We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”
Review of Lurline House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lurline House
Ranked #6 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I just can't fault the place - great location for sightseeing and a very welcoming host. On arrival tea in the lounge was a pleasant surprise.The room was very colonial and comfortable that opened out on the front veranda. The lovely touch of not only chocolate but a calendar of the area was a lovely touch as we visited just after New Year. The breakfast was perfect and cooked in front of us which again is a nice touch in that you can chat to the host as he cooks. The little courtyard outside is a little haven if you want to see the parrots come down to feed.On coming in from dinner it was a treat to help yourself to a glass of port before bed. the quality is testament to the host's [sorry forgot the name :-( ] background in major hotels. I love the place and next time I'm in the stunning Blue Mountains there would be nowhere else to stay.

Room Tip: Just book one !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

292 - 298 of 700 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

What a wonderful warm and welcoming stay at Lurline House. After just 1 night, the stress of Sydney life had gone, thanks to a fabulous nights sleep (wonderful bed), very homely (but private) environment, warm and gracious hosts, and an outstanding breakfast to kick start the day. Think 5 stars, but B&B style. My initial concern of street noise was quickly eliminated as I quickly fell asleeep. The location is a stroll to shops, and attractions, and I'll certainly be back. If you've booked at that '5 star hotel down the road', re-consider, and book here instead.

Room Tip: My preference would be a room at the rear of the property, offering a quite location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LovetravelSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Classic, classy, comfortable and cosy! This B&B has it all. One of the best I've ever stayed in. The hosts are friendly and helpful and cook a wonderful breakfast. The whole house has a warm intimate atmosphere and the rooms are homely laced with old world charm. Wouldn't think of staying anywhere else if I go back to Katoomba.

Room Tip: The rooms at front have a nice view but the room at back (past kitchen) is superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanH1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is our third stay at Lurline house. The place is wonderful! The hospitality is excellent! the house is immaculately clean and wonderfully furnished! The breakfast is excellent and the price is extremely reasonable! The best bed and breakfast I have visited! You will not find anything better to match the price, location and hospitality!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank n j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My husband and I have just spent two nights at Lurline house and were absolutely over the moon with the whole experience. The property is spotless and the owners very friendly and hospitable. We stayed upstairs in the main house so were at the back of the road and were awoken with gorgeous birds in the trees in the morning . A quick walk downstairs and a fully cooked breakfast with all the trimmings awaited us. The property is stunning and only a very short walk to town also a day spa art gallery and restaurant. So if travelling by train no problems.

To conclude you must visit this gorgeous place ASAP.

Roger and Martina bondi.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roxyrandwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We spent 11 days traveling in Australia and Lurline House was by far the best stay. The house was spotless and very well decorated. Our room was fantastic. I can't remember the room number, but downstairs and in the back of the house. It was very nice, quiet and clean. It does have its own bath, jacuzzi.

The owners are top notch very warm and attentive. The breakfast was full blown, plenty of options and cooked to order. We wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else if we go back.

Oh, if you go into town and eat at Subway don't tell them. :D

Room Tip: In the back of the main house ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AHornback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is absolutely the most welcoming and enjoyable B&B I have stayed at in a while. Peter and Suzanne take care of you when you're in town! The house is furnished with an impeccable attention to detail, with the added charm of antique styled furnishings. The location of the place is a convenient 10 minute walk to Echo Point (perfect if you're trying to catch the sunrise at Three Sisters). It is also a short 10 minute walk to the city center. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the lovely breakfast conversations with the hosts, and their helpful tips on hikes and trails around town. This is truly a gem in the blue mountains!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ARoy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.7 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
968 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kurrara Historic Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
0.4 mi away
Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lurline House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lurline House

Address: 122 Lurline St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range: £51 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lurline House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Lurline House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lurline House Hotel Katoomba
Lurline House Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing