We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weekend in the Blue Mountains”
Review of Blue Mountains YHA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Mountains YHA
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Great accommodation, close to all the site and some great bushwalks. Rooms good size, bathroom facilities very clean. Kitchen is huge with plenty of fridge storage, great to bring your own food to heat up or cook. Dinning area and lounge area plenty of room, and wood fires to make it nice and comfortable. Reception staff are fantastic, patient and helpful. Have stayed here twice and certainly book again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sharyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

I loved this hostel. It actually feels more like a hotel - an old English country house at that. There's a very nice lounge (with a fire place, for winter nights, very cosy!), a great terrace and a clean kitchen.

I stayed in a double room, impeccably clean. Staff is very friendly, and all sights as well as the railway station are in walking distance.

I'd highly recommend the Blue Mountains YHA if you are going to Katoomba!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stimela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Great long weekend here with friends. Cosy and warm with big kitchen that never felt too crowded. Plenty of sofas to relax in after spending days exploring various walks. Close to good restaurants - recommend the pizza place at the top of the street (cheap and cheerful). Comfy room and quiet so could sleep in a couple of mornings. Friendly helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the end of the corridors - bit quieter as away from main staircase. Great heating i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themeparkwizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Very disappointing stay. Decided on the YHA as it was central, had wifi, and pretty cheap. Turns out the wifi costs money and this didnt matter as it was down our whole stay.
We had an irate man bang angrily on the door at 10:30pm who introduced himself as the night manager and told us to turn our TV down as he could hear it from the hall. He was obviously talking about the laptop we were watching in bed. We turned it off an went to sleep, however we were pretty confused though how any guest would hear it through the thick concrete walls, and also confused why we were being spoken rudely like he was our angry father or something?
The next day trying to check out I had to wait 10 mins or so while the receptionist ignored us and gossiped to her friend. She didnt let us interrupt her great story though and processed our checkout without either looking at us or saying anything to us.
I have worked in hotels before and if I had of acted like either of these two staff members I no doubt would of lost my job.
Some people shouldnt really be working in customer service
We visit Katoomba very often and will not be staying here again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jjjjjoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Blue Mountains YHA, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Hi
Thanks for your feedback and sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We do ask people to respect other guest's with restricting noise but this should always be a professional, polite request. We will be reviewing all your feedback with the staff member concerned.
We have had an issue with our wifi antenna. The external supplier will shortly be installing a new one to get it all up and running again.
If you would like to discuss any concerns about your visit, we welcome guests to contact us directly so that we can work through the issues raised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I stayed there for one night. Booked a shared room for 4 but fortunately no one else had booked the room that day.
The only problem I faced was wifi, although I paid 5AUD for 24 hours but the wifi connectivity was very bad and I ended up using my phone's data pack.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_a_y_a_0_j_h_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Blue Mountains YHA, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Hi J_a_y_a_0_j_h_a
Thanks for your review and sorry you had WiFi issues. If that ever happens again at a YHA, please just see reception so they can try and help you out. That particular building is very solidly built and it means that there are dead spots in a few rooms. If you were in one of those rooms, we would have happily refunded your wifi cost.
Hope to see you again at a YHA soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Since this hostel opened some 14 or 15 years ago we have gone every single winter and it never disappoints. Staff are great, rooms lovely and cosy especially with ensuites. This year new linen, doonas and tea and coffee facilities and this is a YHA , plus the beds were made up and rooms ready at 12noon, better than a 5 star hotel ! Best Thai restaurant over the road too Chork Dee Thai, grab a takeaway and eat back at the hostel in the great dining area, then lounge around all night by the fire. Lots of great people to chat and socialize with...

Room Tip: Away from the stairs and at the end of corridors, especially with private facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
Thank Carmel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I had a great 1 night stay in this hostel. There is always a risk when staying in a backpackers hostel, but I found this one to be very pleasant. The staff were EXCELLENT and were genuinely interested in making sure I made the most of my short stay in the Blue Mountains. Walking distance to Echo Point, the famous lookout to see The Three Sisters, and many other site and shops. Top notch service, a beautiful old building and great people.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank internetbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
968 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel
0.0 mi away
Katoomba Town Centre
Katoomba Town Centre
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
431 reviews
0.5 mi away
No. 14
No. 14
#2 of 13 in Katoomba
186 reviews
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Redleaf Resort
Comfort Inn Redleaf Resort
#4 of 5 in Blackheath
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mountains YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mountains YHA

Address: 207 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Katoomba
Price Range: £30 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Mountains YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the adventure capital of NSW, stay at this award-winning YHA hostel and enjoy the log fire, cosy warm rooms (many with ensuite), great kitchen, fast internet, all in the heart of Katoomba. This is the best value budget accommodation, located in the heart of Katoomba. Chose from a range of rooms including multi share, double/twin and family rooms. Free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available). Relax in the large lounge, self cater in the kitchen. Housed in a beautifully restored historic National Trust building, the hostel is close to breathtaking scenic lookouts, and local cafes and pubs. Save with YHA discounts on heaps of activities, tours and attractions from the hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Blue Mountains YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Mountains YHA Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing