We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our anniversay...thank you”
Review of Mountain Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mountain Heritage
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Loved the place, that old heritage feeling about it.
Room was nice with a great view.
Dinner in the restaurant was perfect!
Only downside, I asked for champagne and chocolates on arrival as it was an anniversary surprise to my wife......well no chocolates, had to call reception to have them deliver.
Overall, a great place to stay with a great atmosphere, pianist with dinner was great also.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BasBizri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear BasBizri
Many thanks for your very positive comments.
We are delighted you enjoyed your anniversary stay with us and the heritage atmosphere of our historic mountain retreat.
I apologise, we did not get the champagne & chocolates into your room before your early check-in, I trust the short delay did not detract too much from the quality of your experience.
Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us, and we hope we can welcome you both back again soon.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

444 - 450 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

I was delighted when my husband pulled up outside this hotel. It looks grand from the outside, it is historical, and it is quaint on the inside. We had the turret room, It is not luxury, but it is huge, has a comfortable king bed, fold out sofas, and a spa bath. And a balcony. We are pretty sure the view would be lovely, but for the weekend we were there, the area was enveloped in fog and rain. So it would have been perfect, if only the staff were more warm and welcoming. I was informed that the restaurant welcomed children, so we had dinner there. I wish we hadn't. Very expensive ($34 for a tiny steak, $2 for a tiny bread roll, and $15 for a tiny dessert). Our desserts came out almost immediately, but we had to wait 20 mins for my son's dessert (scoops of ice cream). The staff was just downright rude, cold and dismissive when my son asked the whereabouts of his dessert. Their attitude left me cold. So Mountain Heritage - warmth and smiles never go astray, it makes people feel good to be there. About the only really friendly face was the woman who handled our check out - if only they all had her happy disposition!

Room Tip: If you have children, go somewhere else for dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrsmeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear mrsmeee
Thank you for your very frank comments. It seems we did not get things quite right for you during our busy dinner service. I apologise for the late arrival of your son's dessert, as the staff initially waited for your son to return to the table, and this may have caused the unfortunate delay in the order being processed. I trust this did not detract too much from your overall experience.
It is a shame the weather was not kinder to you, as the Tower Suite certainly does have great views of the Jamison Valley.
Your comments help us review our service standards, and ensure all guests receive a positive experience, and we appreciate your direct feedback.
Many thanks once again.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We were attracted to this hotel due to its proximity to spa sublime and a relatively cheap rate on expedia. We have stayed in Katoomba a few times now, and accommodation is generally quite expensive in the area. So compared to a place like Lillianfells, this stemmed like good value. We got the cheapest room in the hotel, and that was reflected in both the room size and the view (which was of the car park). It was a rainy day so we weren't really missing out on much.
The historical black and white photos on the walls gave an interesting glimpse into the history of the area. We had probably watched "The Shining" a bit too recently, so we wouldn't recommend this place to people that get a bit creeped out by old hotels.
On Saturday nights there is a pianist that comes and places a selection of tunes. It was quite relaxing sitting in the lounge room listening to him. Overall, the hotel had a nice atmosphere, but it was a bit dated and by no means high end luxury.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, preferably not right beneath the dining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonHSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear JonHSydney,
Thank you for your review.
Yes, some of our rooms (the ones at the rear of the building) do not have the lovely views of the Jamison Valley, but these can be enjoyed from the Cocktail Bar, Guest Lounge and our Jamison Views Restaurant.
It is pleasing you also enjoyed the historical nature of our building and the relaxing tunes of our Resident Pianist Allan Johnson who plays every Saturday night plus all special occasions whether these be Lunch or Dinner events.
Thank you again for your comments, and please come & stay with us again.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We arrived at the hotel to be told there was no booking for us but luckily I had thought to pack the printed confirmation. The receptionist informed us they did not have any of the rooms with a view I had booked available. I was disappointed as I had deliberately booked the higher priced room to ensure we had a view. However seeing my disappointment she reassured us we would not be disappointed with the room allocated - how right she was! The hotel upgraded us and our room had a lovely view from the balcony. We had a separate lounge area which we did not have time to make full use of but was beautifully furnished. The bedroom was comfortable and spa bath was fully utilised.
We were fortunate enough to decide to eat in the restaurant our first night (good job as it's closed on Sunday evenings), the food and wine were excellent. We would definitely stay here again just for the chance to eat an evening meal here again.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank K3nt_Carolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear K3nt_Carolyn
Thank you for your wonderful review.
Sorry about the initial mix-up with your reservation, and we are pleased we were able to make your stay a very positive one.
Thank you also for your wonderful feedback on our restaurant food & service, we will certainly be sharing your comments with our staff, who will be delighted you enjoyed experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the wonderful Blue Mountains again in the near future.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed here on 15 Feb for a getaway from Sydney with my partner. We chose a room with a view and glad we did (Room 10). Room very quiet and the Hotel had a lovely feel about it. The restaurant Jamisons was also good (except my beef was over cooked) we would still eat there again as other meals were great. 300m to centre of Katoomba. Overall a little tired in the rooms but overall the hotel had a great atmosphere. I would stay here again. Listening to the pianist in the lounge room before and after dinner was lovely. The girl at the bar trying to tally up the bar dockets saying F*** twice (and not quietly) was not.

Room Tip: Room 10 with a view upstairs and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jac L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear JacL
Thank you for your very positive comments. we are glad you enjoyed your visit, the views and the great atmosphere of our Jamison Views Restaurant, plus our wonderful Resident Piano Player who entertains everyone on Saturday Nights and on many other special occasions.
Your feedback is very important to us, and I will follow up regarding the staff member comments
you overheard, so this does not re-occur.
Many thanks once again, for taking the time to let us know how your stay was, and we trust we can welcome you back again in the future.
regards
Eric Sward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

My partner booked this hotel for valentines day. This is a lovely hotel with great views. The room was spacious and the bed was comfy. And an included breakfast in the morning was a great delight. We had dinner in the restaurant, food was beautiful, service was okay. The only issue we had which was small was the milk was out of date in our fridge, just became an inconvenience to walk down stairs to reception every time we needed milk for teas and coffees. But overall a beautiful motel. Thank you

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TravellingAus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear TravellingAus N
Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear you enjoyed your Valentines Day break with us.
Sorry we missed the out-of-date milk in your fridge, I have passed your comment onto Housekeeping. Our staff would happily supply as much fresh milk as you require, certainly not necessary to make a trip to Reception, I apologise for the inconvenience, and trust it did not detract too much from the quality of your stay.
Once again thanks for letting us know, which in turn helps us monitor our service and satisfaction levels experienced by our actual guests.
regards
Eric Sward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Having a deluxe room offers outstanding panoramic views, well worth it! My room was spacious as was the bathroom. Furnishings could do with an update. One gripe is --no in room safes which I am so used to on my national & international travels.

The downstairs Reception area, hallways, Bar & Lounges & Dining Room demonstrate the olden days charm with the furnishings, lighting & lead light. A wonderful atmosphere is therefore created.

It's worth reading the extensive/ fascinating history of the Mountain Heritage located in the Room Directory.

Beware that possums are in the area & I had a 12.30am to 12.45am scratching, grunting & bashing scenario on one night!

Room Tip: Deluxe for spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clio H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Clio H
Thank you for taking the time to review our Retreat.
Your positive comments are very welcome and we are pleased you enjoyed the ambience of our historic building, which is still operating as a guest house, (it's original purpose), and now in it's 106th year.
Unfortunately we do not have in-room safes, but your comment is one we need to consider for the future. We do however, offer safe keeping facilities at our front office.
I am sorry you heard some of our local wildlife, The possums like to abandon the trees and use our roof as a transit lane some nights. When they encounter one another, they do not seem to share our sense of hospitality. Thankfully this is a rare occurance, and I trust they did not disturb you too much or for too long.
Many thanks once again for your feedback, we really value your comments.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.3 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
955 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
1.2 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
3.3 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
1.2 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Heritage

Address: Cnr Apex & Lovel Streets, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#6 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range: £91 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mountain Heritage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountain Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Heritage Katoomba
Mountain Heritage Hotel Katoomba
Mountain Heritage Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing