We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous building and surroundings not so great room and service.”
Review of Mountain Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mountain Heritage
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Building was amazing, loved the fireplaces and the general feel of it.
Disappointments;
• seeing a shower curtain in the bathroom when it had clearly been renovated not that long ago
• TV not working - had to call 3 times for someone to come and fix it
• not advised at checkin that we had a complimentary breakfast on the second night of our stay, it didn't appear on our copy of the booking details and we didn't find out til checkout when they listed it on our bill - when we explained we didn't realise it was included we were told, oh well, it really is built in to the cost of the accommodation you would have paid that much regardless. The breakfast for 2 was valued at $80

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TV2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear TV2011
Thank you for your review.
Firstly let me apologise for the tardy response by our maintenance staff to re-tune the TV in your room, which was a rather busy night for us.
Most of our rooms do have shower curtains rather than glass, but we do have some suites with separate glassed showers, which would perhaps suit you better, so please ask for one of these, should you wish to stay with us again.
I also wish to apologise for the confusion around the breakfast, and the fact that our receptionist did not make this clear during check-in. Because you paid a higher rate for the second night of your stay, we decided to include a complimentary breakfast (which is why it did not appear on your booking), how ever it seems this was not made clear to you when you arrived. The $80 amount you noticed on your account was the balance of your account at that time, although having checked this I see it is not completely clear as it appears next to the complimentary breakfast notation.
It is pleasing you enjoyed our building and the feel of our wonderful mountain mansion, and the warming open fireplaces. It is disappointing we fell short in a couple of aspects of our service, and I hope you will return and give us another chance to make it right.
Thank you once again for your feedback.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

412 - 418 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Although a little bit expensive, it really is a lovely hotel, perfect for a weekend getaway. Loved the fireplaces downstairs too with views looking out over the valley. Only small issue is the spa, a little bit old/not fully functioning. But apart from that, highly recommend

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dschrafft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Dschrafft
Thank you for your wonderful review, it is indeed pleasing you enjoyed the many aspects of your stay with us.
I am a little intrigued by your comment regarding the spa in your room. We tested it and it is fully functioning, and I am wondering if the water jet settings may have been turned to low during your stay? I would be pleased to discuss this further with you should you wish to, and have the time to call me direct at the Hotel.
Once again, thank you for for taking the time to provide us with your comments.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Great spot, we stayed in one of the Valley View Suites. Separate to the main hotel, own parking which was great. Very spacious suite, own balcony, lounge room, fully equipped kitchenette, very very comfy bed, great night's sleep. There were a few little things that would have lifted our time there to the next level, given the amount we spent for our time away, but I have e-mailed the hotel direct to provide this feedback.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Binny111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Binny 111
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
It is pleasing you enjoyed your stay in one of our quite special Valley View Suites.
I am intrigued by your additional comments, and I don't appear to have received an additional email, so I would be very pleased if you could call me direct at the Mountain Heritage so we can chat about your suggestions.
Many thanks once again for your comments.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

So yes, the hotel is a bit expensive. But it was such a great experience.
Yes the hotel can seem a little bit old school on some comfort, but so genuine.
This is why we love it so much. The decor, the furniture, the garden, everything here is genuine and makes you live at the Blue Mountains rhythm.
The staff is absolutely lovely and will help you getting the best of your stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qlemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear qlemarie
Thank you for your lovely review.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at our unique mountain mansion.
I will share your feedback with our staff who also take great pride in helping make our guests stay a very positive one.
Once again, thank you for your comments, and we hope you will visit us again.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Good aspect, spectacular view from lounge and dining room, lovely staff, piano in lounge playable if one asks nicely, rooms cozy and generous, make sure to ask for a room on quiet side to avoid traffic noise early in the morning. Will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SG W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear SG W
Thank you for your wonderful review.
We enjoyed having you stay with us, and are glad you and your party had a great time and a relaxing break in the mountains.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

As the first cold snap was due to arrive on the weekend we (the love of my life) and me decided to go where we had never been before - Mountain Heritage, Katoomba
What a delight - the staff, service, food, location and warmth (fires) were all-excellent.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear David T
It was a delight to welcome you and your wife to our mountain retreat.
We are very pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, including our warming log fires which add something special on those crispy cool nights.
We hope you both will come back and stay with us again.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had a one night stay at the Mountain Heritage in Katoomba. The hotel is very grand looking from the outside and is just as lovely from the inside. Check in was quick and simple and we were given a spa room, No 5 as booked. The room was lovely, very clean and quite spacious. The bed was large and soft and there was plenty of room to put your luggage. The bathroom was also very large with a combined spa/shower (not quite what we imagined the “spa unit” to be). There was an ok view although not really the best. Breakfast the next day was nice; the continental was included in the price and quite good with a range of cereals, toast, pastries and fruit. A cooked breakfast could be added for $12 extra from memory. There is plenty of parking and a lovely view from the veranda and dining room.

The hotel is around 1 3/4 hours drive from the city centre, although with road works ongoing until 2016 expect longer delays during weekends and peak periods. It is an easy 10 min walk to the centre of Katoomba with a great selection of restaurants and shops. Most of the attractions for the Blue Mountains are less than ten minutes away by car, although there is a sight seeing bus that does a circuit if you don’t have a car, leaving from Katoomba train station (again a ten minutes walk from the hotel). Leura is five minutes drive up the road which also has a great selection of shops and cafes.

The only real complaint I have is the exorbitant price charged for accommodation over the long weekends which I don’t feel match the quality, but that is not restricted to this hotel and at the end of the day we chose to go at that time so what do you do?

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NX622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Maxi M
Thank you for your (mostly) wonderful comments.
I am really sorry you did not have a great experience with our beds.
We have a bed replacement program in place, and our beds are either new, or near new.
I would be pleased if you can contact me direct at the hotel so I can follow up on the specific room/bed you are referring to.
We would like you to come back and stay with us again, so I want to make sure we can resolve the deal breaker for you.
Once again thank you for letting us know, we are always pleased to receive feedback that can help us improve.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.3 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
955 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
1.2 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
3.3 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
1.2 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Heritage

Address: Cnr Apex & Lovel Streets, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#6 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range: £91 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mountain Heritage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountain Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Heritage Katoomba
Mountain Heritage Hotel Katoomba
Mountain Heritage Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing