We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice rooms quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“nice rooms quiet location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We recently stayed at Palais Royale over the weekend 24th - 25th March 2012. Looking at trip advisor before hand was pleasantly surprised. Rooms clean very "art deco" had trouble with the shower head not adjusted tightly enough. Overall experience was very good pleasant front desk people who let us in our room early. Breakfast was good 4 choices is enough with toast cereal fruit juices is enough for most people. Would recommend it to other people.Tip ask when arriving is the restaurant open for dinner that night we had to find other restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daw001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rana C, Public Relations Manager at Palais Royale Blue Mountains, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hopefully you will stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    156
    97
    40
    10
See reviews for
70
223
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
84 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Stayed here for a night, the hotel could do with a renovation as is very dated, rooms are simple and not very nice. Breakfast was terrible, the food was empty nearly the whole time, even though the hot counter had only 4 choices, overall opinion, dont stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colin_morrissey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rana C, Public Relations Manager at Palais Royale Blue Mountains, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Dear Guest

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Since your stay we have had new management, and things have improved.

I would welcome you to stay in the future.

King Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We recently stayed at the Palais Royale on NY’s day (1 Jan’12 – 2 Jan’12) and I forgot to check Trip Advisor before booking…….so my expectation were pretty low upon reading the reviews! We were pleasantly greeted and shown to our room. The room was pretty and well maintained. Room amenities were a little basic but we weren’t planning on staying in our room all night so no big deal. Given the age of the hotel I wasn’t expecting anything new either. All public amenities were working with the exception of the Spa – boo to that! (Apparently they are getting a new one) We used the Sauna instead. Beds were comfy, no issues of noise as we had a room on the car park side which had a great view. We requested Breakfast at 8am and by 8.10am the host had taken our cooked breakfast order and setup coffee/cereal for us to nibble on while we waited. The Restaruant room is magic, bright natural light with leadlight glassed windows which reflected on the old timbers of the room magic. We really enjoyed our stay at the Palais Royale and would recommend. We were surprised to learn we were the only guests staying at the hotel on that night - rating 4/5.

Room Tip: The rooms looking over the car park had a great view and not noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lyndon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rana C, Public Relations Manager at Palais Royale Blue Mountains, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Dear Guest

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Also, we have since installed a brand new spa. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.7 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
5.7 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
0.5 mi away
La Maison Boutique Hotel
La Maison Boutique Hotel
#13 of 15 in Katoomba
3.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Royale Blue Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Royale Blue Mountains

Property: Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Address: 230 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palais Royale Blue Mountains 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a charming Heritage hotel in the main street of Katoomba, so leave your car and walk to dozens of restaurants and attractions. Make sure to visit us in a few weeks as our new lounge café will be opening! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palais Royale Blue Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Royale Blue Mountains Hotel Katoomba
Palais Royale Blue Mountains Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing