We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good stop over”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

In general, this is a very good stop over, the hotel was clean, the bed was firm, air con worked really well (it was 38 Celsius when I was there). Truth be told, this hotel is tired, the carpet is worn down and bathroom needs renovating and fixing - the shower has no pressure, the water mixes on its own as you shower so you've got hot then cold, then hot again so you need to adjust all the time.

The location of this hotel is right in the center of Katoomba walking distance to everything. You could potentially walk to the 3 sisters, too - allow about 15 - 20 minutes one way - but if you do any of the walks down the stairs into the canyon and then back up again, you might find it a bit hard to walk back to the hotel at the end of the walk.

There was ample parking available but nothing covered. Also, there was hot buffet breakfast included in price - the standard eggs, bacon, baked beans, and continental options, coffee, tea.

I'd stay here again, but only as a stop over.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so you need to carry the bags up the stairs, if your room is allocated on upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    164
    102
    41
    10
See reviews for
76
231
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a triple room in this place.The room was booked by my wife.Nice sized rooms with good sized bathroom.We liked the place. Few refinements like correcting the bathroom hatch would have made it better.One good recommendation is not to serve breakfast.I could cook a better English breakfast.Hash browns were burnt.No differentiation between vegetarian and non vegetarian.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank chandandr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palkat, General Manager at Palais Royale Blue Mountains, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for your review about your stay on the 4th December 2103.

We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback about our lovely property and its rooms.

We also take on board your feedback about the quality of the buffet Breakfast that morning which we understand from your comments was not up to standard and which normally gains praise from our Guests for its good value and varied quality.

We have noted & shared your feedback with our Kitchen staff and Chef and assure you that we always strive to make improvements all aspects of our product and service from the feedback we receieve, including our buffet breakfasts.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future at Palais Royale Katoomba.

Kind Regards,
General Manager
Palais Royale, Katoomba NSW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here overnight,reception staff pleasant and gave us a free bottle of wine.
Would be better if they had a lift,bit hard carrying luggage up the stairs.
Went elsewhere for the breakfast as thought the price was a bit high for what was offered

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank budsmum5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palkat, General Manager at Palais Royale Blue Mountains, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for you for your recent review.

We are pleased to hear that our friendly staff at Reception have provided you with such great service during your stay. We always instruct our staff to assist with carrying luggage up the stairs so please accept our apologies on this ocassion it must have been overlooked.

Most of the feedback we receive about our buffet breakfast is that it is very good value at $15 per person for continental and hot dishes with fresh eggs, bacon and sausages, but take on board your feedback that you felt this was not good value.

Kind Regards,
General Manager
Palais Royale, Katoomba NSW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

What a lovely, elegant hotel from by-gone days. The guest lounges near the lobby were comfortable and welcoming.The rooms were spacious, the bathrooms modernised, and the proximity to town was great. The stairs were good for exercise! We had no complaints, and thought the tariff, inclusive of breakfast and a welcoming bottle of bubbly was excellent. We had 3 lovely nights here, after the bushfires.

Room Tip: Room upstairs at the front had a little balcony beside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mabsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palkat, General Manager at Palais Royale Blue Mountains, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback about our hotel, rooms & service. We share all feedback with our staff and get thrilled to hear when a stay is a great one!

Kind Regards,
General Manager
Palais Royale, Katoomba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed during the terrible bush fires and did not notice much smoke. The rooms are clean, comfortable & overall nice. We only stayed 1 night. Check-in was quick and friendly. We decided to skip their brekkie and eat at a cafe. The only thing that really made this place a little inconvenient was the stairs and no lift or offer to help with your bags to your room. My husband has an injury and this proved to be a little difficult for us but would possibly be an issue for an elderly couple or a family with children & lots of bags. Overall a nice stay:-)

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here when the bush fires were happening. We wanted to actually cancel our trip but they would not give us a refund and ensured us it was fine there. When we got there it was very smokey (even though i had asked if it was and the lady told me it wasnt) and all the activies you can do in the blue mountains were closed. (canyoning, rock climbing, caving etc). We also caught the lady rolling her eyes and saying how someone else had called up and asked to cancel. I think they should have offered refunds due to the circumstances as poeple do not really want to go if there are fires threatening the area.
The hotel itself is expensive for what it is. The furniture is outdated and the beds are very uncomfortable. the bath had burns or scratches or something on it which made it look dirty, although the whole room was kept fairly clean.
The location is in the main street in katoomba so in the centre of it. However if i was to go again i would stay in Leura as it is a much nicer area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suz255333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This place is alright, nothing special though. The bed was comfortable, the staff was friendly, the place was clean, however that's the standard I expect from any hotel, no matter how many stars it has. The whole place seems out of date a bit. The furniture could be updated, the TV is still analogue (5 channels) while the rest of Australia has 17 free to air digital channels. The bathroom has no fan, and because of the bushfires we couldn't really open a window or all the smoke would get in, so after a shower the whole room gets damp. This is probably the reason why the ceiling cornices are disintegrating. The room could do with a paint job in general. The house itself is old-fashioned style nice to look at, and the lounge is not bad either, but this old style charm does not translate to the rooms. There's also no lift, which I would think will make it hard for elderly or disabled people to get to upstairs rooms or the downstairs restaurant. The spa and sauna feels like it's an afterthought, somehow doesn't quite fit in. The breakfast was nothing special, simple buffet and some hot breakfast one can get in any motel. Overall the level of comfort feels like motel quality, wrapped in a stylish façade. I'm not saying we had a bad stay, but we could have gotten the same out of a good motel for much less. To me this place is overrated, and needs to upgrade a few things to get away with the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve010706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
917 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
571 reviews
5.7 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
0.8 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Royale Blue Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Royale Blue Mountains

Property: Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Address: 230 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palais Royale Blue Mountains 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a charming Heritage hotel in the main street of Katoomba, so leave your car and walk to dozens of restaurants and attractions. Make sure to visit us in our lounge café where we serve locally produce best coffee and selective locally grown organic wines and beers. ENJOY OUR NEW FREE WIFI FROM ALL ROOMS!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Palais Royale Blue Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Royale Blue Mountains Hotel Katoomba
Palais Royale Blue Mountains Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing