We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Katoomba in the Blue Mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Katoomba Town Centre
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Katoomba in the Blue Mountains”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

3 1/2 stars really.
Great location as a base for touring the Blue Mountains. Staff were friendly and helpful, the motel is a little dated but they are updating it bit by bit. A bit expensive compared to hotels we have used earlier on this trip and not as good quality. The breakfast was good value and Katoomba has lots of restaurants for dining out. The Blue Mountains are breathtaking.
I must recommend the Red Discovery Bus [hop on hop off ], as a great way to see all the top attractions without the hassle of driving and parking, the drivers are very knowledgeable and their advice on the severity of the different trails and walks was first class.
Lastly I must recommend Scenic World, it isn't cheap but it is an unmissable experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wynford l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    112
    43
    11
    11
See reviews for
63
118
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Whatever you do avoid Room 20 - it is next to the kitchen and staff arrive at 6am and the smell of food saturates Room 20. Room 20 is also a shoe box with tired facilities. The bed is small and the pillows are flat. The shower has a slippery floor. The breakfast is ample and is the main attraction. Toiletries limited to bars of soap only. Tea/coffee facilities were minimal and milk was long life. The reception staff are not well trained in customer service and tend to bluff their way through any question; e.g. when asking for a cab to be booked for 8.30am the next morning we were told to use the pay phone as the cabs are not reliable if booked 24 hours ahead?

Room Tip: Avoid external motel rooms because car parking is over crowded and cars are parked like sardines and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael_BW6787CQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charles80, Manager at Katoomba Town Centre, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Hi Michael
Sorry that you did not like your room, wish that you had told us while you where here, especially as you asked us so many other questions. From your tripadvisor profile we see this is your first review and it seems like for some reason you want to us attack for any and everything, including car parking even though you did not have a car with you?When you arrived before check in time & asked for a downstairs room we only had the one available, you had a look & said it was ok and we managed to check you in early. As you were early our fresh milk cartons hads not been delivered & we keep a few long life for emergencies such as this.
Room 20 is a Clasic Motel Room, average size, with 5star AH Beard QUEEN Bed, ensuite, air con, flat screen TV, microwave etc and is one of our budget rooms. Shower floors do get a bit slippy when using them it is the combination of soap, water, shampoo etc.
Sometimes we have had mix ups with pre booked taxis so we were happy to call one for you in the morning and it arrived promptly.
Tripadvisor is not a weapon to use against small family businesses like ours, if you have a problem tell us while you asre here and we can usually fix it for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This motel is reasonably priced not fancy but clean with good sized rooms comfortable beds and the buffet breakfast is very good. The position is good for a stroll up the main street to resturants and shops.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ngcroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We booked a family suite which was very spacious with good heating system, 3 heaters in our room! The bedding was comfortable and clean and towels were changed daily. Great toilet facilities with plentiful of toiletries which were being replenished every day.

Good lighting in the room, especially the bathroom where there is a spotlight kind of light which can keep one warm during shower in winter months. Never come across such light in those hotels I had stayed through my years of travel. There's even a jacuzzi in the bathroom!

However the carpet on the floor was a little run-down and there were no big plates provided other than some saucers with some cutlery.

The breakfast served every morning was excellent, great choices of food and plentiful. A wide variety of beverages were served too. The lady serving breakfast was extremely friendly and courteous. Beautiful deco and interesting reading materials posted on the walls in the dining room. The thought of the great breakfast make us want to go back there again!

However the receptionist wasn't too friendly especially to us, Asians. A little discriminating as we noticed he was very entertaining to the Europeans guests and answered all their questions and making recommendations to them but not to us when we tried to approach him!

The motel is very closed to shops, supermarkets, restaurants and tourist spots. There are a couple of very good Chinese restaurants, selling great food at reasonable prices, along the street.

Room Tip: Ask for room at ground floor if you have too many luggage. There's no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaymum59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, Kent
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Good value for money, well positioned, clean,friendly. Okay the fittings are a bit tired, but we liked it. Lady at breakfast made it great, buffet style and tables cleared and cleaned quickly. We had no noise. Lots of hot water even though we got in late after a great meal in the Paragon cafe followed by beers, music and snooker at the RSL. Great based for the town centre (Parts of which it appears time has forgotton, there should be preservation orders on so many buildings) and the mountains. Would return.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nualabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Last weekend we stayed here in this hotel, right in the centre of Katoomba, close to everything. The hotel was comfortable, though the room a little small. I was disappointed with the kitchen facilities as they were very limited. The breakfast was very very nice and the staff in this hotel was very courteous and helpful. The bed was comfortable, and there was an electric blanket if we needed it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the heritage part, like we had, and at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is the second time my partner and I have stayed here and there are good reasons for while we will again. It is very reasonable priced (for Katoomba) and the location is excellent. The name says it all – it is within an easy walking distance to all the restaurants and bars in Katoomba and only a 5 min drive from the Three Sisters. Sure, the décor is a little 70s, but that is also part of its charm. The breakfast (and the dining area) is also a little 70s, but the food is hearty and the buffet is generous. I’ve always found the staff here very friendly and willing to help if and when required.

My only small criticism is I have never managed to secure a king size bed when staying. As a very tall person, it can make a comfortable nights sleep a little tricky. But maybe an extra glass of wine before bed would sort that out in the future. My height (again) also made negotiating the very small shower a bit of a challenge. But really, for these rates, I’ll be returning to this motel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrMarc034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.3 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
917 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
571 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
400 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Mountains Heritage Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katoomba Town Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katoomba Town Centre

Property: Katoomba Town Centre
Address: 218-224 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Katoomba Town Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Katoomba Town Centre Motel is a proud member of the Equeva Group, established with a view to provide the Complete Accommodation Experience for every type of traveller; from individuals to extended families. Located in Katoomba, in the scenic upper Blue Mountains. Our motel is rich with culture, friendly customer service and located in the heart of Katoomba Town Centre where you can enjoy a variety of cafes, shops, galleries and walks to parks abundant with beautiful native flora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Katoomba Town Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katoomba Town Centre Hotel Katoomba
Katoomba Town Centre Blue Mountains, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing