We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not cleaned”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jamison House & The Rooster Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Katoomba, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“not cleaned”
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Having been quiet a few times over the last 10 years and consistently singing the praises of this establishment, it is with great regret i find myself writing this review.

I was taken aback by the gruff manor my enquiry was handled, but i chalked this up to being a local and the call being close to the beginning of service.

Dinner was everything we knew it would be, we were recognized immediately and greeted as old friends. as always the service at dinner was faultless, the food spectacular. exactly what we have come to expect.

We elected to retire and enjoy our cheeses in the room and asked that it be sent up, whenever they could find the time. upon venturing into the bathroom i discovered housekeeping had erred severely. the bathroom, simply, had not been cleaned. the toilet still retained fecal matter from previous guests, soap and face washer still in the shower and an unmopped floor clear indications of total failure.

when the waitperson arrived with or cheese he was simply shocked, perhaps appalled would be a better description. after a few seconds of contemplating the options (there were no other rooms) he literally started rolling up his sleeves to get in there. i told him that the restaurant floor was probably more important (service was ongoing) and this was a lower priority, please take care of it when you have time.
a short time later, an apologetic senior waitperson and a very abashed kitchen hand appeared at my door and had the problem sorted post haste.
these things happen, it's not pleasant but it happens.

Breakfast was a bit lackluster. A mini chocolate muffin (coles) and a really nice apple & cinnamon mini-muffin that i think was home made, 2 slices of white bread bread, 2 slices of fruit bread, 2 PCs of butter, 2 aldi muesli bars, a small slice of a very tasty white mould, a child's lunch pack of diced peaches, 2 Dora the explorer yoghourts (seriously WTF?), 4 apricot halves in syrup and a selection of PC cereals.
cant quite figure out what the egg cooker was for......
ground coffee and a plunger are supplied as was some quite nice tea, no juice was provided but i did notice other guests had left juice bottles on their plates.

the beds look huge, there not :(
there is a large gap covered with pillows at the head of the bed, fortunately there was nothing to stop me from simply hanging my feet over the end of the bed, as is normal for me.
oh, and perhaps a squeaky bed with only a glass door and a curtain between it and other guests eating breakfast was not a brilliant idea.
I do hope they enjoyed their breakfast.

imagine my surprise to receive a full price bill from the gruff fellow i spoke to on the phone yesterday.
all i expected was a token gesture, as little as 1-2% of the total bill would have sufficed.
after all, a failed bathroom is a fairly large fail.
Instead i receive a face full of attitude and someone raising their voice at me. an issue handled so professionally by so many people gets blown out of the water over $5?
even when i asked the man "your sure you want this review?" his disdain for me was clear.
My sincere apologies to everyone working under that man, to see all your careful work trampled upon must be very difficult.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    26
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
10
76
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

A great bed and breakfast with a beautiful view and a good location. The rooms were beautiful, and matched the decor of the restaurant. The rooms were very comfuratble and a good size- had a couch and table and chairs. The common room was lovely, warm and cosy. With a fire place, books and games.
Loved the do it yourself breakfast- everything was there and so much food to choose from!
Went to the resturant for dinner. So expensive! Food was good but wouldnt do it again. While the resturant was very busy on a saturday night the food was still promt and we had good service.

The best part of the Jamison was the chef who we happened to be shown around by as the manager wasnt there. He was so sweet and helpful and nice! His lovely character sold the place to us. The manager himself wasnt friendly at all but that was fine.

Overall a great place to stay! Loved the B&B experiance!

Room Tip: Room number one has a view and is so lovely! Has a private enterance to the varanda too which is rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoeAmika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I'm giving this one four stars because I know it would be much better in warm weather than in winter time. First the good points. It's a nice old house, about a kilometer from downtown. Could be close enough to walk but with the weather we just drove in. It's got a great view of the Blue Mountains right from the hotel and just across the street you can get on a hiking trail. The upstairs sitting room was nice, there was a fire going and we hung out one night with another couple there and drank some wine. Enough parking on the street, too.

So the downsides. The room was pretty drafty, though they do include a space heater and electric blanket that kept us toasty all night. Even a towel heater in the bathroom. But the bathroom floor was freezing! But that's winter, I'm sure it's perfectly fine in other seasons. As mentioned by others, breakfast is just some snacks outside the room in the morning. They have a great restaurant downstairs, it seems a real waste not to use it. We just went to breakfast in town (lots of great options) and took their breakfast with us on our hikes as snacks. The Rooster restaurant is good, but expensive. $72 each for two courses, $85 for three (and two is the minimum).

This place would be better in the summer when the weather's nicer and the sun goes down late so you can have a good view during dinner. Might want to try someplace else during the winter.

Room Tip: I think room 4 probably has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I stayed here after reading fantastic reviews but perhaps I was expecting too much but the stay was only mediocre. This was the first B&B that didn't have hot breakfast in the morning, eggs were left for us to cook with appliances in the room and a plate of bread and fruit left at our door in the morning. Surprising because there's a restaurant just below!

The room itself was nice and big and the bed was very comfy. Heated towel bars was a really nice touch too. But the guesthouse layout was a little weird that we had to walk through the restaurant to get to the stairs to our room. My husband and I were dressed extremely casually and felt a little awkward walking through their fine dining restaurant.

Imt not sure if it was worth the price.

Room Tip: We reckon you probably need to ask for Room 4 to get a good view. The rest doesnt seem like it has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blaeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in Jamison, it's location proved to be very convenient to explore the region, the room had big bed and was comfortable. The highlight however was the Rooster restaurant with great food and even better selection of wine, breakfast that you take out of the fridge (good selection of cheeses and yoghurts which is all we wanted) and eat on the terrace with an amazing view. Having a mid-week package including 1 night and a dinner at 260 was also a very good deal.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilya42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

It was misty, cold and raining in the Blue Mountains, but we were warm and relaxed in the upstairs sitting room of Jamieson House courtesy of a roaring fire lit by our hosts. Bedrooms were well heated - each room was decorated in an eclectic ye-old manner and the lovely old guest house was the perfect setting for a mid week getaway.

Slightly eccentric host carried our bags to our room and disappeared. Would have been nice if he'd given us a quick overview of the place, but we worked it out.

Food was plentiful in the gorgeous dining room (silver service and white linen tablecloths and napkins) and all in all it was a wonderful experience.

Only downside was the verandah were we had breakfast - it was old (and not in a gorgeous antique way) , a bit musty and needed a thorough clean. Breakfast was a make-it-yourself continental-ish (you cooked your own eggs in an egg cooker) which was a bit of a pain as the toaster/jug/egg cooker cupboard was very, very tiny indeed, however the tray had been delivered to our rooms and fresh fruit and cheese was an interesting addition to cereal, toast and spreads. Not that we were hungry after all the food we ate during the three course dinner!

The Jamison was a comfortable walking distance to the main street of Katoomba were we did the usual touristy things - including Devonshire Tea at the Paragon.

We had a mid-week package deal which included dinner, so while it wasn't cheap, we felt that we had great value for money! Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank annabellequinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Perfect location, midway between Katoomba and Leura and right on the cliffs (hike accessible right outside your door, can walk to either town). Friendly owner with good local advise. One of the best restaurants in town downstairs (expensive but a nice splurge). Room a little dated but large and comfy with fabulous view (ask for front room). Breakfast is do it yourself but they provide good ingredients. Only downside during our stay was the smoking policy - smoking is allowed on the verandah, which opens directly off the rooms - which would be fine if smokers were responsible, but on our visit 4 men set up there to smoke their cigars at 11:30 at night, after we had gone to bed, and the vile smell came right under our door and into our room. We woke up, had to ask them to stop and stay up for a few hours freezing with all the windows open to air out the room. But I don't really blame the owner because who would ever imagine guests would do this? A cigarette maybe but cigars?!! Perhaps the policy needs to state "no pipes or cigars".

Room Tip: front room has a view over the side of the canyon
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cantravnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.6 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
900 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
559 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Kurrara Historic Guest House
0.8 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamison House & The Rooster Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamison House & The Rooster Restaurant

Property: Jamison House & The Rooster Restaurant
Address: 48 Merriwa St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Jamison House & The Rooster Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to this beautifully restored Edwardian guesthouse built 125 years ago, superbly located on the escarpment overlooking the Jamison Valley. Jamison Guesthouse beckons with warm hospitality and breathtaking views. Traditional French cuisine, refined dining and personal service await you and those most important in your life. Luxury accommodation is offered upstairs in four guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Jamison House & The Rooster Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamison House & The Rooster Restaurant Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing