We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, quiet and clean but small rooms with basic facilities.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Echo Point Discovery Motel
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The queen bed and one of the singles were comfortable but one if the singles was so soft that only a small child could sit or sleep on it. The room was clean and everything worked but it was very small and there were none of the nice little things like shampoo or shower caps. Overall, it was basic but acceptable.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonya271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2013

I had business in Katoomba, and this was the only hotel available in the travel agent's booking system - hence an overnight trip at the Echo Point.

Some good things include - easy check in, parking right at your door (and I note others have commented on how close it is to the 3 sisters - a plus for holiday makers), and the room has basically everything anyone really needs.

Some things that could do with work - the TV reception isn't the best (not all channels working all the time - but the weather was bad, so maybe that's the reason) and the in-room heater makes a strange 'ticking' noise.

The weather was very cold, and the in-room heater isn't really very effective. I went out for dinner and on return found another heater had been placed in my room making it very warm. I'd not asked for another heater, nor made any comments on feeling cold. It seems it's just a nice thought on the part of the owners - well done!

Room Tip: Pop up to the RSL club for dinner - with almost 200 items on the menu there is something for everyon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellin_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

My husband and I booked a different place online but when we arrived it was awful!!!! We needed new accommodation ASAP. We drive up the road and came across this little Motor in. The staff were brillant!! They could not have been more helpful and kind, we were able to rent a room, number 2 and we were very happy. It was very clean and tidy, everything in great working order. The heater was a real treat!! I would recommend this play to anyone!! The location was brillant, so close to everything you need! Thank you for saving our holiday Echo motor in!!!! Will be back soon!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mellon87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My family and I stayed here for two nights over the June long weekend. The room was dated, but neat and tidy, however in saying that, we did find a black sock and a pill under the bed, and a Domino's chicken pieces box in the microwave, complete with leftover chicken! The shower had obviously not been cleaned prior to our arrival, but this wasn't of huge concern. It may have bothered others expecting more though.
The beds are extremely comfortable, and the modern heating was more than adequate, making for a cosy room.
One of the fellows on reception was very friendly/helpful, and suggested we prebook a cave tour before driving there due to the crowds at Jenolan Caves on a Sunday. A very good tip, as most tours were selling out quickly before mid morning.
The $6 breakfast was good value also - cereals, tea/coffee/juice, english muffins and crumpets, toast, hot porridge and canned fruit. Great variety to start the day.
The location is fantastic! A 2 minute walk to the Sisters, a 30 min walk or so to Scenic World (totally recommended) and a 15 minute walk to Katoomba RSL, where we enjoyed the Chinese/Seafood buffet on the Saturday night for $25 ph, and Elvis was in the house, along with his caberet girls. The kids were allowed to watch the show and play snooker at the same time which they thought was a real treat!
The BM Chocolate Company is also just up the road, and also a small takeaway corner shop.
We also dined at the Family Hotel, where they will give you a 20% discount if you show your motel key upon paying. The pub has a nice dining room with an open fire. Unfortunately the meals were very slow in arriving and cold, and the blonde waitress complained we when produced our key for the discount, having a good old LOUD whinge about having ALREADY TOLD the motel management that they need to tell the guests to show the key upon ORDERING, NOT PAYING. I'm sure the other diners really appreciated hearing that conversation.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay at this motel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

My husband booked this directly through the Motel for 3 nights and found the managing staff extremely helpful and friendly. We were pleasantly surprised at the cost. It is a great location as you can walk to the 3 Sisters and short drives into Katoomba main street, Scenic World etc.

We were in room 104 which is at the end on the top floor and it had everything we needed. It was roomy, clean, comfortable and, yes a little dated, also included a microwave and kettle. We had breakfast downstairs for $6.00 per person which included cereals, porridge, prunes, fruit, toast, crumpets or muffins with condiments, tea/coffee and apple and orange juice. Not bad for the price!

We went to the club up the road on the Saturday night for the buffet dinner and it only cost $25 for all you can eat! Great, friendly service there too. We enjoyed this friendly little place, the quietness, the staff, the location and will be returning in future. Thank you to all who made our stay enjoyable and pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebrussL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We have stayed at Echo Point Motor Inn several times, most recently being last weekend. It is in a fabulous location only a few minutes walk to the 3 Sisters and is a good base for a stay in the mountains. The rooms are not flash but they are quite spacious, have all the facilities we need and we have always found them clean and comfortable. There is plenty of parking and you can park right outside your room. At night it is so quiet as there is very little traffic after dark. The fellow who checked us in was very helpful. We didn't have the continental breakfast as we have our favourite cafe's for breakfast but at $6 it seems like good value. If you are not after 5 star accommodation and just want a good value, quiet and comfortable place to stay then I would recommend Echo Point Motor Inn.

Room Tip: We usually book a view room with windows that face Echo Point
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennyG61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here from 5th June to 8th June and were so happy with our choice
The manager/ owner was so very nice and helpful
Our room was very spacious and clean.. The bathroom could use an update but was no problem at all... The bed was very comfy and the pillows were fine
The continental breakfast supplied was very tasty with choices from cereal/ porridge to toast.. Crumpets and raisin English muffins and fruit and prunes ...
We would certainly stay again and recommend it to anyone wanting a clean tidy and value for money hotel.
Thanks for a very enjoyable stay in katoomba

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalmy1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
1.1 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
996 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
603 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palais Royale Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Maison Boutique Hotel
La Maison Boutique Hotel
#13 of 15 in Katoomba
177 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
449 reviews
0.8 mi away
Katoomba Town Centre
Katoomba Town Centre
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Echo Point Discovery Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echo Point Discovery Motel

Address: 18 Echo Point Rd, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Echo Point Motor Inn)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Price Range: £42 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Echo Point Discovery Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Echo Point Discovery Motel you can enjoy a premier motel experience which caters for a variety of travellers including the adventure seekers, groups and coach tours. As the closest motel in Katoomba to Echo Point and the Three Sisters Lookout, we pride ourselves on our proximity to natural wonders and adventure, whilst remaining a quiet and serene place to rest your head at night. Visit our website or contact our friendly front desk staff for more information on packages, events and more. Echo Point Discovery Motel is a proud link in the Equeva Accommodation Group chain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Echo Point Discovery Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Echo Point Hotel
Echo Point Motel
Echo Point Discovery Motel Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing