We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, good breakfasts, but tired decor and smallish rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Katoomba Town Centre
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great location, good breakfasts, but tired decor and smallish rooms”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Badly in need of a renovation, probably last decorated in about 1975, our family room was somewhat smaller than we had expected based on the motel website, and the trundle bed for one of our two kids made the room seem smaller still. The beds were comfortable however, the showers worked fine, and we were very pleased with our breakfasts, which contained a few pleasant surprises rarely seen at hotel buffets (curried sausages! french toast) as well as all of the usual suspects. Great breakfast room decorated with framed newspaper front pages of significant events. The motel is very well situated in Katoomba - but the adjacent town of Leura is far prettier, has fewer gloomy shut-down businesses, and would be our pick over Katoomba if we were to stay in the Blue Mountains again.
Pergola/picnic table was just outside our room so we were kept awake several nights by boozed up tourists chatting late into the night.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingAussieMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charles80, Owner at Katoomba Town Centre, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Hi Travelling Aussie Mum
Thankyou for yur review and positive comments about our great position and breakfasts. Property is family owned and always in the process of updating and improvement, the family rooms came about as like you we travelled extensively with a young family and found that accommodtion was very expensive when you try to sleep 4 to 5 persons.To help families or even groups of adults enjoy a stay away, we designed a full size single trundle bed that lives under the exsisting single bed, we only charge for 3 persons in the room, the 4th is free. Most guests appreciate the cost saving even if the trundle takes up a little extra room. Beds are all recent and are 5 star quality.
Katoomba has more interesting bric-a brac shops, lots of restaurants and some nice bars, Leura has more cafes, both are different, its all a matter of choice and it is great that they are so close together.
Sorry about the pergola, it is not been mentioned before, we are in the process of moving it into the BBQ garden.
Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    110
    42
    11
    11
See reviews for
60
115
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Very good basic accomodation, clean, comfortable and quiet. We were given a choice of 2 queen beds or queen and two singles. Great location in the middle of town. We had a delicious buffet breakfast in our rate. Would recommend this hotel to any of our friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012 via mobile

The room is alright but the air conditioner is the worst. We were staying in the first floor. When the second floor turned the AC on we could not sleep. Please change the AC; it is so noisy. We decided not to turn the AC because we want to have a good sleep...

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sonnthida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charles80, Owner at Katoomba Town Centre, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Hi Sonnthida S

Thankyou for advising us about the noisy air conditioner, we discovered a faulty bearing and repaired it the same day. If you had told us when while you were here and first discovered it we could have given you another room or fixed the problem for you. We try and check all these things everytime we clean the rooms but sometimes a fault appears the next time is it switched on.
Sorry again, hope you come back and enjoy a stay with us, I am sure that most properties are like us and will fix a problem if you tell us about it while you are here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We have stayed twice now and have been very happy with our stay both times. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the location is brilliant - right on the main street with everything just a few minutes walk away. We had planned to eat out for dinner the night we stayed but couldn't because our toddler fell asleep early, so we decided to order a take away - the man at reception was really helpful when we asked him to recommend some restaurants that might be able to deliver. Breakfast is always great and the lady in the breakfast room is really lovely. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sooty02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We stayed at the motel for 3 nights. We had a choice of 2 queen bed family room or 1 queen, 1 single & 1 trundle. After checking 2 rooms, we decided to go for the room with 2 queen. We were very happy with our decision. We loved how big the room was. It's big enough to allow 2 little kids to run around a bit without running into furnitures. The only down side to that room is the air-con is VERY noisy. We couldn't be bothered to mention it to the owners. I don't think they would have fixed it in the time we were there anyway. In the end we got used to it. In a way, I think the noisy air-con was good as it drowned out outside/traffic noise.

The beds were comfortable, the pillows were a bit flat. Thankfully, we brought our own pillows!

We arrived to a clean room on the first day, but it wasn't cleaned on the second day. It might have been due to the fact we returned to the room earlier than the cleaner could get around to it. Thankfully, the room was cleaned on the third day and rubbish was emptied as well.

It was good to have the buffet breakfast included. It saved us from having to go around looking for cafes to have breakfast. That way, we ate our breakfast and went on touring around. The breakfast was ok, nothing to rave about. It was the same everyday. It was ok to have it for 3 days, but I think if we couldn't have it for more than that.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay at Katoomba Town Centre Motel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holiday R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charles80, Owner at Katoomba Town Centre, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Hi H R

Thankyou for positive comments, wish that you had bothered to tell us about the air conditioner, and we could of fixed it for you, that's what we are here for.
Along with our 5star beds we have good quality pillows and plenty of them, I myself sleep on a big thick latex pillow which we tried with guests but they were to big, your idea of taking your own pillow is a good idea.
Our Full Hot Buffet Breakfast has 3 Juices, 6 Cereals, Fruit, Porrige, Preserves, Toasts, Muffins and Crumpets, + 12 to 15 hot dishes (all freshly cooked everyday), tea, coffee etc.
Freshly ground coffee, cappuccino, expresso and hot chocolate are available at reception 24 hours a day.
If you go out early and then come back and put the 'Do Not Disturb" sign on the door our staff have been instructed not to disturb you, reception is open until 9.30pm, had you told us we would have been only to pleased to remove any rubbish, provide clean towels etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wentworth Falls, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Just wanted to say thanks for a great experience. I had to leave early due to circumstances and unfortunately believe that there was excessive noise afterwards for which I'm sorry and apologise. Had I still been there this wouldn't have occurred.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Travelled with my partner last weekend, thanks to a last minute deal; $127 for a large family room (queen bed + single) including breakfast and parking.
The hotel has a perfect location; less than a 10' walk to the train station, close to the main restaurants, 20' walk to scenic world, 5' to Coles.. and there's an Aldi just walking across :)
The service was really good; a very welcoming host who would give you all the info you need.
The room was super comfy and clean; not noisy at all, and spacious.
The breakfast was pretty average, buffet style.. just some canned fruits, milk and instant coffee, hot food (but didn't look very fresh), we were expecting something a little bit better (tastier?) but it was fine anyway.

Overall, great place to stay..! :)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MasterOfffNone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.3 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Maison Boutique Hotel
La Maison Boutique Hotel
#13 of 15 in Katoomba
3.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katoomba Town Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katoomba Town Centre

Property: Katoomba Town Centre
Address: 218-224 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Katoomba Town Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Katoomba Town Centre Motel is a proud member of the Equeva Group, established with a view to provide the Complete Accommodation Experience for every type of traveller; from individuals to extended families. Located in Katoomba, in the scenic upper Blue Mountains. Our motel is rich with culture, friendly customer service and located in the heart of Katoomba Town Centre where you can enjoy a variety of cafes, shops, galleries and walks to parks abundant with beautiful native flora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Katoomba Town Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katoomba Town Centre Hotel Katoomba
Katoomba Town Centre Blue Mountains, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing