We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming character hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palais Royale Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We had only two days in Katoomba, and it was a short holiday at the end of a tiring business trip. So it was a real pleasure to spend a night at the Palais Royale. The room was clean, spacious and old-world charming; the lounge area at reception likewise.

Our package included full cooked breakfast and free WiFi. The breakfast was fine, although not exceptional, and next time we wouldn't necessarily include this in our booking because there are many cafes within easy walking distance.

We will definitely stay there if we visit Katoomba again.

Room Tip: No lift, so ask for a ground floor room if you don't want to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ExpectMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rana C, General Manager at Palais Royale Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you for your Response 'Expect More',

We Thank you for your appreciation of our spacious rooms in our Heritage Property, which as you say is ideally situated close to all Shops and cafes in Katoomba.

For any Guests with mobility issues we are more than happy to reserve a room on the middle floor with no stairs to climb. We also have a disabled room on offer on the same floor.

We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to the Mountains!
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

338 - 344 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

Staff was friendly. And the location was great, just off the main bit of Katoomba Street. Easy to get to and easy to go for a breakfast, dinner or a drink. Breakfast was average/poor. Hotel itself had a nice atmosphere but is starting to get old.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mark19855891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rana C, General Manager at Palais Royale Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Mark19855891,

We are pleased to hear our Staff made you feel welcome and were friendly. Thank you also for mentioning our great location, it is right in the centre of Town with easy access to some great restaurants and cafes in town. We are sorry to hear you didnt enjoy the hotel Breakfast and will pass this feedback to our Chef.

Our property is over 100 years old and is heritage building that underwent a major refurbishment in 1997 for a three year period before re-opening in 1999.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Had booked via a deal purchased on Living Social, was a little disappointed that we didn't receive complimentary bottle of wine on arrival as part of the deal but overall it was a great stay. Friendly helpful staff who accommodated a late check-in at 10pm due to travelling from South Coast straight after work. Room was large & comfortable and quiet, didn't hear any road traffic. Hotel was lovely with old charm feel with modern amenities. Buffet breakfast was good. Would stay again at a discount rate, but wouldn't pay normal rate as feel can get the same quality/amenities at other hotels that are cheaper rate.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rana C, General Manager at Palais Royale Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Melissa E,

Thank you for your very kind feedback about the hotel and staff.

We are sorry to hear that you did not receive your bottle of wine on arrival at the hotel as part of your deal. We would like to offer you a complimentary bottle of wine on any return stay at Palais. I'm sure this was an oversight from our usually very efficient front Office Team. Please accept our apology.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed here on the 14th of Feb for one night, room was spacious and bathroom aswell. Antique old federation style hotel that is really cosy and makes you feel like you're in a typical mountains bungalow home, cute for a weekend getaway! Room was very clean and staff was friendly and let us leave our bags for the day! Little tip would be just to have the minibar filled with the basics (water,juice and soft drinks + some snacks) overall it was an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giulia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Hi, wife and myself were looking for a hotel in Katoomba Sat. 1 night, Feb. I was playing at
the annual ukulele festival ,and last year stayed at the metropole which is very average.
we found the palais Royal on Trip advisor, checked the reviews, which frankly rated average, however we took a chance and booked . Must say, the place is very underrated, probably deserved its reviews at that time, but the hotel is under new management for the past 3 months be sure to say hello to the new manager, Ray Gunawan who has done a great job in turning this place around. We found the front desk reception ,very helpfull, the rooms large and spotless, Tv works , onsuite ,and shower excellent, breakfast, all you desire at a sensible
price . will book this place again, 921 cool change.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 921coolchange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Receptionist was helpful with recommendations on restaurants and day spas which we loved. Location was good walking distance to cafe and short drive to attractions. Clean rooms. Great value.
Only thing disappointing was breakfast which was very average but with all the cafés around I highly recommend to grab something there.
Very satisfied.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ms-A-Tram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Hotel with no towel in the room that you have ask before showering?
No butter for your toast? What kind on hotel is this? There's not even a complementary water in the room to drink for such a hot day and not to mention its location is one of the hottest in Sydney.
It's a shame. A grand old place with grand of history to tell lacking in so many aspect that the industry has to offer.
Need an overall overhaul service before we will go back to stay in this hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Mona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rana C, General Manager at Palais Royale Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Mona D,

We apologise for your recent experience at the Palais Royale.

We have given this feedback to each of our hotel department Heads, such as Housekeeping and the Food & Beverage department to ensure that key improvements are made in terms of the delivery of each of these services to Guests.

Whilst there is no water available in bottles in room there are bottles of water, juices and Soft drinks available for purchase at our Front Desk & we are sorry that this was not offered to you on arrival on such a hot day.

We hope to get the opportunity to host you again in the future and rectify any service delivery issues you may have experienced in the past at Palais Royale,

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
976 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
596 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
5.7 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
0.8 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Royale Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Royale Boutique Hotel

Address: 230 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Palais Royale Blue Mountains)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Price Range: £80 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palais Royale Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a charming Heritage hotel in the main street of Katoomba, so leave your car and walk to dozens of restaurants and attractions. Make sure to visit us in our lounge café where we serve locally produce best coffee and selective locally grown organic wines and beers. ENJOY OUR NEW FREE WIFI FROM ALL ROOMS!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Palais Royale Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Royale Blue Mountains Hotel Katoomba
Palais Royale Blue Mountains Katoomba
Palais Royale Boutique Hotel Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing