the Carrington again (3 yrs in a row now!). We are the only ones in the wing and try real hard to not infringe on any other guests and to enjoy ourselves. This year was special as the little nazi stair monitor didn't bother us or at least he kept out of our way. This raised the quality of the stay from average to excellent. Amazing how a clash with some trumped up officious employee can change the quality of a weekend away from glorious to leaving a bitter taste in your mouth. Rooms are what's expected, clean, good size but basic fixtures. Shared bathroom - but we knew that any way, great food, excellent little bar great staff except the stair monitor and to top it off they have the winter festival on the front lawn. AND I came second in the fancy dress at the ball. Great weekend, hope the stair monitor isn't there next year.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Manchester, UK
541
Reviewed 25 September 2004

we stayed at the Carrington as we passed through the Blue Mountains on our honeymoon. we checked into a superior room as we has just left a rather crummy hotel in Sydney and wanted a bit of romance! Our room was lovely, everything is old but spotless and we had a lovely huge Spa bath with views from the bathroom window. The staff sent us up some champagne and were very friendly.
Katoomba itself was a little dull and v cold in August, so we retreated to the billiard room after escaping the cold air in the evening and sat by the log fire. My husband only had 2 complaints - the bar shut at 9.30! And the juke box which was listed as free in the hotel details in the room was not!

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2004

The Magic Festival at the Carrington was just that!! A wonderful holiday from the everyday, like living theatre. Pure fun!!

1  Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.3 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
589 reviews
5.4 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
0.4 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
1.1 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carrington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carrington Hotel

Address: 15 - 47 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Family Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range: £76 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Carrington Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Carrington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carrington Hotel Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing