We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfy and basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Echo Point Discovery Motel
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

It's an old motel and the rooms are old. But it's clean and comfortable. Basic. Has microwave and fridge which is nice. Breakfast which was included was perfect- crumpets, porridge, toast, cereals, fruits...
So nothing modern/fancy but clean and excellent location.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank advicefromus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

Location: The first words that come into mind about the location is: Serene, Tranquil
Do not expect it to be very modern. The feel is laid back, which gels with the place.
Rooms are nice and clean. Free parking.
Three sisters viewing point is just 2 minutes walk from this place. Fantastic location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dilish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed for 3 nites , Very Happy with exerything really . Staff excellent , Breakfast Great and Beds Super comfy would definitely stay again and recommend it Great Cheap Accommodation with in 200 mtrs of 3 Sisters ..... Thanks Again

Room Tip: Room 2 looks straight down the Rd to viewing platforms , very good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We arrived on a Sunday night when rates are much cheaper than the weekend. This hotel has all the basics including coffee set-up, mini fridge plus a microwave. When we checked in, the manager provided recommendations for dinner including discounts and advice on sightseeing in the area. A basic continental breakfast was also available for a reasonable price. We were within walking distance to the visitor center.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

No doubt the motel is in a Prime Location ,other than that, there is nothing more to add.
You shouldn't be expecting anything great from this place.
We had a family room for 2 nights.Room is small with an ensuite which is even more smaller.
The room is really outdated with 3 beds which really need replacement.
The ensuite had shower curtains which were really dirty.
Service was requested on Day 2 .All they did was rearrange the bedding with dirt still staying on ground.
Utilising some money from the accomodation costs should be enough to make this room presentable.






  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chandandr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

If you want a clean, comfortable, quiet place to stay which is within walking distance of Echo Point look out, then this is the place for you. The staff are friendly and helpful - they even put on the heaters before we arrived so the room would be toasty warm for us - and provided maps and tourist advice. Continental breakfast is a steal at $6 and includes porridge, muesli and cereals, toast, crumpets, stewed fruit, juice and tea and coffee. Our room had a kettle and fridge as well as a table and chairs for eating at and free parking right outside your room (a bonus as those who drive to Echo Point have to pay for parking!) I highly recommend staying here if you want good value for money in an exceptional location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AfricanAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Spent one night here with a friend on a weekend trip to Blue Mountains. We booked the twin room (1 queen bed + 1 single) through its website at AUD150 per night. Check in was quick and efficient on the day of arrival and our room was on the ground floor - very convenient with the car parked just outside.

The room is small but clean with a well functioned toilet. There is a kettle and microwave with tea and coffee bags provided. The downside about this room is that it is very cold. The electric blanket was provided only for the queen bed and it wasn't working. The electric heater unit was mounted by the window and while it provided some warmth, it was not enough for the whole room, especially on a cold winter night with strong winds blowing outside. The ventilator fan in the toilet made it even colder - unfortunately the fan cannot be switched off by itself.

However, the location made up for everything. The motel is a 5 min walk to Echo Point lookout which can be seen just outside our room. The view of the mountains (though at a distance) was gorgeous from our room. We could even walk to see the 3 Sisters (lighted up) at night.

The advice I would give for anyone who is interested to book this room during winter is to bring warm clothing for sleepwear and heat packs to combat the cold at night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tropics15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
1.1 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
968 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
592 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palais Royale Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
431 reviews
0.8 mi away
Katoomba Town Centre
Katoomba Town Centre
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
3 Sisters Motel
3 Sisters Motel
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Echo Point Discovery Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echo Point Discovery Motel

Address: 18 Echo Point Rd, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Echo Point Motor Inn)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Price Range: £49 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Echo Point Discovery Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Echo Point Discovery Motel you can enjoy a premier motel experience which caters for a variety of travellers including the adventure seekers, groups and coach tours. As the closest motel in Katoomba to Echo Point and the Three Sisters Lookout, we pride ourselves on our proximity to natural wonders and adventure, whilst remaining a quiet and serene place to rest your head at night. Visit our website or contact our friendly front desk staff for more information on packages, events and more. Echo Point Discovery Motel is a proud link in the Equeva Accommodation Group chain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Echo Point Discovery Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Echo Point Hotel
Echo Point Motel
Echo Point Discovery Motel Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing