We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evocative and calming”
Review of Mountain Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mountain Heritage
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I enjoy staying in lovely old spacious places that evoke days when people mingled in the communal areas and on terraces etc. The Mountain Heritage is an excellent example with large spacious lounges looking across the mountains. We only had a short overnight stay, but the overall ambiance and clean and tidy room itself made for a perfectly satisfying visit. I cannot comment on service beyond a friendly welcome and handed a key and given directions to our room, which was an adventure in itself! My 8 year old granddaughter also loved staying in what she called the 'mansion'.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank beth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear beth w
Thank you very much for your positive review.
It is pleasing you enjoyed the atmosphere and ambiance we have created here at out our 'mountain mansion', which is now in it's 106th year.
We are still operating as a guest house, the purpose for which it was originally built, and the design is such that the number of corridors can indeed be an adventure in themselves.
As you may appreciate, this is part of the charm of the building.
We hope you will return again soon with your family & may I suggest Yulefest in late June & July which is a wonderful family friendly event.
Regards
Eric Sward
general Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

423 - 429 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

I'v been to blue mountain countless time but this was the first time staying over night! Very friendly and nice staff! they let me play their grand piano! We stayed in the spa view room ( room with 2 big windows) and I was very happy with the view and the display in the room. Unfortunately the hotel wasn't opened for dinner that night but i guess it gave us opportunities to explore nice restaurants around the hotel~

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kitty X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Kitty X
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
I am sure other guests enjoyed your piano playing as much as our staff did.
We trust your next visit will be an overnight stay as well, and we hope we can welcome you back to The Mountain Heritage.
Thank you once again for taking the time to review our Mountain Retreat.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Have stayed in this place twice and wouldn't mind staying again on my next trip to the Blue Mountains. Hotel is lovely, opposite to modern, it is very homy, Restaurant with pleasant ambiance and view.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Misheeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Mishee M
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you very much for your positive feedback.
We also, would love to welcome you back when next you travel to the Blue Mountains.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My wife and I stayed there two nights.
Great location especially when having breakfast, you can have the view over the mountain.
However the room was not serviced when we came back second night! Used towels were in the bath tub with no replacement. The toothbrush we brought were binned. Bed was not done at all. We had to go to the reception asking for clean towels and shower gels. We didn't ask for a change of room as too tired.
The room was quite noisy as you can clearly hear the foot steps upstairs.
A great or terrible experience would make me want to write a review and this one was terrible!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikeyang13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Mikeyang 13
Thank you for your feedback.
I am following up on your comments, it seems our housekeeping has made an error in not servicing your room.
Please accept our apology for this unfortunate mistake.
I would love to discuss this with you and will call you direct on the number you gave us.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Very elegant and quite hotel even the day we checked in was fully-booked. The staffs are polite and well-trained. The room is well-decorated with old vintage style. Love the backyard garden and lobby of the hotel especially.

Room Tip: Rooms with view and spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tchang012000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear tchang012000
Thank you for your lovely review.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, our staff and your room.
I will certainly share your comments with our team who will be very pleased to hear such positive feedback.
We hope you will come back and stay with us again.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed overnight in the middle of Autumn and were bowled over by the view of the blue mountains. Perched on top of a hill, rooms on one side of the hotel have enviable views of the mountains. Unfortunately, our deal involved us staying on the other side, where there was no view at all. On the first floor, where the rooms are, the floorboards are such that movement in other rooms could be felt/heard by us in our room. Overall, the place feels old. This could have been intentional, but the faint smell of mould betrays the hotel's age. Even while the views on the veranda are excellent, more could be done with the parking area (divided into several open spaces) and the outside fountain (where a cistern-like device to control water flow could be seen above the water). No complaints with our dinner and breakfast at the hotel restaurant. The food was first class and the service was impeccable, as expected of a 4.5 star hotel. All in all a not bad overnight stay.

Room Tip: The extra cost of selecting a room with a view of the Blue Mountains is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jujie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Jujie A
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and you found our restaurant dinner & service first class and impeccable.
Yes indeed, the view over the Jamison Valley is something special, and we agree the extra cost of a room at the front of the building, overlooking the valley is well worth it, even though the same views are available from the guest lounge, cocktail bar, restaurant and the outside verandahs.
We are of course an old (106 years) building, still operating as a Guest House, for which we were originally built, and maintaining the look & feel is a challenge at times.
Thank you for your feedback on the car park(s) we will have a look at how we can improve these, although we have deliberately avoided making the parking bays too stringent, as we have many different/oversized vehicles stay from time to time.
Once again, thank you for your comments, we do appreciate your constructive feedback.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Nice hotel, with that old vintage feel, but with modern commodities.
Nice staff. Pleasing overall, but a bit stuffy in some corners, that show it's age, with some lack of maintenance.
A shame, because it really gives you a true heritage experience, with nice staff to go with.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jnmarinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear jnmarinho,
Thank you for review. It is pleasing you liked our 106 years old mountain retreat and the nice staff
who really make a difference for us.
We do maintain a full schedule of maintenance, which you may appreciate is quite extensive in our historic building, and I trust there was not something that detracted from the level of satisfaction of your stay with us. I would be pleased to hear from you direct if you wish to do so regarding any item that was of concern to you.
Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with your comments.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.3 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
955 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
1.2 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
3.3 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
1.2 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Heritage

Address: Cnr Apex & Lovel Streets, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#6 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range: £90 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mountain Heritage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountain Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Heritage Katoomba
Mountain Heritage Hotel Katoomba
Mountain Heritage Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing