We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas in July a winner, with superior service a highlight”
Review of Mountain Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mountain Heritage
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Reviewed 16 July 2014

With a group of 13 we spent a very enjoyable 2 nights at The Mountain Heritage 11-12th July. Our room was ready on check-in and was very nice, clean and warm. We had a deluxe double, which was on the ground floor, so the view of the valley was limited, but it was cheaper than the rooms upstairs with the view. In any event, the room was a good size, very clean and comfortable. Bathroom was also clean, and of a good size. The positive of being on the ground floor meant we didn't have to tote our bags up the steep stairs. Reception staff were courteous, and sorted without fuss the problem we had in relation to our room being taken by someone else!

The restaurant and sitting areas are very comfortable, with open fires in the sitting areas. Very pleasant. Breakfast was the standard hot & cold buffet, but well presented and plentiful. Scrambled eggs were the standard offering, but you can order eggs as you like them (poached etc.). The serving staff are excellent - very polite and attentive, without being obtrusive. The Yulefest dinner on Saturday night was exceptional - 4 courses, followed by port & mince pies in the library or sitting areas. Entertainment was provided by a four person singing group doing Christmas songs, as well as a visit from Santa Claus, which the kids present loved, and they were given gifts as well. Photos also came with the package - an excellent addition.

Overall an above average weekend. We enjoyed ourselves very much. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Upper level South east corner rooms have a terrific view of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dragonman106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Dragonman106,
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are very pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your 2 night Yulefest weekend stay with us.
We love catering for groups, and as you know, it makes for a great relaxing fun night for friends to get into the spirit of our Yulefest festival.
We hope you and your group will join us again next year.
Once again, thank you very much for your very positive feedback.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

396 - 402 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

We attended as a group last weekend , the package was good, rooms were warm and comfortable, log fires roaring, staff were very accommodating and nothing was too much trouble.
Check in was efficient , all professionally handled

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Michael V
It is wonderful to hear you and your group enjoyed our premier event, Yulefest last weekend.
We appreciate your positive comments, I will certainly share them with our staff.
We hope you will join us again next year in our 35th year of presenting our Yulefest celebration in the the beautiful Blue Mountains.
Once again, thank you for your comments.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was our 2nd visit to Mountain Heritage. When I rang to book I asked for the room that we had stayed in previously, I was told that the floor we had previously stayed on was booked out. As I had waited till the day before we travelled to book I completely understood but we were very pleasantly surprised on arrival to be given the room beside our previous room and chocolates and a welcome back note were waiting for us. The staff once again were very pleasant and everything was spotless. The close proximity to the main street is wonderful and the views are spectacular. I am sure we will return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jennifer Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Jennifer Z
We are always delighted to welcome back guests who have stayed with us previously, you are like gold to us.
Thank you for your wonderful comments, we are really happy you enjoyed your return visit, and we trust there will be many more.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Couldn't of asked for any better. Suited us perfectly in every way. Clean rooms and great location with helpful staff. Would stay there again when in the area. Loved the ambience and old world charm. The perfect romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SK6669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear SK6669
Thank you very much for your wonderful review.
We are always delighted to receive such positive comments.
It is very pleasing you enjoyed your stay with us including the ambience and old world charm of our 106 year old mountain mansion.
We hope you will return and stay with us again.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

On a cold clear mountain day, we arrived at the Mountain Heritage, delighted by our room that commanded views over the spectacular Jamison Valley. It was tastefully decorated in the heritage style, and everything was very clean. Windows could be opened to let the fresh air in, and a quiet air conditioner ensured the room was adequately heated. Being just a short walk to the main centre of Katoomba, meant we could walk for dinner in the brisk mountain air, arriving home afterwards to our warm and cosy room. The continental breakfast in the dining room was tasty and made all the more enjoyable because of the spectacular views from the tables. At all times we experienced friendly and helpful service. We are looking forward to our next anniversary!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Annabel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Annabel D
Thank you for your wonderful review.
It is very pleasing to receive such positive feedback and that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay at our historic mountain retreat.
We hope you will come back and stay with us again when next you travel to the beautiful blue mountains.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Room was spotlessly clean and a reasonable size, but we were unable to access it until 2.45pm, despite check- in being from 2 pm. I have never had to wait for a room to be prepared anywhere else when I have pre-booked. The "billiard room" was disappointing, being housed in a separate building with no ambience, just a whiteboard and chairs. The table was not in good condition and we had to search cupboards to find the balls. Drink prices were too high. Staff were generally very pleasant and helpful. The lounge areas were very nice. Could be better for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Deb T
Thank you for your review.
Unfortunately we did not have enough resources to have your room prepared by 2pm, and we apologise that this has detracted from the level of satisfaction you experienced with your stay.
The Billiards table is indeed housed in a separate building within the grounds, and it appears the balls were still in the cupboard and not on the table ready to go.
It is pleasing however, you found the staff to be pleasant and helpful, and you enjoyed our wonderful lounge area.
Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel for a romantic quiet weekend. Well its full off drunken idiots playing the piano. Its so noisy we can hear each other talk. Big mistake comeing here. Its also quite expensive and the price does not reflect the standard of room. We had a spa room with fireplace. It was average at best.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
6  Thank dave2224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear dave2224
It was good to talk to you today.
You chose to stay with us on one of our Yulefest nights, which includes, Carol Singers, Piano Player and Cabaret Show.
We celebrate Yulefest every Saturday night in July and some in June and August.
It seems our staff did not inform you of this when you made your booking, and you were not aware until you arrived at the hotel.
We apologise that the music/singers detracted from the quality of your stay.
It is pleasing you mentioned you will be back, and we look forward to welcoming you then albeit on a night we do not celebrate our signature event,Yulefest.
Once again, thank you for discussing your stay with me and providing us with some valuable feedback.
Regards
Eric Sward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.3 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
955 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
1.2 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
3.3 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
1.2 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Heritage

Address: Cnr Apex & Lovel Streets, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#6 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range: £90 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mountain Heritage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountain Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Heritage Katoomba
Mountain Heritage Hotel Katoomba
Mountain Heritage Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing