We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget, but still cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Maison Boutique Hotel
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Budget, but still cozy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

La Maison is a budget-class hotel that bears more resemblance to a large B&B. Situated in Katoomba it is right in the middle of the touristy part of the Blue Mountains, but for me and my friends other options were either fully booked or out of reach budget-wise. That said, we all found La Maision to be a perfectly good option for our one night stay on a budget ($170 for two double rooms). On arrival, one of our rooms had a slightly smoky stench but we were swiftly relocated to another room as per our request. Both of our rooms were far from new and flashy, but offered (as per above) more of a B&B setting. Everything was perfectly functional although the aesthetics were a bit so so.

Breakfast was included in the rate but with a scarce assortment of toast, jam/vegemite and some fruit it was hardly something that truly added value to our stay.

All in all La Maision is close to the attractions (Echo Point, etc) in Katoomba and offers a cozy stay with a roof and four walls, but there are better options in the Blue Mountains region.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viskari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    43
    59
    19
    18
See reviews for
30
88
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kalbarri, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

I recently stayed at La Maison after 2 nights at the Katoomba Falls Caravan Park. This hotel was very basic, the photo depicted on their web site was nothing like the room I had. The room was very small - down to things like when I needed to boil the kettle the kettle cord was very short so had to sit the kettle on the heater or on the floor - this is quite poor. The benefits of staying here was that it was very close to all amenities and had great undercover parking. I have read other reviews and agree that La Maison needs a huge overall renovation. I would not stay here again. The caravan park chalets were so much better.

Room Tip: Don't go by the internet photo - you will be disappointed as I was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helclem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingscliff, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

La Maison is in dire need of some capital investment. Grounds and interior a bit shabby. Rooms are tidy but clean enough. Breakfeast is basic. Has very good access to Katoomba's attractions; Echo point is a 5 minute walk. The walk to town a little longer about 20 but I wouldnt do it with luggage. Very quiet location, corner store 2 minutes away. The spa and sauna were both working. Ok for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timr721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
121 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

Stayed in la maison while touring oz. Upon arrival met charming receptionist who also multitasked as breakfast room attendant and cleaner.

Had a twin bedded room adaquent but very cold.

Breakfast room freezing each morning guests had coats on or got the table nearest the portable heater. Breakfast of juice fruit cereal toast tea or coffee.

Good location for 3 sisters and echo falls short walk away. Town centre about 15 minutes walk from la maison

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amag4523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingen, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

This small hotel has a bed and breakfast feel to it .Lovely decor....a bit tired in the dining room though.( I wondered how it would have looked a few years ago, minus the rubber dinosaur.) The outside garden area just needs a bit more attention... and breakie could be more adventurous. But would I stay here again...most certainly. The rooms were small, but larger rooms are available at $20 more.Friendly staff (of one),crisp clean sheets and handy to Katoomba.Suited us...but might try and get a larger room next time.

Room Tip: Check on room size and upgrade if you need to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

The room we had was comfortable with the standard things you would expect from a B&B. Everything was clean, and whilst it was very understaffed, the person that was there was friendly. The spa was out of order when we stayed, and the breakfast room was so cold that everyone had to wear coats. The breakfast was also incredibly basic, and because of the room temperature, the toast was instantly cold and the butter was a solid block.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank black_sax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
367 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stars lost for less than clean bathroom, very ordinary continental breakfast with terrible coffee and very small tv. shared lounge with open fire had room for 4 people so had to be there early for that experience.

Room Tip: ask for a room downstairs as there is no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.9 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
1.4 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Boutique Hotel

Property: La Maison Boutique Hotel
Address: 175-177 Lurline St | Blue Mountains, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Maison Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Maison Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Boutique Katoomba
La Maison Boutique Hotel Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing