We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely”
Review of Lurline House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lurline House
Ranked #5 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

A very nice B&B! It is clean, cozy, close to Echo point, the breakfast is generous and delicious, and the hosts are very nice and helpful. There are lots of nice details - like better than usual area information, personalised restaurant recommendations, a quite big and diverse DVD library and magazines. I can recommend it for many reasons.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank wicon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 347 of 721 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

This is one of the best B&B's I have ever stayed in. The house was beautiful. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The full breakfast was amazing, not and cold options. We stayed two nights and enjoyed the space in the living room and the outdoor patio to enjoy our own bottle of wine. I would highly recommend this anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

What a gem Lurline House is! Right from the minute we were greeted by the owner we knew that this was a special place - really comfortable and welcoming. Beautiful room, with great attention to detail, a very comfy bed, giving a restful nights sleep, and a lounge I could happily retire in. Our expectations were high, having read previous reviews, and were easily met - the breakfast was the best we have had in a B&B and to watch it being cooked right in front of you just added to the experience.
We also loved the town and the walks from Echo Point - great views from the cafe balcony (outside bus stop). The walk down the full Giants Staircase was a knee trembler (thank goodness for the hearty breakfast) and thankfully the scenic railway (1.5 hour walk) saved us having to attempt an arduous return climb.
Top tip - if you like cream teas, then head over to the Carrington Hotel in the centre of town for two of the biggest scones you will ever see.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

My classmate and I stayed here during our three-week tour of Australia, and it was amazing. We were exhausted when we arrived on the train from Sydney since we had left very early in the morning. And Suzanne was kind enough to pick us up from the station. Our room wasn't ready, and we had another appointment shortly after, but she welcomed us into the dining area, and Peter cooked us a marvelous breakfast.

Later that afternoon, when we returned, Peter told us that the room we had reserved was not available, and instead he put us in one of the cottages. It was amazing - two bedrooms, living area, huge kitchen, patio, laundry facility. The bathrooms had heated floors, towel warmers, and heated lights in the ceiling. Since it was winter while we were there, this was a welcomed amenity.

I wish I could go back to Australia just so I can stay at the Lurline House again. It felt like a home, and Peter and Suzanne were wonderful hosts - they truly made us feel welcomed. And went so far as to drop us back off at the train station upon our departure. They went above and beyond at hosts, and I recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I chose Lurline, because of it's good reviews here on TA and it lived up to my expectations.
Once we got off the train from Sydney, Lurline's location was within easy walking distance from the station, but on days we were tired from walking, the handy bus came right past the door.

Our room was lovely with everything we needed. The comfy four poster canopy bed had the shear drapes hanging down, so I had to try them, very cosy. We chose a Jacuzzi suite which was perfect for aching bones from hiking and taking the chill off in the evening. The bathroom and corner tub were beautiful and clean. The room was super comfortable with a couch for curling up on to watch TV complete with a throw. The TV was housed inside the old stove alcove with the stove still there. My husband enjoyed this since they had a similar wood cook stove in their old farm house.

The room was fairly sound proofed, though I always bring ear plugs just in case. In the breakfast room area there were books to read, and other guide books of the area guests could borrow. The breakfast room was spacious and nicely decorated with a hand full of dining tables for guests. Breakfast was delicious: fresh cooked at a long kitchen area. They accommodated my vegetarian request easily: there was lots of fresh fruit! The lovely setting outside the large patios windows with colourful birds at the feeder was a great way to start the morning.

A generous supply of umbrellas (brollies) were available to use on rainy days.
Our hosts, a husband and wife team, were super pleasant, and hard working (sorry, I've forgotten their names). They would give you any advice or information required during your stay in the area.

The over all value of the room with the breakfast was very good and the price reasonable.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi rooms are nice to enjoy that amenity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cocoa3c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Whilst staying in Sydney with friends, we were advised The Blue Mountains could not be missed. We decided to stay overnight and are very pleased we selected Lurline House. The owners were as friendly and helpful as all other reviews stated. The room was very cosy and the spa bath was welcome indeed. I think the highlight was the incredible breakfast, the service and quality was exceptional. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights and just wished we could have stayed a bit longer. From the moment we arrived we kept getting lovely surprises, like the free upgrade to the charming cottage instead of the room we'd booked, the superbly cooked breakfast in the morning and the exotic birds feeding right outside. Peter and Suzanne were very friendly and helpful and really made you feel at home. The location was also excellent, with Echo Point and the Three Sisters just a 10-15 minute walk away. I'd also like to mention the restaurant almost next doors: Pins on Lurline. Fantastic food for a very reasonable price - highly recommended to go for dinner at least once during your stay (and just a one minute walk from the guest house - what more could you want?).

We would definitely recommend Lurline House to anyone wishing to stay in the Blue Mountains!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IngeDowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.7 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
1,010 reviews
0.5 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Palais Royale Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Maison Boutique Hotel
La Maison Boutique Hotel
#13 of 15 in Katoomba
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kurrara Historic Guest House
0.6 mi away
Windradyne Boutique
Windradyne Boutique
#3 of 19 in Katoomba
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lurline House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lurline House

Address: 122 Lurline St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range: £50 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lurline House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lurline House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lurline House Hotel Katoomba
Lurline House Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing