We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and atmospheric”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jamison House & The Rooster Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Quaint and atmospheric”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

It was misty, cold and raining in the Blue Mountains, but we were warm and relaxed in the upstairs sitting room of Jamieson House courtesy of a roaring fire lit by our hosts. Bedrooms were well heated - each room was decorated in an eclectic ye-old manner and the lovely old guest house was the perfect setting for a mid week getaway.

Slightly eccentric host carried our bags to our room and disappeared. Would have been nice if he'd given us a quick overview of the place, but we worked it out.

Food was plentiful in the gorgeous dining room (silver service and white linen tablecloths and napkins) and all in all it was a wonderful experience.

Only downside was the verandah were we had breakfast - it was old (and not in a gorgeous antique way) , a bit musty and needed a thorough clean. Breakfast was a make-it-yourself continental-ish (you cooked your own eggs in an egg cooker) which was a bit of a pain as the toaster/jug/egg cooker cupboard was very, very tiny indeed, however the tray had been delivered to our rooms and fresh fruit and cheese was an interesting addition to cereal, toast and spreads. Not that we were hungry after all the food we ate during the three course dinner!

The Jamison was a comfortable walking distance to the main street of Katoomba were we did the usual touristy things - including Devonshire Tea at the Paragon.

We had a mid-week package deal which included dinner, so while it wasn't cheap, we felt that we had great value for money! Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank annabellequinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    26
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
10
77
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Perfect location, midway between Katoomba and Leura and right on the cliffs (hike accessible right outside your door, can walk to either town). Friendly owner with good local advise. One of the best restaurants in town downstairs (expensive but a nice splurge). Room a little dated but large and comfy with fabulous view (ask for front room). Breakfast is do it yourself but they provide good ingredients. Only downside during our stay was the smoking policy - smoking is allowed on the verandah, which opens directly off the rooms - which would be fine if smokers were responsible, but on our visit 4 men set up there to smoke their cigars at 11:30 at night, after we had gone to bed, and the vile smell came right under our door and into our room. We woke up, had to ask them to stop and stay up for a few hours freezing with all the windows open to air out the room. But I don't really blame the owner because who would ever imagine guests would do this? A cigarette maybe but cigars?!! Perhaps the policy needs to state "no pipes or cigars".

Room Tip: front room has a view over the side of the canyon
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cantravnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2010

This Guest House is not in town - about 5 blocks away, but I don't think the town has a lot to offer. Yes, there are other hotels closer to the main tourist centre, but this place is directly opposite the Prince Henry Cliff walk, and the Rooster restaurant is the real reason we stayed here. The tourist office told us the hotel was full, but we wanted to eat here. So we went to make a reservation for dinner, and casually asked if there was a room - yes.

The food was superb. Our waiter was very proper and knowledgeable. Unbelievable to have this level of service outside of a major city and snooty hotel. The restaurant is NOT a place for backpackers, loud families, or rowdy kids. Formal attire is not required, but I felt more at home with a white shirt rather than my usual check shirt.

There was free WiFi. Always gets my seal of approval.

We took a room without a view - a larger bed was the factor here. But the view from the breakfast area made up for it. We spent an hour or so in the afternoon catching up on emails and work, overlooking the valley from the breakfast area.

This is not a modern building, but quaint, clean and good service. I rate it 10/10 for the situation it is in, comparing it with other accommodation in Katoomba. There are maybe 2 or 3 other better located hotels, more modern, and they may deserve a 10/10 too, but the Jamison, together with the Rooster restaurant will not disappoint.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelBeaucoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

I have been eating at the Rooster restaurant for years but didn't stay at the guesthouse till Xmas/ New Year 1009/ 2010. I stayed in Room 1 and it was fantastic. I love the decor, the old worlde feel to the place and the amazingly yummy aromas from the restaurant downstairs. This year I'm going to stay at the Greens in Leura but that's because I'll be with my partner and want a spa bath and unlimited free internet access (he is always on the net!!). The view from the guesthouse/ hotel is fantabulous and even though I won't be staying there this year I'll definately make an appearance as it were in the restaurant!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marmeladethecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2009

This B&B was the nicest place we have stayed at in Australia or France. Our spacious room at the front had a magical changing view of the Jamison Valley. The bed was very comfortable with a beautiful silky reversible quilt cover. The mini-kitchen was set up so we could toast the bread and poach the eggs provided on a very generous breakfast tray. The roomy ensuite bathroom had plenty of bench space and heated towel rails.
The guesthouse and restaurant were decorated with good artwork, historical photos and antiques. The food in the Parisienne-style restaurant was superb, as was the service.
We took advantage of the midweek special offer, $260 for a 3 course dinner, bed and breakfast - fantastic value.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TwoMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Right on the edge of the cliffs looking over the national park and- occasionally- early morning clouds filling the valley below. The guest lounge is a highlight but remember to ask the staff to top up the port decanter if you plan to fully enjoy it all night. Rooms are charming. The shower's hot water works and the pressure is fine. Comfortable mattresses and snug quilts guarantee a great night's sleep- especially as there is NO traffic noise at night. Large breakfast was appreciated and you are only staggering distance up a flight of stairs from the fine Rooster restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2009

We decided to stay after reading other reviews.
The room was great clean, spacious and well fitted. Nice big bed and great bathroom.
Lovely fire in the lounge area, very quiet and relaxing.
Had dinner at the Rooster restaurant downstairs, which was a tad expensive but the service and the food was excellent.
Overall was a great place to stay, and was definitely a highlight of the trip!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.6 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
933 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
577 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
0.2 mi away
Kurrara Historic Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamison House & The Rooster Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamison House & The Rooster Restaurant

Property: Jamison House & The Rooster Restaurant
Address: 48 Merriwa St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Jamison House & The Rooster Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to this beautifully restored Edwardian guesthouse built 125 years ago, superbly located on the escarpment overlooking the Jamison Valley. Jamison Guesthouse beckons with warm hospitality and breathtaking views. Traditional French cuisine, refined dining and personal service await you and those most important in your life. Luxury accommodation is offered upstairs in four guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Jamison House & The Rooster Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamison House & The Rooster Restaurant Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing