We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,107)
Filter reviews
1,107 results
Traveller rating
470
414
131
48
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
470
414
131
48
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the grand dining room old world charm grand old hotel blue mountains cocktail bar balcony room stained glass step back in time shared bathroom bygone era continental breakfast the main street beautiful hotel art deco devonshire tea christmas in july public areas
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,107 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed here on our last night of a five week camping trip and loved it. The restaurant was reasonably priced and the food and service was great. This hotel is amazing the decorations and atmosphere took you back to the early 1900’s . I do feel that this place is haunted as a few things happened during the night of our stay which made it all the more interesting.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Roundbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarringtonHotel, Manager at The Carrington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we're glad you enjoyed our facilities. It was a pleasure hosting you and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

We've stayed here several times and have always had a great stay. We like the second floor rooms with the views of the valley. The service is friendly and helpful, food and drinks are great value and very enjoyable. Love their Christmas in July

Room Tip: Check if there is a function on before you book.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saaskiasmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarringtonHotel, Manager at The Carrington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback! Our Christmas in July events are very popular, it's pleasing to hear that you had a memorable experience. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel last night. We were informed the dining room would be closed to the public for a wedding upon booking(that's fine) - However, we were not advised that the noise from the wedding would reverberate throughout the entire hotel until midnight. No use complaining to reception as they just apologise for the inconvenience. A hotel that frequently holds events should have an honesty policy to anyone making a booking with this in mind. Completely unacceptable to not inform guests and still charge full rate.
In addition the rooms as run down and in need of repairs. Cracks everywhere. Loose fitted windows which allow noise and wind in with ease. Simply. Not Worth. It.
Only appeal was the decor and history in the building. What a damn shame it is not represented in the staff qualities.
Very disappointed.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarringtonHotel, Front Office Manager at The Carrington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Thank you for your feedback. As you note The Carrington hosts functions on a regular basis especially on Saturday nights. We do our utmost to ensure these functions have the least impact possible on in house guests not attending the function.
This includes having strict finishing times for music and ensuring functions book all rooms on the 1st floor directly above their venue.
I am sorry you feel your stay was affected by the wedding. We always try to advise guests that a wedding is on especially when it means dinner is not available in The Grand Dining Room. I note you were informed about the wedding. Your room was also on the 2nd floor. We have not had complaints from rooms this far away from the venue before. I trust that the other staff you encountered during your 2 night stay provided friendly service.
I appreciate the time taken to provide this review and we will use it to improve service and facilities at The Carrington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

I've been to this hotel 4 times over the past 3 years and love it every time. The staff are always friendly and the rooms are always clean. Highly recommend anyone who is looking for a relaxing time. The Christmas in July package is great and recommend it. It's a great night.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vicki19632018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarringtonHotel, Manager at The Carrington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Hello Vicki,

Thank you for your review. We look forward to hosting you again for another Christmas in July stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Lovely stay in a wonderfully restored room close to the everything. We had a second floor room at the front of the building with a view of the valley. Prices for Food and drinks was very reasonable and you were served with great staff. I would definitely stay again and recommend to my friends. One feature was the squeaky floorboards in our room matching the age and furnishings of the Carrington. Loved our stay.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Johnm285726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarringtonHotel, Manager at The Carrington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Hello Johnm,

Thank you for your review! We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, our staff pride themselves on the service they provide to our valued guests. We look forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews