We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay”
Review of Blue Mountains YHA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Mountains YHA
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2013

In general, I love YHA hostel. This one is a perfect hostel who are visited Blue Mountains and looking for a hostel in Katoomba. Centrally located, big dorm rooms, discount for YHA members, free wi-fi for YHA members, big kitchen, big dining and lounge area, outdoor seating, very clean place overall, and a very friendly staff. The staff is very accommodating and provides valuable information. My three nights stay in this hostel was wonderful. I enjoyed just staying inside the hostel one day, reading a book in the quiet room while it was raining outside. They get really good people from various countries.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlienTraveller1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

Backpacking from Sydney up coast to Byron. Blue mountain my second stop...
Welcoming! Great facilities! & very helpful staff re walking routes & your safety was paramount as they had a signing out signing in book.
Would advise anyone to take a few nights here ... But bring a jumper!
I'm keeping a blog so if you want to read more & check pics log into downunderlost.wordpress. com
Happy trip! X

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solowalker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Great little spot to stay when visiting the Blue Mountains. Spacious rooms with big lockers, and good communal areas. The staff were helpful in recommending nearby restaurants and providing directions to the train station. We had a nice, peaceful getaway from the bustling centre of Sydney.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

The hostel is strategically located and very well equipped. Staff was helpful and friendly.
As we stayed there during the season, the dining room was pack and we have to resort to eat in the living room instead.
Good value for the price we paid. Will recommend it for those on budget.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivy0902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

this hostel has great facilities (WIFI, BBQ, good communal areas) and is very clean. We stayed in a 5 bed dorm and had loads of space with lockers & the rooms were very clean. The shared kitchen was great and there was a nice, comfortable quiet room you could sit and relax in. The hostel is a short walk from the 3 Sisters as well as other hiking trails.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lp23egg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

I was moving my grandmother down closer to me so I needed somewhere cheap and clean to stay so I chose to stay at the Katoomba YHS. This was the first time I have stayed at a YHA and it gT was totally a mixed bag. The location is perfect! The service was friendly and helpful, the rooms were small, which was good as there was only five beds in our female only room. The ladies bathroom had a lock on it which I appreciated. The down side were the people staying at the hostel! Some girls left quite a mess in the bathroom, nasty! Not the fault of the hostel at all, just not what I am used to and the women who shared a bunk with me was a nightmare! Turning on the light every couple of hours to change her sanitary items... Eeeeek! It was an ok experience and I have one recommendation! If you are in a group and have friends travelling with you then you must stay here! The facilities are great for groups, great shared kitchen and games room and it wouldnt be bad sharing a room with friends.
As a fussy solo female I.was overwhemed with the experience, but that is just me!
I cant speak highly enough of the staff though.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrenbird88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

YHA Katoomba is a great place to stay, located centrally and with all the facilities you need, eg large kitchen, dining area, reading room, tv room, outside deck, comfortable family rooms with ensuite. Only downfall is no airconditioning, but our room had a lovely breeze at night, so was fine. It was the hottest day of the year that we were there. The staff were exceptional, very friendly and helpful with any questions we had. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizaMaitland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
991 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel
0 mi away
Katoomba Town Centre
Katoomba Town Centre
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Echo Point Discovery Motel
Echo Point Discovery Motel
#10 of 15 in Katoomba
306 reviews
0.5 mi away
No. 14
No. 14
#2 of 13 in Katoomba
191 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mountains YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mountains YHA

Address: 207 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Katoomba
Price Range: £40 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Mountains YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the adventure capital of NSW, stay at this award-winning YHA hostel and enjoy the log fire, cosy warm rooms (many with ensuite), great kitchen, fast internet, all in the heart of Katoomba. This is the best value budget accommodation, located in the heart of Katoomba. Chose from a range of rooms including multi share, double/twin and family rooms. Free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available). Relax in the large lounge, self cater in the kitchen. Housed in a beautifully restored historic National Trust building, the hostel is close to breathtaking scenic lookouts, and local cafes and pubs. Save with YHA discounts on heaps of activities, tours and attractions from the hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Blue Mountains YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Mountains YHA Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing