We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We really enjoyed our 2 night stay in a Heritage room.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mountain Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountain Heritage
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We really enjoyed our 2 night stay in a Heritage room.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

After reading several reviews really didn't know what to expect but were pleasantly surprised on arriving at, our Heritage room. The room was spacious, very clean and although on the side of the building our room was sunny and had a filtered view of the mountains. We found the breafast to be very satisfying and loved the fact that we could walk to the main street of Katoomba. We plan to stay there again and have no hesitation in recommending it to family and friends

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    229
    101
    41
    24
See reviews for
96
329
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Went there with my two 20 yr old daughters for a bond two days. In family room for the first night. Had to change rooms for the second to small inadequate room for second night, third bed was sofa which was okay if one was a small child, occupant ended up sleeping on the floor; too uncomfortable to sleep on aforesaid sofa bed. Dinner was same price as nearby and excellent Silks at Leura, but the comparison ended at the price, the value being poor, food was okay, service was poor,uncoordinated, understaffed and waiters in a tizz, needing to be reminded of one's order. The background music was Michael Buble(?) all the time, one album of hits. Breakfast cost $19, and awful. The warmers were not supervised, hence the bacon, scrambled eggs, beans were cold by the time one git to the plate to the table. The automatic toast machine was slow and unsupervised. The same Buble tape played at breakfast again, was there all the time.even when I checked out at 11am on Saturday, commenting to the concierge about it, gaining the reply, "Oh is it?" I replied, "The same tape has been on since we arrived tow days ago, I used to like Michael Buble!"
Generally, the hotel is understaffed and under-supervised, no obvious management. Perhaps the icing not on the cake was being overcharged on check out to the tune of $180 which was rectified on my challenge. Bad taste in the mouth from experience. Only plus was the potential views which were not given to us although there were such rooms empty during our stay. For some reason the staff gave us cloistered rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rabbitto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Rabbitto,

Thank you for your feedback. Firstly I must point out that your accommodation was booked in advance by yourself, so you were aware that there was going to be a room change on your second night (with an additional charge for the larger room on the first night). I am not sure why you decided to choose that lesser priced room for yourself and your adult daughters because it really isn't adequate for 3 adults. The additional amount you were charged on checkout was correct, as it was for the larger room on the first night of your stay. You were refunded on checkout by our receptionist (not Concierge) when in actual fact the charges were correct as per your advanced booking information.
I was at dinner on the night you dined and was not aware that there were any problems with service, in fact we received some very positive feedback on that evening from other guests who dined. The Buble tape playing was at the request of the small conference group that were staying in house and consequently that is why it was playing again at breakfast.
During breakfast (again I was dining there) the temperatures of the food are checked regularly (with a food thermometer) to ensure that they are at the correct temperature as per our health safety requirements so I am not sure why your food would have been cold.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and yes we do have larger rooms with views but they are priced accordingly but where possible we do try and upgrade guests if these rooms are available which they weren't during your stay.

Thank you and Kind regards
Roger Sargison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

The staff were very friendly and helpful with great knowledge of the surrounding areas. The room (18) a spa and fire place suite was spacious with a warm gas fire, stronghot spa but with no view. The windows looked out upon the neighbouring buildings roof.
Room service was quick but the food was a little dissapointing. Mini Bar prices were out of this world, not that we ever use them.
At night they have a painist playing down in the bar which gives off a great vibe and warm atmsphere infront of the open fire place,
The hotel has been running since the 1880's I believe and if the service stays the way it is now, it'll continue for anothr 100 years!
Worth a pop in for a drink, even if yo dont stay, especially in the colder months!

Room Tip: Spa and Fireplace rooms are a must in the colder months!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRyanPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Enjoyed staying for one night, it's charming and gives you a bit of a feel for the history of the region. Restaurant food is not that great but the good service and surroundings make up for it. It's a place to stay inside and enjoy the hotel itself.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noisha26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Stayed one night at this hotel. It is an older style hotel with lovely heritage featurees, although it is in need of a lick of paint and basic maintenance. There are 2 fireplaces that you can sit and relax by, and a piano man that plays on a Saturday night. They douse the fireplaces around 10:30 so you cant sit up with a nightcap unless you get one of the rooms with your own fireplace. The resturaunt has lovely views over a valley. Didnt eat there for dinner. Breakfast was awful. Very stale and unappetising. Had the usual fruit, cereal, scrambled eggs etc. Would rather go to one of the local cafes. The rooms are very large with bed, lounge, and desk. The bathrooms are also quite big. The beds are comfy. THis hotel is the birthplace of CHristmas in July in The Blue Mountains and they hold a Yulefest each year. I havent been but a friend has and they thoroughly enjoyed themselves and are going back. Overall, this is a comfortable hotel with lots of nice features. Not 5 star but I would go back.

Room Tip: Te hotel is a bit of a rabbit warren but all rooms have close access to car park. If you want that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Didn't know what to expect by the few photos I had seen, first impressions were questionable but on walking inside was like going back in time. Was so facinated by the history and photos along the corridors of the building, the beautiful decor and furnishing are just amazing. Friendly atmosphere, warm comfortable room with king size bed and excellent service. Just far enough out of the township to be quiet and peaceful but close enough to go shopping. Great views of the Valley from the balcony. Very memorable time away.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanvic8250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

The Blue Mountains is really a beautiful place to see and the Mountain Heritage really was one of the places that just topped everything off!! The drive to the hotel was easy to navigate to and the staff upon arrival were fantastic!! The first impression of the hotel (from the outside) doesn't look like much, but once inside you can really tell why it is 4.5 Star! Beautifully decorated, cozy fireplaces, it definately old world charm at its best!! The room we stayed in was clean, cozy and quite big! On top of this my boyfriend and I had dinner at the Hotel's famous Jamieson's View. This was so spectacular, we went back for the second night! (and may i suggest the scallops as they are amazing!) It is was a surprise as it was not pricey and quite affordable! My Boyfriend and I would most certainly go back as it was beautiful place where couples can go for a relaxing weekend away!

Room Tip: You don't need a room with a view or anything fancy, the hotel's interior is beautiful and y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.3 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
1.2 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
5.4 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
3.3 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
5.3 mi away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Blackheath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Heritage

Property: Mountain Heritage
Address: Cnr Apex & Lovel Streets, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#6 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mountain Heritage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountain Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Heritage Katoomba
Mountain Heritage Hotel Katoomba
Mountain Heritage Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing