We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location”
Review of Blue Mountains YHA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Mountains YHA
Certificate of Excellence
Maitland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

YHA Katoomba is a great place to stay, located centrally and with all the facilities you need, eg large kitchen, dining area, reading room, tv room, outside deck, comfortable family rooms with ensuite. Only downfall is no airconditioning, but our room had a lovely breeze at night, so was fine. It was the hottest day of the year that we were there. The staff were exceptional, very friendly and helpful with any questions we had. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizaMaitland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    105
    18
    0
    5
See reviews for
34
83
55
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We booked the Canyoning package which was fantastic value and included a continental breakfast and 1hr of internet. We were the first to book the package so there was a little confusion at first, but this was sorted out pretty quickly. The hostel itself is the cleanest and most pleasant I've stayed in, with lots of areas to hang out.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dragonsworn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Blue Mountains YHA, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Hi Dragonsworn. Thanks for your review, particularly of the new adventure package. We did launch it just before Xmas so sorry if there was initial confusion. But sounds like it was worth it - the canyons are so beautiful and are a special part of the Blue Mountains. We hope to run this right through the rest of the canyoning season, and look forward to seeing you again at one of our hostels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here twice now. Last time was two years ago and I was already very impressed by it. This time was no different if not better. It's conveniently located, there is an ALDI supermarket right next door and within a short walking distance to the three sisters look out. It's also very close to plenty of nice restaurants and cafes. What makes this YHA so unique is the vibe within, especially at dinner time when everyone is busy cooking in the kitchen or sharing a meal. The dining hall and kitchen are both huge and there is a huge lounge area as well. The beds are basic but clean and comfortable. I would choose to stay here over other hotels or motels in Katoomba, it feels like a home.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ameitomu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Housed in a renovated old building, this hostel has a lot of charm. Common spaces are very well appointed, rooms are clean, and the outdoor terrace area is simply spectacular. Much more than you would expect from your average place. Location is nice for a walk to the Three Sisters or to get anywhere you need to in town.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tcldenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The best hostel I've stayed in NSW. Got it for a great rate in with a package to see the Blue Mountains I booked via the YHA Sydney Central travel agents.

Very knowledgable staff, who are very patient. It must get very tiring answering questions about the Blue Mountains every day, but they were so lovely.

Cosy rooms, and great living area downstairs. Very home away from home with sofas, TVs and board games. Attached to a very clean and spacious kitchen.

Wish I could have stayed longer! :)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012 via mobile

This is a great hostel. You will pay a little more for it but it is clean, friendly and well placed between Katoomba centre and the Three Sisters so you can walk everywhere and avoid the $25 trolley bus. Rooms are well laid out and spacious with your own light etc. place is bright and upbeat. Excellent. Manager, although she was arguing (quite rightly) with a guest when I checked in, was friendly and professional.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianyoung1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

I simply love the YHA Katoomba,and its definitely one of my favorite hostels in the world. The atmosphere here is amazing and sitting by the fire place at the common area give you this warm feeling that you can never get at any other YHA. The workers are very very friendly and the room are just simply amazing. If you are travelling with your mates, definitely take the family room where it has 2 double beds. A word of advise, make sure you have the heater on at night, it can get really really freezing.

Room Tip: I prefer the family room. A word of advise, MAKE SURE you have the heater on, it can get really rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faeez1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
916 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
0.5 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel
0.9 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
400 reviews
0.8 mi away
Echo Point Discovery Motel
Echo Point Discovery Motel
#10 of 15 in Katoomba
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mountains YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mountains YHA

Property: Blue Mountains YHA
Address: 207 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Mountains YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the adventure capital of NSW, stay at this award-winning YHA hostel and enjoy the log fire, cosy warm rooms (many with ensuite), great kitchen, fast internet, all in the heart of Katoomba. This is the best value budget accommodation, located in the heart of Katoomba. Chose from a range of rooms including multi share, double/twin and family rooms. Free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available). Relax in the large lounge, self cater in the kitchen. Housed in a beautifully restored historic National Trust building, the hostel is close to breathtaking scenic lookouts, and local cafes and pubs. Save with YHA discounts on heaps of activities, tours and attractions from the hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Mountains YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Mountains YHA Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing