We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An adequate base for exploring the Blue Mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
La Maison Boutique Hotel
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“An adequate base for exploring the Blue Mountains”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

If you're just looking to put a roof over your head for a few days while you explore the Blue Mountains, then La Maison should be on your short list - especially if you can pick up one of their breakfast + accommodation packages.

We stayed two nights at La Maison while we explored the Blue Mountains after picking up the 2 night breakfast + wine package. As a base for exploring the mountains area, being located in Katoomba is quite convenient. The hotel itself is a five minute drive from the main street of Katoomba, and walking distance from Echo Point.

As others have noted, this is an older establishment and does appear to be run on a lean budget. The rooms are neat and clean, but we encountered a number of small things which meant we could only give La Maison an average rating. The little imperfections we encoutered included:

- holes in the fly-screen meant we couldn't leave the window open.
- one of the in room heaters had a broken wheel - which we had to chock up in order to use.
- the other, wall mounted heater was behind the curtains. We didn't feel it would be safe to use this heater while the curtains were closed, hence we couldn't use it at night.
- the "bar" is supposedly open from 6pm-8pm, but we were told we needed to contact the duty manager to have it unlocked if we wanted a drink.

On the plus side, the hotel was accommodating of putting an extra bed in the room for our son, and we encountered no issues in terms of check-in / check-out or payment - despite using voucher we had purchased on a group buying site.

Overall, if you are looking for an affordable place to sleep and an easy breakfast option, than La Maison is worth a look, but if you're looking for luxury or a romantic treat, there may be better options.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HRG94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    43
    59
    19
    18
See reviews for
30
88
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

The rooms were fairly clean. breakfast was convenient.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannahLouise1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Cheap and good accomodation with breakfast. Friends and I were both pretty pleased with the hotel, which had decent service. Staff were also helpful. Bed was too soft in my opinion. If you're the kind that needs a really hard bed, look elsewhere, but other than that this hotel is really good, with a good location in the katoomba region.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JZ3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed a couple of nights in April 2012 on a groupon deal.

Included full breakfasts & a bottle of wine.

Room was at the back of the hotel, but neat & tidy.

We were on the ground floor & could hear upstairs loo being flushed, showers going + guests talking..

Staff friendly & helpful...

Wouldn't stay if we had to pay the normal rate of $110 per night.

5 minutes walk to Echo Point & the hop on, hop off bus virtually across the road.

Room Tip: Try NOT to get a room at the back of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerrySenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathurst, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I spent 1 night at La Maison with my daughter and we were both very happy with the accommodation. I phoned to book the room and from the first telephone contact it was a positive experience! The room was clean and nicely furnished, the bed was comfortable, there was a really nice outlook from the windows, the bathroom was a good size. The breakfast room was really lovely and the breakfast was exactly as advertised.....cereal, toast, fruit & yoghurt and tea/coffee. The fellow who seems to be there from the crack of dawn until the middle of the night is awesome! He was efficient, friendly and made us feel very welcome....maybe his name is Jason?? I would not hesitate to stay at La Maison again, it was great and .........the bathtub was HUGE!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canberra
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2012

21 of us stayed for a weekend in March 2012, for a birthday party, we all liked the place and staff were great, every one said they would return,
People who write negative things, should get a life. they must have had a unhappy child hood. if some one gave them a free bottle of wine, they would complain it was not two bottles It is a 1930's style place, and the furniture is suited to that era.
So please do not take any notice of these sad people, and stay there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

the hotel is only 5 minutes walk from echo point, one of the best blue mountain overlooks. It is very much an adaption of the old style 1930's development. the hotel staff are friendly, helpful and efficient. Our room was spacious but only sparsely decorated and the en- suite was a little tired. but for all that, it was a perfectly adequate place to stay as a base for touring the blue mountains area and its pricing structure makes it very good value for money

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuart q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.9 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
899 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
559 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
1.4 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Boutique Hotel

Property: La Maison Boutique Hotel
Address: 175-177 Lurline St | Blue Mountains, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Maison Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Maison Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Boutique Katoomba
La Maison Boutique Hotel Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing